Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hippocampus Beach Resort

Bounty Beach Logon, Malapascua Island, Malapascua Island, Malapascua Island, Philippines 6013

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.9

based on
66 reviews

130 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.7
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
7.3
Solo travelers (66)
Sort by:
Siu C. Solo travelers Hong Kong, May 4, 2015
Friendly and good resort

Friendly staff, Nice view and comfortable room
9
I have been Malapascua from 1 May to 4 May. Staffs are friendly and the room are very comfortable!
Report this review
Ruthy S. Solo travelers United States of America, May 3, 2015
Good Vibes and Tasty Food

Maria, one of the co-owners greatest us with smiles and drinks on arrival. Location is convenient to all dive shops and is right on the beach. Good and quiet night's sleep with fan and air con.
9
Enjoyable stay! Service is friendly. Although Malapascua is limited in resources and activities, we were pleased with our stay. Reasons why the Hippocampus is a 3-star: this tiny island caters to divers, so everyone is easygoing. Room includes a fridge with a few overpriced drink choices and no other amenities. Water pressure for shower is nonexistent but is the same for the entire island. We were able to join dives at the last minute but booking a day ahead is recommended. Food was excellent but depended on what was available on the day. Nice variety of menu choices, from traditional Philippine cuisine to western favorites.
Report this review
Molly Y. Solo travelers New Zealand, February 27, 2015
The hotel is OK buy never wonderful

The owner is helpful, central location, window with insect net
6
The breakfast is no good and the staff is not helpful. Being a guest, you will have to find solution yourself. For rxample they took my booking wrongfully from a twin bedroom to a double bedroom. Took away the camera rinsing bucket without asking me. The owner is trying his best to run the hotel professional but clearly his staff is not on the same line as he does. Manage your own things and find solution yourself
Report this review
Kent J. Solo travelers Australia, July 10, 2014
Hotel was fair. Owner ripped us off with transfers

Low priceGood locationClean
3.3
Overcharges for extras like transfers. FYI , a transfer from Cebu City to the island should be about 2600 , 3600 pesos. About half what this dodgy operator charged.
Report this review
Kyle S. Solo travelers United States of America, April 2, 2014
No WiFi in the room. on the beach.

Location, AirCon, Breakfast.
6.7
Disappointed that there was no WiFi in the rooms, only WiFi available was near reception. Great location on the beach, close to restaurants and dive shops. Acceptable rates for this place. I'm a solo traveler who works remotely so WiFi is the most important thing for me. Location is second. Budget friendly third.
Report this review
Jing W. Solo travelers China, March 23, 2014
nice place, but dinner is very slow could be

good breakfast, good staff, good location
8
Report this review
Lai Y. Solo travelers China, February 7, 2014
A lot of mosquitoes and flies, but pleasant stay

on the beach, nice food, close to dive centres
7.7
There were so many bad mosquitoes and flies making me fail to sleep well at night. Need to get a strong insect repellent and anti-mosquito thing or else the experience would be terrible.
Report this review
Jan L. Solo travelers Norway, January 30, 2014
Quiet place in the sun

Beach, the room and quiet
7.7
its some mouts sice the typoon and its rebuildt, sorrundings are slowly getting back to normal, but this wil take time. The hotell was good.
Report this review
Hongcheol J. Solo travelers South Korea, January 26, 2014
good location

friendly staff, near beach, good v
8.3
Report this review
Dave B. Solo travelers United States of America, January 8, 2014
great staff, great service, comfortable room

great diving, the restaurant/bar, great staff
10
Great place. Most of the resorts are up and running after tyohoon Yolanda. I was there 55 days after it happened. This resort was not affected. Shower had hot water which impressed me for such a small island. Sea quest divers is next door and is great for diving. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant/bar is nice for a sunset drink or meal. The free breakfast was really great for a free breakfast with quite a few options. They have their own boat so you can leave back to the mainland without having to bother with the island taxi boats which is really convenient and not too much if you divide the 1,000 pesos between the number of passengers leaving.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 226 reviews Next page
Hippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua IslandHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - Sunset view from deluxe roomHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - Standard RoomHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - Deluxe RoomHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - Superior RoomHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - RestaurantHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - RestaurantHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - RestaurantHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - Pub/LoungeHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - RestaurantHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - garden and guest roomsHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - RestaurantHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - garden and guest roomsHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - restaurant and beachHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - beachfront roomsHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - beachfrontHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - island hopping and dive boatHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - chill out areaHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - breakfastHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - sunsetHippocampus Beach Resort Malapascua Island - sinulog festival


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A01