Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 404 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

James B. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Very quiet
Quiet Nice views romantic
Would recommend Hof Gorei to anyone wanting a quiet romantic place to stay
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hong L. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in June 2012
Remote stay, personalised service
Private beach, seclusion, good service
Reviewed April 09, 2013

PATRICK G. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Very disappointed with overall experience.
Struggle to highlight good points.
Below expectations and what was presented in the advertising material for the hotel,did not live up to expectations.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Marte N. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
cottage with a great view of the southern seas
great view
the stay was great - the people very accommodating; the person assigned to us to facilitate the stay was very helpful that he acted very much like a butler and ensured that we had the best time. lunch on a pristine island beach, dinner by the shore, etc.. the stay was great..
Reviewed March 09, 2013

vijairaj K. from India
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Beautiful beach and sand
Beach, and sand
we booked chalet expecting a very good room but unfortunately we had to climb a lot of steps upwards to reach the chalet. not happy with chalet room then changed to bungalow type. bed was making lot of noise due to bamboo material. not at all happy. no restaurants nearby so we were struck with the same type of foods available at the resort. best parts are the beach, sand and garden.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ida P. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
relaxing place
room with personal assistant
we stayed at the resort for 2 nights. in going to the chalet room, you have to walk up to the hill with 270 steps. though we're too tired in going to the room, it is worth it. the room does not have tv but the view from it is the tallest mountain in the country - Mt. Apo. you also have assistant each rooms. they are the ones who will accommodate and ask of what you need.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

John S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
A place to read a or write a book.
food was ok' staff were good.
This place did not come across very helpful with what you can do. The beach was full a rocks & the coral was so close you couldn't even walk out up to your knees. You had to wait 4 to 6 hours before you could swim. Not much to do you had to ask questions to find out how to get around. When you get there you better make sure your room is at the lower part of the resort otherwise you will be exhausted by the time you get to your room, god help you if your a larger person. The food was good the staff were friendly, the only place for WiFi or reception is at wharf. The views were amazing if you like to walk up stairs. My advice if you want peace and quiet and like to sleep in your room this is the place, they should put money back into the resort and fix the beach up atleast. To me I dont think they care about the customers needs its all about taking your money. I wouldn't mind so much about paying for everything if they had things to do.. Think twice about going. The people we met felt the same. Thank god for the pool but there's only 4 chairs so if there's 6 or more there's nowhere to sit or a place to lay down. So much to tell you but this place needs a rehall.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Jennielyn A. from Philippines
Families with older children
Stayed one night in June 2012
Hotel with a Homey Feeling
environment, like you're living in a farm, very laid back
the staff were very friendly and we got the chance to meet the owner. she was very considerate in that she transferred us to a huts located on the lower part of the hotel since i'm travelling with my auntie and mom. we were able to eat fresh papaya taken from the tree in the hotel. downside is that the beachfront is not for swimming. you have to go to another resort if you plan to swim. but they have medium-sized pool.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Lee M. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Eccentric beach hotel
Eclectic design, helpful staff, very good food.
we accessed the hotel from the dock in davao, although we had to wait two hours in magsaysay park, because there was an admin error with the hotel mixing the dates up, so the boat was very late to leave hof gorei. once there was promptly given a quick tour of the resort before resting in the hut room and then eating dinner. the room itself was a little small, but overall was reasonable. the downside however was the lack of wifi, and also the tv had only local (non cable) channels. combined with the lack of a ref and pretty basic air con i felt the room was slightly over priced. the following day we were introduced to our personal assistant, and to be fair the service was good. the resort itself is set into the hillside, so theres a lot of steep climbing and walking to travel around to higher areas. the biggest disapointment however was the beach, which was rock or stone, and not sand. the overall theme of the resort is very eclectic, often you find a variety of 'domesticated' animals and wildlife wandering around. there was a caged monkey near our room, and many geese and even a peacock. i'm not sure what this really adds to the hotel? if anything having to share or negotiate a footpath with a small flock of geese doesn't personally make my stay any more enjoyable. on the subject of animals i also found myself being bitten constantly by mosquitos during the stay there. the food however was very good, especially in the evening, although likewise the prices are a little high for davao/samal. and getting a boat off the resort to nearby areas wasn't as frequent as in other resorts. generally speaking the resort is okay, probably more secluded than the others. but i have mixed feedback regarding the layout, and quality of resort and rooms.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

herjo E. from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Fantastic resort. The best experience in service.
Personal butler reniel was fantastic. Place look like hiden Paradise. Nice view on mount APO and davao city
This is the first time i experience à service à real personal service. It started already when i booked. After my booking by agoda i got one email. They thank me i chose this resort and offer me à Free boat transfer from davao city to hof gorei. When the day start we make our honneymoon the owner get us personaly and also food and some other passengers. When we arrivé at the resort we got à warm welcome and our personal butler introducé hisself to us. And hè brought as to our cute house made off bamboo with and à c and à fantastic bed with roses on it co s they. Knew it was our wedding trip. We had also beautifull sea view. Reniel our butler hè serves Every meal with roses. We really feel queen and King. We diner also at THE. Beach and eat our lunch at the swimming pool. One time we walk 224 stairs up and enjoy also there wonderfull service and view and cooler temp. I really don t know why but it s so quiet Every where there. Often we were alone at the beach and swimming pool.The resort was full booked but it really feel as one personal resort. The staff is so Nice and helpfull and the price very affordable. Most Nice place ever been.
Reviewed February 17, 2013