Sign in and get better rates!
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hong Kong Hostel

A2, 3/F, Block A, Paterson Building (door on G/F is unlocked, check-in on 3/F), 47 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Double Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Double Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Double Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Double Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Double Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Twin Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Twin Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Twin Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Twin Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Triple - 3 Single Beds Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Dormitory Room Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Dormitory Room Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - DormDormitory Room Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Dormitory Room Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Hotel Interior Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Hotel Interior
Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Reception Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Check-in area Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Common Area Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Common Area Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Pantry area Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Hotel Interior Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Restaurant Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Interior Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Interior Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Interior Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Lobby Hong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Common area
Area: Causeway Bay Number of Rooms: 30
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.7

based on
491 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
6.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.2
Room Comfort/Standard
6.2
Food/Dining
5.3
All reviews (491)
Sort by:
Alfonso C. Families with young children Philippines, April 22, 2014
Pleasant and very accessible to public transport.

Easy access to public transportation. Centrally located, although causeway bay is quite expensive for shopping and dining.
8
It is very easy to take the MRT and public buses. Even the bus terminal to the airport is just 2 blocks away. The people at the front desk are very nice people. Room wifi is very good. Check in and check out is very fast. Sometimes, not all the time, the daytime unit caretaker (not the people at the reception) was unjustly rude. During our 1st night stay, we noticed the bath gel in the bathroom smells very bad, so we told the lady night caretaker of the unit, she took it away and told us she's sorry she don't have a wall mount container to replace it, that they will replace the wall mount the next day. She did gave us bath gel in a water bottle container. The next morning I asked the lady day caretaker for the replacement wall mount, and she told us "You don't like our soap, so you should buy your own soap!". The soap smells like a mixture of dead animal or feces mixed with flower scent. Even after using that bath gel and rinsing, it leaves a very nasty smell, that's why we asked for a replacement. May be the previous occupant added or mixed something to the bath gel, who knows. By the way, The replacement bath gel inside the water bottle that we got the night before smells wonderful. It is just harder to use, since we have to lift the bottle and pour the liquid soap and put down the bottle again, compared to just pushing the wall mount soap dispenser. Otherwise, I won't even bother to ask for a replacement dispenser, since the lady night caretaker already gave us soap in a water bottle container. The area is very safe, even at midnight. It is also just 1 to 2 blocks away from Ikea, which is a very good place to eat and shop for home furniture and fixtures. In our opinion, Sam Sui Po and Mongkok is a cheaper/better place for shopping and dining than causeway bay. We highly recommend Hong Kong Hostel. The hostel area is also very quite. We stayed in the second floor and we can hardly hear any street noise at all.
Idris M. Groups Malaysia, April 20, 2014
Not Bad

Easy access, near shopping complex, nearby halal food restaurant
7
1st night was given a single bad room which not my booking room.
Idris M. Couples Malaysia, April 20, 2014
nice

good location,
7
not bad
Hong S. Solo travelers Netherlands, April 14, 2014
Very convenient location

Location, free Wifi
8.3
I found this hostel to be at a very good location, can't be better than this, as it is close to the main shopping areas in HK Causeway Bay area. Also, there are plenty of restaurants nearby, just walks away as well as the MTR stations and bus or trams. Free Wifi is a plus too and these days it should be standard. I only found that in summer time, the rooms can be damp (not a fault of the hotel) but the exhaust fan could have been more powerful or larger......
Ashley K. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 10, 2014
I had a quality Stay.

Location, Clean and 24 hrs reception.
9.7
I had a good stay at the Hostel and I was happy with the service and everything.
Betty Y. Business travelers China, April 7, 2014
fine and cozy

quick check in, cheap, good location
7.7
there is no towel and tooth brush, otherwise it's a very good choice.
Ankur S. Couples India, March 31, 2014
In line with expectations

location, price, and last-minute availability
5.3
Having stayed at the hostel several times before, I knew what to expect -- a simple room with a simple bathroom that makes for a safe and semi-comfortable place to stay the night. It's not a "hotel", and not a room you'll want to spend any time in during the day. It's purely for the purpose of sleeping in - you need to take one with an attached bathroom if you care about privacy (I do), they're airconditioned (partly because some may either have no window, or if they do its most likely a view of a wall two feet away from you; some offer better views of the street - depends on availability). There are several signs suggesting its a illegal operation, but based on all my experiences, its quite dependable - you book, you get your room, and a place to sleep, and that's all. Very close to causeway bay MTR / easily accessible at night by cabs, etc. Ample of restaurants and convenience stores in the vicinity.
Chan K. Business travelers Hong Kong, March 30, 2014
small room, not worth, not constant hot water

good location, cheaper than hotel, food around
6
(1) you need to go to the other building after check in, walking distance of around 3 minutes (2) the room is small and the toilet is small. The supply of hot water is not continuous. You need to wait for the water boiler.
Barbara G. Groups United States of America, March 30, 2014
No frills.

Location, location, location.
5.3
This place is ZERO FRILLS. It is right in the middle of Causeway Bay and the location can't be beat. It was simply a place to sleep, and nothing else. The room slept 3 adults (one double bed, one twin) and the shower worked-pressure and heat were A-OK. If you want a cheap place to stay in the city, this is your spot.
Verawati V. Couples Indonesia, March 25, 2014
It's ok. Everything as expected, but fun though.

Location, near park, easy to find food
4.7
Enough, not too clean but adequate, a little worried about warning from the apartement that warn us about illegal activity from the hostel

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hong Kong Hostel Hong KongHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - DoubleHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - DoubleHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - DoubleHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - DoubleHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - DoubleHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - TwinHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - TwinHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - TwinHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - TwinHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Triple - 3 Single BedsHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Dormitory RoomHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Dormitory RoomHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - DormDormitory RoomHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Dormitory RoomHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Hotel InteriorHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Hotel InteriorHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - ReceptionHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Check-in areaHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Common AreaHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Common AreaHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Pantry areaHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Hotel InteriorHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - RestaurantHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - InteriorHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - InteriorHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - InteriorHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - LobbyHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Common areaHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - BathroomHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Twin BathroomHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Triple room bathroomHong Kong Hostel Hong Kong - Bathroom

Customer Reviews - Hong Kong Hostel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3B04