Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 1107 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 4.5
  • Location 7.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.4
  • Service 6.4
  • Value for Money 6.8
  • Food/Dining 5.8
Sort by

tan J.
Malaysia
February 28, 2016
Disappointed stay
There were baby roaches in the toilet and sink Room was very small and squeezy Cupboards were old Overlooked to request for non smoking so the smoke was bad Rather noisy from guests who came back late Bed was very hard The actual was not as what was featured in the website - very deceptive

chi L.
Macau
January 27, 2016
good
good

Silvana N.
Romania
January 21, 2016
Great location and good value
location, location, location
The hotel served its purpose perfectly. We were in Hong Kong on an extended layover and wanted to be in the heart of the city - this is exactly what The Kings Hotel provides. A short walk from the MTR (either Wan Chai or Causway - it is between the two) and close to some great restaurants and pubs... I can't comment on the food or dining as we never ate there hence my "average' (3) rating. Many reviews of this hotel had complained about the hard beds - we love a hard bed so we were keen - but we found that the beds are super hard! But actually provided a good nights sleep!! so no problem there. The room is small but it does have a good shower and clean bathroom. This is a good base to tour the city from.

Waruna M.
Australia
January 18, 2016
Stay one night in Kings Hotel
Location, Value for money, Clean
We stayed one night in Kings Hotel last week. The hotel was ok for the price we paid. We had some trouble finding the reception when we arrived. You have to go via lift to get to the main hotel lobby. There was no sufficient notice. Our room was standard and nothing to complain. Staff is not that helpful at all. Hotel location was good.

Maneerat S.
Thailand
January 16, 2016
Toilet at the lobby is too dirty to welcome guest.
Location and not so far from the convention center
Good location

Ivan T.
Singapore
January 15, 2016
Worst hotel experience. Ever
Location, accommodates 3 people in a room, I only had to stay 2 nights there.
I stayed 2 nights in Dec 2015. This was the absolute worst hotel experience I have ever had. I've had more rewarding experiences staying at dormitories. Let me start with the good parts of this hotel. It has a good location. It is in Wan Chai, which is close to Causeway Bay and other attractions. It is relatively cheap too, considering the surrounding areas. Ok. That's it. The hotel itself is housed in a building, sharing space with other businesses. The lobby was at the 11th floor, so the first 10 floors of the building were occupied by other businesses, which looked to me were quite shady. I had to share a lift with drunk people heading up to KTV or Mahjong, or pool or whatever other night activity the building offered. Not to mention the lift lobby was exceedingly cramped. Maybe it was my bad luck that 1 lift was out of order. The reception was cold. Staff were curt and straight to the point, no smile, no pleasantries. I guess it's consistent with the rest of the service standard in Hong Kong. The room was the last straw. It stank like stale cigarettes, and was dusty. I had a blocked nose for the entire length of my stay because of that. The bed was rock hard. I doubted other reviewers who mentioned that the beds were not what I was used to, but they were right. I slept on one side on the first night, and I woke up with a sore back and shoulders the next day. The walls were paper thin, I could hear everything the patrons in the next room were doing. I could tell when they went to the toilet, when they showered, when they dried their hair, and all the juicy gossip they were sharing. Not to mention the loud conversations and mahjong game they were enjoying. At 2am. I would expect that a trip would relax and recharge you, but the stay at this hotel took more out from me than I could have gotten from the trip. Heed my warning, NEVER book a room at this place.

RAJARAJAN S.
India
January 11, 2016
Not bad
Not bad
Not bad. Over rated...

Nelson B.
Philippines
January 07, 2016
very unfriendly hotel staffs
the location
very bad.....! nobody greeted us when we checked in and when we checked out. Upon arrival at the lobby area, I have to ask all the 3 ladies sitting at the reception table who can I talk to regarding how to check in. Nobody even bother to say "good morning sir, may I help you". They just immediately ask me to give 500 HK Dollars for the deposit then gave me the key and that's it. No explanation on how to go to my room, if there's wifi connection etc. No complimentary water inside the room, room appearance look very nice in the photos but are actually old in reality. Nothing to watch in the television if you are non-chinese speaking person as most channels are local channels (in chinese). Finally on our check-out, after getting our hotel deposit, the receptionist didnt even say (thank you for coming) or any words that would make you feel trying to come back to their hotel.

Clarice N.
Singapore
January 05, 2016
Not so ideal location, old hotel
The bathroom has automatic door. There is sink in the room. Cleanliness is fair.
I feel uneasy with the billiard rooms n bar at the lower floor. But all seems peaceful during my stay. Location is quite good, short walk to MTR.

San M.
United States
January 05, 2016
Reasonable
Average
location is great but rooms below average