Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Above average



based on 739 reviews
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 3.8
  • Location 7.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 4.6
  • Service 4.5
  • Value for money 5.4
  • Food/Dining 4.2

Rachel C.
Philippines
January 09, 2016
Good Location, Bad Service
Location only
We stayed last Dec 11-14 and we chose this because of the location. Room condition is not good and the staff/owner will do everything to cheat their customers. We booked 3 rooms for 7 people and they insisted for us to have 2 rooms so we will all be together. Location is the only good thing here.

May A.
Philippines
January 05, 2016
Location/Affordable
Location/Cheap/
Before check-In I was so nervous because of all the negative/bad reviews I've seen for this Hostel... But contrary to all the bad reviews our check in/check out was very smooth.. Perhaps they change management or terminated that famous rude receptionist. We got the deluxe room so we have our own bathroom..They have hot/cold water dispenser outside.. The only thing is their shower heater has schedule so you will have to adjust your time taking a bath, Wifi is 24 hrs however it keeps on breaking up.. Overall I can say we got what we paid for.. :-)

Alyssa E.
Philippines
December 25, 2015
convenient location but not advisable
location
The hotel's location is good, right at the smack of the bustling tsim sha tsui. But the problem arises right from the grounds of the hotel when you see tons of foreigners (most of indian race) trying to mob you offering with tons of stuff. The elevator is very small, you get scared every time you get in as it seems highly likely to get broken any time. Building is too old. We stayed at tai wan hotel in the 3rd floor, in the second night, the receptionist suddenly asked HKD300 in addition to our original booking, otherwise we will get transferred to a smaller room at a different floor. Heater was not working properly. WiFi goes on and off. So before booking at this hotel, make sure you prepare yourself for unfortunate circumstances.

Michael P.
Philippines
December 22, 2015
Filipino Tourist
- location is near MTR. Transportation location is very good
All right. Just good

CLARICE S.
Philippines
December 22, 2015
the worst hotel
1. the receptionist is not hospitable and always get angry with their clients. 2. there is hkd30 for every lugagge we left at the hotel before out check in time. 3. worst thing-we paid for 3days/3nights, upon our arrival, there is no room available that we reserved, so we had to search for new hotel during our first night. then for the two remaining days, we add hkd100 to taiwan hotel so that we can have room with its own bathroom inside. 4. the hot shower is only available during 9am-12nn. 5. the wifi is only available during 7am-9pm. 6. there is hkd100 deposit fee during stay. 7. the ground floor is very dirty, full of garbage. 8. the elevator is very small, can accomodate only 6persons. 9. no receipt on the hkd100 deposit, even on the reservation. we are so totally disappointed with this hotel.

Heng C.
Malaysia
December 19, 2015
Location
No Comment
No Comment

Kathlyn D.
Philippines
December 15, 2015
Hong Kong Tai Wan (Hotel?)
Their young female staff is friend. The other staffs were not that friendly and not accommodating.
We checked in on time but we were asked to go back HOURS after the check in time. Right after that, we were given a room with a private bathroom in 3rd floor Block C (take note: the bathroom and toilet is INSIDE the room. the only divider is shower closure...just image the smell of your room while taking a dump) On our 3rd day, we were asked to transfer to another room (in block E), which more decent than the other including the elevator service but the problem is our BED. We originally booked a TWIN bed, not a SINGLE bed.

Somnang M.
Cambodia
December 05, 2015
Bad location
I move out

Satawat S.
Thailand
December 02, 2015
It is a very dirty hotel i've ever stayed
It is a very bad time for me!! / Room no hot water / room not clean yet when check in / toilet is very dirty / shower towels are stained / especially the beds is very dusty and dirty / after the first night I got a big serious rash on my back and all over my body including my face / I got allergy to something on the beds / im sick!! / i need to pay more for new room / bad experience for me

Josefina L.
Philippines
December 01, 2015
Pretty bad
Ugly! I witnessed the owner fight with his guests. The pictures does not match with the real one. Don't go to this hotel