Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.7
Based on 30 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 30 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 8.3

Hassan A.
Qatar
November 19, 2012
great location with large room and bathroom
location, welcoming staff, room & bathroom
I really liked the location of the hotel and was suprised with the room size and magnifisant bathroom size and set-up for european hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.i think i made the right choice to stay at the Hospes. My stay was very pleasant and enjoyed the out view to the Retiro park and alcala gate.

Matthew T.
United Kingdom
August 15, 2012
Great location, fantastic room, helpful staff
Location, room,
We really enjoyed our stay, the location was fantastic, conveniently located next to one of the best parks in Madrid Retiro Park (Parque del Retiro) and within a stones throw of the local metro line. The attached restaurant Senzone was also great, we had a lovely and competitively priced meal, much better than the neighbouring bar/restaurant (Ramses) where the food was expensive and came out cold. The staff were very helpful and I couldn't recommend the hotel enough. The one downside was that the pool was out of action during our stay due to a fault which lasted all week., the pool was one of the main reasons for choosing the hotel so this was a disappointment.

Peter W.
Denmark
July 23, 2012
Great Location
Location location location
the hotel was a really good surprise and the rooms were nicely done up, although it lacked a lot on the storage in the rooms for hanging clothes. great service and very helpful though, and all were very kind. sitting on the terrace outside sipping coffee and watch the word go around is a great day to spend a few hours.

connie C.
Hong Kong
July 21, 2012
nice location with good restaurant downstair
nice location with good restaurant downstair
nice location, good room, some of the staffs are helpful

connie C.
Hong Kong
July 11, 2012
Lovely hotel with super good location
Good location
Good interior, good location, a few staff are very unhelpful, good service

Tei L.
Finland
April 26, 2012
Great locations, superb service
Location and service, a number of nice restaurants nearby
We were in town for the Rock'n'Roll marathon Madrid, and chose this hotel based on its location close to the race start and finish. The hotel location certainly was convenient, and the room comfortable, but not too spacious; we've never slept so well on our pre-race night. The service at the reception was very attentive and friendly, and room service timely. We were even offered a free late check-out (until 3pm.) because of the race, and reasonably priced extension even after that until 9pm.

FERNANDO L.
Spain
January 08, 2012
Good hotel, great location
Location, nice staff, comfortable rooms
Very nice small hotel downtown Madrid. Rooms are very nicely decorated and are very comfortable. Point to improve are (1) During the reservation we requested twin bedrooms. When we arrived rooms were not arranged like that. One room was immediately changed but for the other we still needed to insist at the end of the evening. This was not very comfortable since what you expect is to reach your room and rest, rather than needing to wait until the service was done. It was around year-end celebrations and the hotel was pretty full. However, some more attention would be appreciated. (2) Spa only opens at 13.00, being able to enjoy it during the morning would be very nice.

David U.
Australia
November 15, 2011
Beautiful and conveniently located
Lovely staff, good location, awesome hotel
we stayed here for our honeymoon and couldn't have been more impressed. the staff spoke excellent english and were very welcoming and helpful. the hotel was immaculate and deserves its 5 star rating. the metro is conveniently located a short walk out.

Ramon I.
Spain
July 18, 2012
Boutique hotel la mejor zona de Madrid.
Tamaño de habitaciones, confort y decoracion. Hotel de dimensiones agradables y amiigable.
Buen servicio de recepcion. Buffet de desayuno variado y de calidad. Lastima que en fin de semana no hubiese personal de mantenimiento para solucionar pequeñas cosas. Estancia muy agradable frente al Retiro madrileño a pocos minutos del Museo del Prado, y de las mejores terrazas de Madrid. Aconsejable para cualquier fin de semana del año.

PILAR R.
Spain
April 26, 2012
Increible
La habitacion, el diseño, combinacion perefecta entre antigupo y moderno, sin recargas
Nos ha enncantado el hotel, no solo por su ubicaion, sino por su modernidad dentro de lo antiguo. No recargado, sencillamente precioso.