Sign in and get better rates!
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hostel Villa Santana

Vinte De Abril,12, Centro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Centro Number of Rooms: 67

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Above average

5.9

based on
11 reviews

Value for Money
6.7
Location
6.5
Staff Performance
5.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.4
Room Comfort/Standard
5.1
Food/Dining
4.7
All reviews (11)
Sort by:
Leah H. Couples Australia, July 4, 2014
Hotel was nice and clean. Good price.

Price Clean Ease of access to public transport
6.7
Bit of a language barrier with staff but overall a pleasant stay. Area a bit unsafe after dark but if you catch taxi at night it's fine. Low prices and nice little breakfast included
To Y. Solo travelers Hong Kong, April 2, 2014
it was comfy and the staff are helpful

clean, nice staff and comfy
8.3
Leith M. Solo travelers New Zealand, February 28, 2013
Fairly Avergae Hostel

Price. Very cheap. New Bathrooms.
4.3
In the center of Rio, fairly accessible location, but can be fairly seedy after dark. The hostel rooms were small and rather uncomfortable/musty/prison like. It seemed like there were also many people 'living' there, which I also find an uncomfortable feature of hostels. On the plus side, there was great wifi (skype ability) and they had just installed new showers/washrooms, very clean. Good value for money when you grow accustom to the smell of your room.
Hisazumi A. Solo travelers Japan, February 24, 2013
Just price

so-so
5
Cost performance is good and location is not bad. However, attitude of reception was terrible. No way to communicate in English and I spent almost 1 hour to check-around 3am.
Marian C. Solo travelers Slovakia, November 16, 2012
better than expected, very good price/value ratio

price, hidden place
8
I agree it's not a place where I would take a new brand wife for honeymoon, and also maybe first impression of establishment and environment was scary. However it was possible to manage to stay for all booked 5 days without a fear or na urge to leave. Since I overlooked Amex is not accepted and I had no card nor cash to pay (and no near Cambio exchange open during weekend), female receptionist with beautiful dark eyes was kind to offer payment next day. I doubt a more fancy hotel with set pay in advance policy would offer same. I disagree that hotel is noisy, even after evening hours. There is some speech in coridors during days, but it was always quiet overnite. My university campus in Europe was much more noisy when students could not sleep. I can recommend the hotel for solo travelers that do not want to lose fortune.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: it is possible to walk all distance between the hotel and domestic airport (where buses to International airport stop) in 30 minutes. Uruguayana market and kilo restaurants are also in walking distance (10-15 minutes)
Anna K. Solo travelers Russia, August 15, 2012
OK

Iocation staff wi fi
3
Clinton O. Solo travelers South Africa, March 1, 2012
comfortable and basic

close to metro and beautiful park.
7.7
on first appearance the hotel is in a slightly rundown area but i found it really safe and comfortable with lots of cheap restaurants nearby and the very close to the metro as well as the central bus station. also within walking distance of the centre and lapa where the nightlife is, so the location is a great one. none of the staff speak english but i managed fine. the rooms are very basic but comfortable, no fridge but mine had a tv in in. fan and aircon in the room, though the wifi just didnt reach my room so i had to sit in the passage outside the door to use the internet which got lots of attention from the other guests, all whom seemed to be brazilians.
Mark C. Groups Australia, February 17, 2012
Place to crash in central rio.

Big shower, breakfast in your room.
5
Lucky the shower was huge, as we had loads of laundry to do. Close to lapa and the cathedral, really close to central metro and bus station to get to ipanema and Copacabana. Free coffee all day in the lobby, but your WiFi won't work in the room, you need to stand in the narrow corridor, or sit on the busy steps.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Easy walk to lapa arches and the cathedral. Make sure you see both at night when they are floodlit. Pretty cool. Especially the cathedral, which looms like a Mexican pyramid, and is lit like a spaceship!
Richard H. Solo travelers Germany, February 20, 2011
Nice place

location, owner
6.3
it is a nice place in a good location pretty close to everything!
Erick R. Groups Mexico, June 19, 2014
muy, muy basico

conexion con metro
4.3
muy caro para lo que ofrece, el hotel es viejo y con pocas comodidades, esta lejos de las playas principales.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!


AS-AGWEB-3A05