Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 169 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 169 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.2

KARTINI B. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Great location, clean rooms, near shopping areas
It's in the central location, easy access to public transport like trains and trams, close to tourist attractions and restaurants
I like the location because of easy access to public transports, near tourist attractions, close to shopping areas and halal foods restaurants. The facilities in the room are good.The only setback is the noise outside the hotel at night,so it's difficult to sleep. And the WIFI facility is very,very slow. And the hotel charges the tourist tax per night/day when you check out.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Lee W. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Awesome Hotel with over100 years of history
Super Central, Clean, but small
Staying in this hotel with over 100 years of history, it was one of my great experiences staying in amsterdam. And its super centrally located and you can just go everywhere without taking the transportation. You can walk to red light district by just the means of walking! its awesome!
Reviewed April 25, 2014

WanHan Y. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Recommended
Good location, clean and good service
Location is good. Walking distance from train station. Room is not too small at least with lift for you to carry up the luggages. Clean and staff service is good.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Cheng T. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in March 2014
good location/ nice bed and good size of room .
Location/ Convenient / Good bed !
the location is just what i looking for . 5 minute walk from the Amsterdam Central. if you arrive from Airport or train Central . just behind the Dam ! you are in the central of all major attraction and travel agent ! if you like to go around Netherlands ! all the Travel agency just right in front of your hotel. if you like to go for city sign seeing . this the hotel just suitable for you ! Nice room with well decorate . comfortable bed and Nice bath room !for me Bath room and Good bed will always very importance if i traveling ! this hotel have it all with the reasonable price in down town. room is clean and even have a nice gourmet restaurant for you to relax ! branded shopping Mall is opposite the hotel ! river cruise is just a door step ! what else you like ??
Reviewed March 27, 2014

MASAHIRO M. from Japan
Business travelers
Stayed one night in February 2014
Good location
Good location. Kindly staff
Reviewed March 04, 2014

Gishan D. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
It suited my requirements perfectly
(1) Central Location; (2) Very clean room; (3) Attentive front desk
Although the single room was not large, it was very clean and comfortable. And the hotel was centrally located. It offered good Value for Money.
Reviewed March 02, 2014

xiang Y. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Hotel with best location in Amsterdam with a very
location, food and cleaninest
I enjoyed my stay in this hotel as it provided decent size room in nice modern furnishing. It is walking distant to major tourist destinations. the restaurant downstairs is a must try!
Reviewed February 20, 2014

ABDUL Z. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Comfortable and tranquil
Friendly and honest staff, smiles all around and close to the city and eateries
I returned after 4 days in Munich to a nice welcome. I do not have to show my documents and they whizz me up to room, this time on the 4th floor. Just as comfortable and quiet. I was presented with a nice box of chocolate in appreciation of my return. That was really a nice gesture from the Management. What I will not forget is when I left my wallet at the lift near the reception and went up to my room still not realizing I walked away without my wallet. Just 5 mins later, 2 female adminstrative hotel staff nicely attired, knocked on my door and returned my wallet with everything intact! It made my day because I had to leave for home the next day. Imagine if my wallet would have gone into the wrong hands! When honesty is the best policy, you can never go wrong choosing Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. I will be more careful the next time and I will return to stay at this Hotel. Honestly :-)
Reviewed February 11, 2014

ABDUL Z. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
A reliable hotel
It's close to the train station, centre of the City and close to eateries
They remembered me as soon as I stepped in at the Lobby that I have been there before. I feel good when someone remembers me by name. I had a speedy check-in. The room may be small but everything is within my reach. I was given a quiet room on the 3rd Floor. Surprise, surprise, the Hotel now allows outside food to be brought into the room. It was not allowed before and I was quite frustrated. The excuse was the food in the room will attract rats! .. but rules are rules. There was apparently free wifi with passwords given to guests as soon as they checked in but I could not get access at all. Well, I don't really need internet when I am on holiday, so, it doesn't bother me. All in all, after the 2nd time around, this Hotel still did justice to me and I will be there again :-)
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Sulaiman A. from Saudi Arabia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Very nice experience
Location Location Location
Defiantly gonna come back again , Hotel next to damm square, Close to red light district, shopping, museums and restaurants The rooms is small and the toilet as well is too small this is the only issue
Reviewed February 11, 2014