Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Backyard

Chibahal, Thamel Marg (GREEN STREET), Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal 44600 (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Double Room Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Standard Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe
Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Reception Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Lobby Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Lobby Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Lobby Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Lobby Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Lobby Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Entrance Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Surroundings Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Surroundings Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Exterior Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - roof top garden restaurant
Area: Thamel Number of Rooms: 15
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

from 181 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (181)
Sort by:
Clay V. Solo travelers United States of America, August 6, 2015
Right on target for value

Staff was attentative. Breakfast good. Off Main Street, so somewhat quiet.
6.7
Report this review
Patrick A. Couples United States of America, July 29, 2015
Excellent and Recommended

Staff attention to guests, location, great value
10
I will stay at Hotel Backyard when I am in Kathmandu again. The service is great as well as the tour planning. Every staff member goes out of their way to make you feel welcomed.
Report this review
Patrick A. Couples United States of America, July 26, 2015
Great Value with Welcoming Staff

Helpful Staff, Perfect Location, and Organized Activities
10
The staff of Hotel Backyard was very accommodating and did everything to make sure every aspect of our trip was enjoyed and memorable. The moment we woke up for breakfast we enjoyed the warm greetings of the staff to make our meal fit to our needs. Attentiveness did not end here, but the staff were very careful to ensure my interests were met into planning each day of my stay in Nepal were satisfied. Exceptional tourist locations were chosen and timings were perfect during the day to witness and celebrations and traditions that we're going on. After a long fun filled day of sightseeing we were able to relax very comfortably in our well powered air conditioned clean room. Whenever we were met by staff, they always ensured our happiness by asking us how our day went and if we required anything (usually tea or coffee). The wifi signal was strong and present in our room and the dining area, which provided a good view of the mountain areas. Despite being in a country that was recently stricken by earthquakes, we didn't feel any effect of it at Hotel Backyard. We were just met with exceptional service, in a superb room, located at the heart of Kathmandu's tourist facilities. Thank Yu and will return!
Report this review
Eduardo J. Solo travelers Philippines, June 21, 2015
A friendly hotel at the heart of Thamel

Staff service, location and price
9
We had a very pleasant stay at Hotel Backyard. We were really treated as VIP guests. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and they speak Good English. There were not so many guests at that time probably because of the post-earthquake concerns but everything has been back to normal. We did not experience or at least feel any aftershock and the restaurants and shops are all back to business. The hotel itself was very much in good condition. The heritage sites are all open, except for Changu Narayan, and they were absolutely fantastic.
Report this review
Ricky T. Solo travelers Singapore, April 10, 2015
Well Within Expectations

Good Location & Value
7.3
The stay was well within my expectations. Great location in a side street just off Thamel Marg. Downside is that noises from the side street can be heard very clearly & loudly from as early as 6am. I would advice that light sleepers try to get a room on the top floors (4th & 5th). However that brings me to a next downside, which is the climb up to the top floors can be a minor hassle to some. Still, I suppose the above are to be had in any hotels in Thamel area in the same price bracket. Not major issues to me at all. I would recommend this hotel to value seekers.
Report this review
Liam K. Solo travelers Ireland, March 27, 2015
Great value

Location, Value and friendly staff
8
Great value accommodation and location
Report this review
Tan K. Solo travelers Singapore, March 2, 2015
decent clean n friendly

convenient and helpful
7.7
Report this review
Vorralak K. Solo travelers Thailand, March 1, 2015
too noisy at night

the heater, the view on top at breakfast, staffs
8.7
I was given a room on the second floor of the old building (right above the lobby). It was very noisy. I could hear people talking, telephone ringing, dog barking all through the night. This might not be a problem for other people but if you are a light sleeper and arrived after many hours on a flight, the lack of sleep can make things you see the next day not very interesting
Report this review
Jennifer A. Solo travelers Philippines, February 20, 2015
Good location, Friendly and helpful staff

good location, friendly hotel staff
6.7
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Sunil, Siri and the other guy who wears a Cap(forgot his name) who helped us with our bags to the bus station. The place is good easy access and quite close at the Thamel center with lots of shops and restaurants. Upon arriving we were offered by their hot milk tea which is nice. The room itself is just ok, basic, clean sheets and comfy beds. The only setback is they dont have any room heater so we slept with our socks and gloves on, we stayed there during the last month of winter. So it gets very cold at night. They do have a hot shower which is good, but constant power shortage happens which is very normal for Nepal.
Report this review
Arun G. Solo travelers Australia, February 8, 2015
Perfect Place to stay would meet overseas standard

Very Friendly & helpful . Conveintely located at heart of Thamel . Neat & tidy rooms.
10
I would say its perfect balance of leisure , luxury and affordability . I was recommended by my friend who had been here before & I am glad he did not disappoint me .It was perfect stay and I would love to stay here again & again . I would also recommend other people to visit.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Double RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Double RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super DeluxeHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - DeluxeHotel Backyard Kathmandu - DeluxeHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - DeluxeHotel Backyard Kathmandu - DeluxeHotel Backyard Kathmandu - StandardHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super DeluxeHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - ReceptionHotel Backyard Kathmandu - LobbyHotel Backyard Kathmandu - LobbyHotel Backyard Kathmandu - LobbyHotel Backyard Kathmandu - LobbyHotel Backyard Kathmandu - LobbyHotel Backyard Kathmandu - EntranceHotel Backyard Kathmandu - SurroundingsHotel Backyard Kathmandu - SurroundingsHotel Backyard Kathmandu - ExteriorHotel Backyard Kathmandu - roof top garden restaurantHotel Backyard Kathmandu - InteriorHotel Backyard Kathmandu - TerraceHotel Backyard Kathmandu - TerraceHotel Backyard Kathmandu - TerraceHotel Backyard Kathmandu - SurroundingsHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Kathmandu Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Kathmandu Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Kathmandu Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Kathmandu Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Kathmandu Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Kathmandu Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Pashupatinath TempleHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Pashupatinath TempleHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Sayambhunath TempleHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Sayambhunath TempleHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Sayambhunath TempleHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Patan Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Patan Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Patan Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Patan Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Patan Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Boudhanath StupaHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Boudhanath StupaHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Boudhanath StupaHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Bhaktapur Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Bhaktapur Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Bhaktapur Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Double RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Double RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Double Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C02