or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Backyard

Chibahal, Thamel Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - 24 Hours Reception Service Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Main Building Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Room
Area: Thamel Number of Rooms: 15
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
22 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
6.4
Groups (22)
Sort by:
Trung T. Groups Vietnam, April 29, 2013
We had a wonderful trip in Kathmandu

Friendly and helpful staff, good location, good service
8
The hotel is not so new,and big. But, they did give us a wonderful time during our stay. Staffs were very helpful and friendly. They helped us to rent a motorbike,buy a simcard,give a map...When we left Kath for Pokhara, they helped us to keep our unused luggage. Gave us lots of advices. Treated us as family members and told us just to call them if there is anything happened on our way as we traveled through Nepal by bike. Great staffs! I will come back to Nepal again and I will definitely stay with them.
Davina L. Groups United Kingdom, April 1, 2013
Central location with airport pickup

Clean room,ensuite with lots of hot water,helpful staff.
8.3
The staff spoke good English and made us very welcome with tea and coffee whenever we requested it. The room was basic but clean with a good sized ensuite with plenty of hot water. A basic breakfast was included in the roof top restaurant with stunning views. Airport pickup was included and the staff arranged for us to have a car and driver for a day to do a city tour at a very reasonable price. The hotel was very centrally located in the tourist area and was very good value for money. The only drawback was that the nearby disco kept going til midnight and the local stray dogs started barking shortly afterwards. Hence we had very little sleep!
Janice L. Groups United Kingdom, January 1, 2013
In a class above the official star rating

Cost, Staff & Luxury.
10
i've stayed at about 6 hotels in kathmandu and this is by far the best value for money. the hotel should be in a higher category (official star rating). it had super-luxurious beds, spotless rooms, cable television, piping hot water and great staff. i've re-booked the hotel for my last night in kathmandu before flying home.
Chan M. Groups Malaysia, November 17, 2012
Good value for money

Friendly informative owner
7.3
Backyard is situated in a good location, and within walking distance to Durbar Square. The rooms were spacious and cosy and clean. No issues with the hot water, altho it was milder than our 2nd day's shower. While we were there, we did experience some power cuts in the afternoon but the generators were switched on not long after, hence the candle left in our rooms were unnecessary. We did not experience any power cuts in the night. The owner was exceptionally friendly and even offered us a (pay-if-you-wish) ride to the airport on our departure, as there was a scheduled guest pick-up around the same time. If you are looking for arrangements to Bhutan/Tibet, speak to him and you may end up with a good deal!
Igor K. Groups Croatia, October 9, 2012
Very good hotel in Thamel

Great service from owner and staff
8
The hotel is good and clean (by Kathmandu standards). There is always noise in Thamel, but this hotel is a bit on the back side and thus quiet, although it's just around the corner from main street. Staff are great. They also runa tourist agency, so you can arrange with them anything you need. All things they have recommended to us were good. If you need a bus, van, recommendation for a place to eat, car from/to airport, they really do it great.
Jimmy C. Groups Malaysia, September 29, 2012
Best Hotel in Kathmandu

Services, Cleanliness and Hospitality
9
I strongly recommend this hotel to tourist visiting Kathmandu. I have been staying in a few hotel in Kathmandu and this is the best in Kathmandu. Value for money is definate! The room is clean, tidy. Clean towel, mineral water are provided. The best thing i ever seen is the hospitality and services provided by the boss and the manager. We are actually visiting Nepal casually and we do not plan mountain hiking. The boss provide very pleasant local trip with air-condition car with the driver visiting around Kathmandu. On the next when we wanted moving to Pokhara, the boss provide very reasonable flight ticket to Pokhara and even arrange return bus ticket to Kathmandu on the day we are coming back. You can't get all this service else where, except Backyard Hotel! Thank you Boss. Tourist from Malaysia
Eilidh M. Groups United Kingdom, June 19, 2012
so nice we stayed twice as long

good wifi, tv, fan in the room, complimentary hot drinks, rooftop terrace, very clean
9.3
Nicest place we stayed in kathmandu. Very clean, lovely staff very polite and not pushy like many otherplaces! Helpful and kind. We very much enjjoyed our stay here and as two young female travellers we felt very safe.
Jessica C. Groups United States of America, April 14, 2012
Nice hotel in the backpacker's district.

location, cleanliness, hot water, helpful staff
8.7
I stayed at the Backyard Hotel with 6 friends. We all agreed that the staff was helpful and friendly and the location was great. There are great restaurants and bars just around the corner, and plenty of great shops. We needed to find the office of a rafting company and the reception staff did everything the could to help us find it.
Nightlife Tip: Just around the block there is a great bar on the second floor that has live music. The band we saw was lively and fun and the food there was excellent!
Martin S. Groups Israel, April 12, 2012
very nice hotel

good location at the tamel
9
verz plesent staz. very nice and comprtbul room at a good location. very nice stuff. helpping and guiding
Karthik R. Groups India, April 11, 2012
An ideal hotel for groups with good service

Ideally located in the center of Thamel, really good service, hassle-free stay
7.3
As a group, its an ideal place to stay with an affordable price. And their service was really nice as we had asked for them to arrange a birthday cake since it was one of our birthdays and they did it very nicely. Also, its very conveniently located in the center of Thamel and has easy access to most places around.
Travel tip: just beware of slightly loud music coming out of an adjacent dance bar which may trouble some late into the night.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 24 Hours Reception ServiceHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Main BuildingHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Room


AS-AGWEB-3A05