Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Backyard

Chibahal, Thamel Marg (GREEN STREET), Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal 44600 (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Standard Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe javascript:void(0) Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe
Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Reception Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Lobby Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Lobby Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Lobby Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Lobby Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Lobby Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Entrance Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Surroundings Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Surroundings Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Exterior Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - roof top garden restaurant Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Interior
Area: Thamel Number of Rooms: 15
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

from 178 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
6.3
All reviews (178)
Sort by:
Eduardo J. Solo travelers Philippines, June 21, 2015
A friendly hotel at the heart of Thamel

Staff service, location and price
9
We had a very pleasant stay at Hotel Backyard. We were really treated as VIP guests. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and they speak Good English. There were not so many guests at that time probably because of the post-earthquake concerns but everything has been back to normal. We did not experience or at least feel any aftershock and the restaurants and shops are all back to business. The hotel itself was very much in good condition. The heritage sites are all open, except for Changu Narayan, and they were absolutely fantastic.
Ricky T. Solo travelers Singapore, April 10, 2015
Well Within Expectations

Good Location & Value
7.3
The stay was well within my expectations. Great location in a side street just off Thamel Marg. Downside is that noises from the side street can be heard very clearly & loudly from as early as 6am. I would advice that light sleepers try to get a room on the top floors (4th & 5th). However that brings me to a next downside, which is the climb up to the top floors can be a minor hassle to some. Still, I suppose the above are to be had in any hotels in Thamel area in the same price bracket. Not major issues to me at all. I would recommend this hotel to value seekers.
Tan K. Solo travelers Singapore, March 2, 2015
decent clean n friendly

convenient and helpful
7.7
Vorralak K. Solo travelers Thailand, March 1, 2015
too noisy at night

the heater, the view on top at breakfast, staffs
8.7
I was given a room on the second floor of the old building (right above the lobby). It was very noisy. I could hear people talking, telephone ringing, dog barking all through the night. This might not be a problem for other people but if you are a light sleeper and arrived after many hours on a flight, the lack of sleep can make things you see the next day not very interesting
Jennifer A. Solo travelers Philippines, February 20, 2015
Good location, Friendly and helpful staff

good location, friendly hotel staff
6.7
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Sunil, Siri and the other guy who wears a Cap(forgot his name) who helped us with our bags to the bus station. The place is good easy access and quite close at the Thamel center with lots of shops and restaurants. Upon arriving we were offered by their hot milk tea which is nice. The room itself is just ok, basic, clean sheets and comfy beds. The only setback is they dont have any room heater so we slept with our socks and gloves on, we stayed there during the last month of winter. So it gets very cold at night. They do have a hot shower which is good, but constant power shortage happens which is very normal for Nepal.
Arun G. Solo travelers Australia, February 8, 2015
Perfect Place to stay would meet overseas standard

Very Friendly & helpful . Conveintely located at heart of Thamel . Neat & tidy rooms.
10
I would say its perfect balance of leisure , luxury and affordability . I was recommended by my friend who had been here before & I am glad he did not disappoint me .It was perfect stay and I would love to stay here again & again . I would also recommend other people to visit.
John Y. Couples Australia, January 24, 2015
great value

helpful staff, good location, great value.
9
Great value for what you pay. They have fairly rated them selves 2 star and for that you get great service and location. They have staff that are friendly and very helpful at every question and request. Facilities and rooms are inline with their rating if not better. Enjoyed our stay there.
Quynh H. Couples Vietnam, January 19, 2015
Good location, very attentive staff

Good location, very attentive staff
9.7
The hotel is conveniently located in central Thamel. Hot shower 24/7. Free flow of coffee and tea. Nice breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.
Jutarat J. Solo travelers Thailand, December 2, 2014
Good location room very nice

Staff very friendly location very nice and room very clean
10
Good location very comfortable shopping around here location have a lot of restaurant u can choose staff very friendly and good take care
Georgia K. Solo travelers United States of America, October 6, 2014
Friendly staff. Good value.

Very friendly staff. Great location. Good value
9
I stayed during the start of their busy trekking season and it was also during their biggest festival Dashain. Despite all that, the staff are always helpful with a big smile. Just sit around the lobby and you get to meet travelers from all over the world. The room and location are good for the price they charge. The staff always try their best to help with their guests. I will stay again the next time I visit KTM.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Backyard KathmanduHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super DeluxeHotel Backyard Kathmandu - DeluxeHotel Backyard Kathmandu - DeluxeHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - DeluxeHotel Backyard Kathmandu - DeluxeHotel Backyard Kathmandu - StandardHotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe javascript:void(0)Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Backyard Kathmandu - ReceptionHotel Backyard Kathmandu - LobbyHotel Backyard Kathmandu - LobbyHotel Backyard Kathmandu - LobbyHotel Backyard Kathmandu - LobbyHotel Backyard Kathmandu - LobbyHotel Backyard Kathmandu - EntranceHotel Backyard Kathmandu - SurroundingsHotel Backyard Kathmandu - SurroundingsHotel Backyard Kathmandu - ExteriorHotel Backyard Kathmandu - roof top garden restaurantHotel Backyard Kathmandu - InteriorHotel Backyard Kathmandu - TerraceHotel Backyard Kathmandu - TerraceHotel Backyard Kathmandu - TerraceHotel Backyard Kathmandu - SurroundingsHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 15 minutes away: Kathmandu Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 15 minutes away: Kathmandu Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 15 minutes away: Kathmandu Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 15 minutes away: Kathmandu Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 15 minute away: Kathmandu Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 15 minute away: Kathmandu Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 5 km away: Pashupatinath TempleHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 5 km away: Pashupatinath TempleHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 5 km away: Sayambhunath TempleHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 5 km away: Sayambhunath TempleHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 5 km away: Sayambhunath TempleHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 6 km away: Patan Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 6 km away: Patan Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 6 km away: Patan Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 6 km away: Patan Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 6 km away: Patan Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 5 km away: Boudhanath StupaHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 5 km away: Boudhanath StupaHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 5 km away: Boudhanath StupaHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 22 km away: Bhaktapur Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 22 km away: Bhaktapur Durbar SquareHotel Backyard Kathmandu - 22 km away: Bhaktapur Durbar Square


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A04