My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay

No 417. Junction 22 & 63 streets. Aung Myae Thar Zan Tonship., Northern Mandalay, Mandalay, Myanmar 00952 (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Exterior Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Restaurant Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Swimming Pool Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Business Center Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Interior Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Facilities Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Food and Beverages Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Facilities Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Interior Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Canopy Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Bathroom Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Coffee & Snacks Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Restaurant Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Restaurant Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Chin Room Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Exterior
Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Restaurant Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Guest Room
Area: Northern Mandalay Number of Rooms: 25
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
39 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
7.7
Staff Performance
9.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.6
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (39)
Sort by:
Garry L. Couples United Kingdom, June 21, 2014
Superb hotel highly recommended!!

great staff, great rooms, great food
10
We stayed 3 nights at the red canal and could not fault the staff or hotel, they were very attentive and helpful. Excellent service and great rooms, the food was great and all the staff happy. We had one of the best meals on our trip at red canal, they also organised a taxi to take us round the sights of Mandalay which was a big help and we loved Mandalay Hill view. This hotel is setting the standard for others in Mandalay and if back in Mandalay will return.
Kim S. Business travelers United States of America, June 18, 2014
Great boutique hotel, very friendly staff

room, staff, ambience
9
very relaxing and I felt well taken care of.
Christine A. Couples Germany, May 2, 2014
fabulous

stuff, service, rooms
9
fabulous
Artur K. Families with young children Poland, April 11, 2014
Amazing płace in the middle of busy city.

Excelent personnel, clean, calm
9.7
This is amazing place Iocated in busy Mandalay. Personnell puts a lot of effort to make you feel comfortable and unique. They can also arrange a good price trips to visit all most interesting places in Mandalay and neighbourhood. I recommend one day trip to Inava, mahamuni and Mingun. Every evening there is free cocktail session by the pool, for one hour they mix drinks for you, two with and one without alcohol. Hotel restaurant is in separate building and serve wide variety of food, good quality and fresh. Definitely slow food. I do recommend the hotel for a few days in Mandalay. (Ask for room with windows to pool side, back of hotel doe not have a nice view).
Janet B. Couples United Kingdom, March 26, 2014
Boutique hotel with character

patio area; character of hotel; restaurant
9.3
William P. Families with young children United Kingdom, February 28, 2014
Lovely hotel spoiled by lack of disabled faciliti

Gardens, Restaurant , Staff
8
As in title lovely hotel , beautiful wood everywhere but a nightmare for anyone with any mobility problem inc. poor vision. No lift winding uneven badly lit paths in garden, a bath v dificult to climb into etc all problems caused by cute elegant "rustic" decor which produced a lovely ambience that was impossible to live with.
Chun W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, February 23, 2014
.

Breakfast style was bad due to the restaurant only five step can finish the buffet table for get food. Especially the restaurant was Indian style without any Bacon, beef and so on.
8.3
1. Hotel staff of services was excellent. Herewith, I want say thank you to Ms. Maya, Raye and the driver - Win to assistance my schedule and help - Thank you very much to all of you. 2. So many mosquito with use the breakfast with you at all time.
Anthony J. Families with older children United Kingdom, February 19, 2014
Outrageously over-priced.

Leaving
3.7
We paid for a suite for ourselves and our daughter (and paid $144 extra) for a special end to our holiday. - We got 2 single beds pushed next to each other and 1 single bed, each pushed against the wall in a standard size room. One of us had to climb over the other to get into or out of the bed. The duvet for the double bed didn't even stretch over the second person. - The suite was advertised with a balcony which was not much more than a dangerous ledge with a knee-height wall. - We questioned the mis-description to staff who had clearly had similar questions before but had 'no authority to help' and whose attitude was 'we've got their money let's wait for them to leave'. - We were told that we had what was meant by a 'suite' in Myanmar although this is clearly contradicted by my 6 previous visits to other hotels in Myanmar in the past 12 months. The room size was significantly smaller than the suite we had stayed in three days before (whose balconies were large enough for a table and 4 chairs and whose rooms have great views over the palace and its moat), or the hotels which are much better value (not much more than 50% of the price). - It is not even as if hotel has great views or is well located as a means of justifying the price charged. It is in fact isolated from other sights and restaurants and a 15 minute walk along a rough street to get to the better part of town. This makes going out at night difficult.
Stephen S. Couples United Kingdom, February 16, 2014
Amazing restaurant

Restaurant, lay out and design of hotel, staff
8.7
We loved this hotel. It had a lot of character and is quite small. Staff are very friendly and speak excellent English. You can change money here if you need to which is unusual for hotels in Burma. The restaurant was excellent and cocktails by the pool in the early evening was a really lovely touch. The one thing I would say is that some of the rooms are up a winding and narrow staircase so if you have any problems with stairs ask for a downstairs room. The hotel has a small but lovely garden with a little stream in it. We'd asked for a double bed and the hotel had pushed together two single beds which was fine, except the frames of the single beds were wooden and you wouldn't have wanted to roll into the middle of the bed for this reason. Loved this hotel. Wished we could have stayed longer.
Johannes S. Couples Netherlands, December 1, 2013
My first stay in Myanmar. Best experience

Friendly staff (Pyae Phyo was our excellent host), very attentive and nice relaxing hotel
9
Everybody told me not to go to Mandalay and I am happy I did not listen. Mandalay is certainly an interesting city and there's a lot to see and do and it's not overcrowded with tourists. When in Mandaly, go to the Hotel by the Red Canal (don't doubt): it's the best choice. From Mandalay take the Irrawaddy Princess II trip (2 nights) to Bagan!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Hotel main photoHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - ExteriorHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - RestaurantHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Swimming PoolHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Business CenterHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - InteriorHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - FacilitiesHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Food and BeveragesHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - FacilitiesHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - InteriorHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - CanopyHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - BathroomHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Coffee & SnacksHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - RestaurantHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - RestaurantHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Chin RoomHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - ExteriorHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - RestaurantHotel by the Red Canal Mandalay Mandalay - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3C07