My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Cara

No. 18, Street 47 & 84, Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Deluxe Room Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Superior Room No Window Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Family Suite Room Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Luxury Room Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Family Suite Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Luxury Room with Balcony Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Family Suite King Bed Bunk Beds Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Family Suite Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Superior Room Interiors Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Single Room Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Deluxe Room Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Cushion in room Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Family Suite Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Superior Room No Window Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Luxury Twin with Balcony Room Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Superior Twin Room
Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Luxury Twin with Balcony Room Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Superior Twin No Window Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Luxury Twin with Balcony Room Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Superior Twin No Window Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Reception Desk Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Lobby Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - 24 Hours Frontdesk Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Lobby Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Lobby Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - DVD Movies Selection Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Hotel Interior Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Hotel Interior
Area: Wat Phnom Number of Rooms: 48
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
63 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.7
Solo travelers (63)
Sort by:
Mohd I. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 5, 2014
Comfort, cheap & nearest to attractions

Nearest to the town, staff are friendly and very good in english, quality hotel
9.3
I would like to come back and stay with this hotel
Thach C. Solo travelers Cambodia, April 3, 2014
Noisy guests unfortunately

Nice breakfast at Doors, always clean and confortable
7
I have stayed here around 20 nights in 6 or 7 visits but, unfortunately, this will have been the last time. The hotel is a great location for my business visits to Phnom Penh and is average value for money. It has always been a nice stay but, for the first time, I had a lot of trouble sleeping due to noisy guests and the way that the hotel is laid out - small corridors, tiled floors. There is a sign in the lift asking people to be respectful and quiet after 11 pm - it would be helpful if it was posted in Chinese
Jessie T. Solo travelers Belgium, December 25, 2013
Comfortable hotel to stay in

friendly staff, nice clean room, good location
7.3
I would recommend to stay in this hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. I stayed in a delux room and had a balcony. I enjoyed my stay here and also the staff is helpful and friendly. You can also walk to the river. It will only take you around 10 minutes and outside there are tuktuks waiting all the time.The breakfast is great and delicious.
Rahul G. Solo travelers India, October 25, 2013
Comfortable and trouble-free

Staff, location, cleanliness
7.7
I stayed here for five days in 2013 October, and took a room with a balcony. The room was clean, comfortable and so was the bathroom. I could open the balcony door to let in fresh air as I dislike air-conditioning (wish hotels would bring fans back). The hotel staff is what makes the difference here. In Camdodia, although less so in Phnom Penh, English is a struggle. The staff did their best and I found them helpful, attentive and responsive in every situation. They arranged an airport pick-up and drop for me quickly and with no loose ends. The location, less than a ten-minute walk to Wat Phnom, is very good and there is no shortage of tuk-tuks on the main road. The restaurant on the ground floor is hosts quality live music often and serves a competent selection of food. I recommend this hotel for travellers whether business or families.
Georgina R. Solo travelers Australia, September 13, 2013
Reasonable comfortin river side hotel

Location, quiet rooms even on busy street, air conditioning
7.7
Janet C. Solo travelers Australia, July 24, 2013
no hot water in bathroom

great restaurant Doors which is 3 levels up from the hotel
6
it was alright overall, except not hot water in shower. Restaurant next door called Doors was fantastic
Alson W. Solo travelers United States of America, July 23, 2013
comfortable,large,clean rooms

large,clean room with balcony. Doors restaurant. Design of hotel.
8.7
I had a comfortable stay at Hotel Cara. I ordered a deluxe room with balcony for $2 more and it was well worth it. The room is large and confortable for one or two people. The design of the rooms are spa-like with dark brown furniture and Khmer designs. The chair is even rattan bamboo. The balcony was a nice addition as I smoke and I can sit outside to watch everything that's going on outside. The staff was helpful with airport pickup from hotel and arranging a tuk tuk to take me around town. Doors restaurant right next door has some exceptional food but it's not cheap. The restaurant is a Spanish-themed restaurant and I ordered the Iberico Ham for $35 a plate. This is the best ham I ever tasted in my life! I also ordered the Spanish Suckling Pig for $20. It was so tender and so good. I'm looking forward to returning to Phnom Penh just to eat there again.
Thach C. Solo travelers Cambodia, July 4, 2013
Comfortable

Breakfast, comfort clean
6.3
Upgraded to a deluxe with balcony but the balcony door was broken and the room was a little noisy. Would have preferred the room with now window where I have enjoyed comfortable quiet stays before
Christopher C. Solo travelers United States of America, May 19, 2013
Best hotel in Phnom Penh for the money

Best value, hotwater & A/C, good television selection
8.3
Still the best hotel for the money. Reliable hot water, good A/C, reliable wi-fi, and bar/restaurant downstairs. Best vaue for the amount of money. centrally located and easy to get a tuk-tuk.
Peter F. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 25, 2013
Once a little gem. Now mediocre.

Staff efficiency, staff attentiveness, staff helpfulness
6.3
I have used this hotel for over 5 years. It WAS one of the world's capital city gems. Recent changes have now rendered it little more than mediocre. Having spent a fortune on quality double glazing to insulate the rooms from adjacent raucous Cambodian nightclubs and street noise management have introduced their own 'in house' nightclub. All rooms along what was the quiet wing of the hotel are now directly above the nightclub. Senior management are preoccupied with the promotion of this development at the expense of the hotel guests. This preoccuption is best illustrated by (1) the hotel photos on its Agoda page - the first 13 totally ignore the hotel and focus on food etc available in the nightclub - and (2) breakfast. This is taken in the nightclub area - Management has adopted the 'penny pinching' style usually found in lower grade backpacker hostels in order to save money on kitchen staff and wastage - each evening you are asked to complete a questionaire at reception- tick a time slot when you want your breakfast and and also choose which of four set plates you want. As to this breakfast - I only tried it once - watery orange squash, a hot dog and baguette pre-smeared with something awful. In an hotel purporting to be 3* one could accept this if accompanied by a continental breakfast buffet. This was the norm in the Cara before the senior management downgrading of the breakfast provision. As to the ambiance of the 'nightclub' venue for breakfast - if you are sick to death of Cambodia, wish for somewhere without a single trace of Cambodia - then this is the place to go. Despite the above - I still go here - primarily because the staff are still, as they always have been, superb in every conceivable way. If and when they go - so will I.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Cara Phnom PenhHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Deluxe RoomHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Superior Room No WindowHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Family Suite RoomHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Luxury RoomHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Family Suite Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Luxury Room with BalconyHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Family Suite King Bed Bunk BedsHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Family SuiteHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Superior Room InteriorsHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Single RoomHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Deluxe RoomHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Cushion in roomHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Family SuiteHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Superior Room No WindowHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Luxury Twin with Balcony RoomHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Superior Twin RoomHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Luxury Twin with Balcony RoomHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Superior Twin No WindowHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Luxury Twin with Balcony RoomHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Superior Twin No WindowHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Reception DeskHotel Cara Phnom Penh - LobbyHotel Cara Phnom Penh - 24 Hours FrontdeskHotel Cara Phnom Penh - LobbyHotel Cara Phnom Penh - LobbyHotel Cara Phnom Penh - DVD Movies SelectionHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Hotel InteriorHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Hotel InteriorHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Family Suite Living RoomHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Luxury Room- BathroomHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Luxury Room - Bathroom with tubHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Bathroom Hotel Cara Phnom Penh - Rainforest ShowerHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Bathroom ToiletriesHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Business Center - Free InternetHotel Cara Phnom Penh - RestaurantHotel Cara Phnom Penh - RestaurantHotel Cara Phnom Penh - RestaurantHotel Cara Phnom Penh - RestaurantHotel Cara Phnom Penh - RestaurantHotel Cara Phnom Penh - RestaurantHotel Cara Phnom Penh - HallwayHotel Cara Phnom Penh - StaircaseHotel Cara Phnom Penh - InteriorHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Doors InteriorsHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Food and BeveragesHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Food and BeveragesHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Food and BeveragesHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Food and BeveragesHotel Cara Phnom Penh - RestaurantHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Doors-BravasHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Food and BeveragesHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Food and BeveragesHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Food and BeveragesHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Food and BeveragesHotel Cara Phnom Penh - ExteriorHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Food and BeveragesHotel Cara Phnom Penh - Exterior Entrance


AS-AGWEB-3B07