Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Clarion

103 Kandy Road Kiribathgoda, Wattala, Wattala, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Clarion Wattala - Deluxe Room Hotel Clarion Wattala - Deluxe Room Hotel Clarion Wattala - Superior Room Hotel Clarion Wattala - Superior Room Interior Hotel Clarion Wattala - Deluxe Room Hotel Clarion Wattala - Deluxe room Hotel Clarion Wattala - Deluxe Room Hotel Clarion Wattala - Superior Room Hotel Clarion Wattala - Superior Room Interior Hotel Clarion Wattala - Deluxe Room Interior Hotel Clarion Wattala - Deluxe Room Hotel Clarion Wattala - Superior Room Interior Hotel Clarion Wattala - Food by Clarion Hotel Clarion Wattala - Meeting Room Hotel Clarion Wattala - Restaurant Hotel Clarion Wattala - Swimming Pool
Hotel Clarion Wattala - Pharaohs cocktail and music lounge Hotel Clarion Wattala - Pharaohs cocktail and music lounge Hotel Clarion Wattala - Ballroom Hotel Clarion Wattala - Pharaohs cocktail and music lounge Hotel Clarion Wattala - Tulip Restaurant Hotel Clarion Wattala - By the pool Hotel Clarion Wattala - By the pool Hotel Clarion Wattala - Swimming pool Hotel Clarion Wattala - Gym Hotel Clarion Wattala - Roof-top restaurant Hotel Clarion Wattala - Four Seasons Hotel Clarion Wattala - View
Area: Wattala Number of Rooms: 31
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.6

from 212 reviews

Value for Money
6.8
Location
5.8
Staff Performance
6.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (212)
Sort by:
Keith T. Families with older children United Kingdom, April 7, 2012
Established hotel with traditional standards.

Staff extremely friendly and helpful.
7
We went to the Clarion in March 2012 for the second England/Sri Lanka Test Match in Colombo. The hotel was fine for our stay but the location was not especially convenient for the journey to the P.Sara Cricket Stadium in Colombo. We made a mistake about our arrival time due to flight delays but when we arrived the hotel staff had taken this into account (as they were full over the Easter period) and organised another nearby hotel for us to stay in for the first evening. Many thanks for that! The staff could not have been more helpful in arranging taxis and transport for luggage the day after. The journey across Colombo was a shocker - a one hour free for all with no quarter given! Eventually after three days we moved to a more central hotel for the end of the Test Match. I stress that this was not the fault of the hotel in any way. Would I go again? - For a relaxing break - Probably - For another Colombo Test Match - No. the journey was just a bit too much.
Report this review
Alexandru N. Couples Romania, April 3, 2012
Nice simple hotel

The attendant was friendly, the room was clean but standard and the restaurant served really good food.
6.7
I really liked the food in the restaurant there and the service attendant was very friendly and helpful! Apart from that, the rooms were just normal, breakfast was poor and location wise, nothing much to do.
Report this review
Christopher D. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 2, 2012
Disappointed

Breakfast
5.7
This hotel is 16km outside of the city and it is a hot one hour bus ride into the Fort area. The rooms were average as was the bathroom but clean. The swimming pool made my costume smell of sulphur. The hotel has several function rooms which were and are busy at a week end with weddings etc. The pool area was taken over for a kids party which was not an issue but some notification might have been nice to have planned differently. They allow outsiders to drink and i was offered violence by a drunk local andthe staff did little or nothing till his friends took him away. Well front desk offered an apology which was a tad weak and too late. The luggage man has a trolley with hard wheels which on a broken tiled floor wakes you up so if someone arrives early or late you will be awake Overall there are better Your choice
Report this review
Thanh A. Business travelers Vietnam, March 30, 2012
it's normal hotel with normal service

cheap price
5.3
i was staying there for long time because that hotel's location was suitable to my working. it's a normal hotel but i think it's okay with its rate.
Report this review
Thanh A. Business travelers Vietnam, March 20, 2012
it's normal hotel with normal service

cheap price
5.3
i was staying there for some days. that hotel's location was suitable for my working. it's a normal hotel with normal service. but it's okay with its rate.
Report this review
Chris C. Couples United States of America, March 20, 2012
Decent hotel in a remote location

Clean and reliable
6.7
The Clarion was a decent choice of fair value. Considering all hotels are fairly overpriced for what you get in Sri Lanka, this was an ok option among the others. A nice pool, clean room, a decent breakfast buffet, and overall friendly service. Perhaps the best thing was that room service was available at no extra cost so we heartily took advantage of that.
Restaurant Tip: The Gallery Cafe in the Colombo 7 area was easily the highlight of dining. The restaurant/cafe has a wonderful ambience and great food. We visited two times and spent a couple of hours there each time just enjoying the surroundings.
Report this review
Chris C. Couples United States of America, March 18, 2012
Fair hotel

Clean
6.7
we found the clarion to be a fair hotel with fair value. if you're looking for a decent clean hotel with professional service you'll be pleased so long as you don't concern yourself with the price so much. but considering that all colombo hotels seem to be overpriced, the clarion was an ok choice for us. the location was not great however.
Report this review
Lasantha R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 8, 2012
Good location, not far from Colombo

Great pool and decent food
6
good hotel for a short stay. this is a popular destination for local weddings so be aware of this. you may feel out of place by the pool in shorts! great place to relax though, rooms clean, bathrooms could be cleaner, expected a bit more from the deluxe room, but served its purpose. decent breakfast, service wasnt great.
Restaurant Tip: The lunch menu is appetising
Report this review
Ronald G. Couples United Kingdom, March 1, 2012
Pleasant old hotel

Large rooms, good food, nice swimming pool an terrace
6
We stayed one night at the Clarion and it was fine. The Superior room was in fact large but rather shabby. If we had stayed longer we would have asked to move to a better room. The whole hotel has been quite grand but now is a bit run down; renovations are underway so it may improve. The restaurant was good. The hotel is quite far from central Colombo so is not very convenient.
Report this review
Abdullah A. Groups Kuwait, February 21, 2012
Lovely hotel

People
8.3
big thanks to the gm , he was kind man and help us for everything i asked him , everybody there also can help you with smile
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Clarion Wattala - Swimming pool areaHotel Clarion Wattala - Deluxe RoomHotel Clarion Wattala - Deluxe RoomHotel Clarion Wattala - Superior RoomHotel Clarion Wattala - Superior Room InteriorHotel Clarion Wattala - Deluxe RoomHotel Clarion Wattala - Deluxe roomHotel Clarion Wattala - Deluxe RoomHotel Clarion Wattala - Superior RoomHotel Clarion Wattala - Superior Room InteriorHotel Clarion Wattala - Deluxe Room InteriorHotel Clarion Wattala - Deluxe RoomHotel Clarion Wattala - Superior Room InteriorHotel Clarion Wattala - Food by ClarionHotel Clarion Wattala - Meeting RoomHotel Clarion Wattala - RestaurantHotel Clarion Wattala - Swimming PoolHotel Clarion Wattala - Pharaohs cocktail and music loungeHotel Clarion Wattala - Pharaohs cocktail and music loungeHotel Clarion Wattala - BallroomHotel Clarion Wattala - Pharaohs cocktail and music loungeHotel Clarion Wattala - Tulip RestaurantHotel Clarion Wattala - By the poolHotel Clarion Wattala - By the poolHotel Clarion Wattala - Swimming poolHotel Clarion Wattala - GymHotel Clarion Wattala - Roof-top restaurantHotel Clarion Wattala - Four SeasonsHotel Clarion Wattala - ViewHotel Clarion Wattala - ExteriorHotel Clarion Wattala - EntranceHotel Clarion Wattala - ReceptionHotel Clarion Wattala - Swimming PoolHotel Clarion Wattala - Exterior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A08