Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 224 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 5.3
  • Location 5.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 6.7
  • Value for Money 6.7
  • Food/Dining 6.8

Bandara D.
Sri Lanka
September 09, 2012
lovely hotel at a great location
ease to travel around Sri Lanka
we travelled around Sri lanka using this hotel as the base. Staff recognise and greets us. Our stay was pleasant as the staffs are friendly, helpful and makes effort to resolve any request immediately. room are kept tidy with bed layout for the night. but hotel breakfast is rather basic with repeat menu.

Bandara D.
Sri Lanka
September 04, 2012
staff is friendly and helpful
good location for traveling around sri lanka.
rooms is big and adequately furnished. experience power cut thus aircondn was down. generator supply of basic power to run the fan was a life saver.

Velauthar S.
United Arab Emirates
August 27, 2012
nice and comfortable stay with good service
friendly and helpful staff
very nice deluxe room with great hospitality. reception to room service guys are friendly and helpful. nice food from tulips restaurant with one to one service. i had nice day out.

Brianna W.
United States
August 24, 2012
Good room, not great location
Comfortable room, nice buffet breakfast
Stayed here just for a night on my way out of Sri Lanka. It wasnt as close to the airport as I had hoped. The pool was full of noisy tourists and children. The room was nice except for a moldy bathroom. Overall, it was a decent stay for one night only however I would look elsewhere next time to find something cheaper or better value for the price.

Paulson K.
India
August 07, 2012
Decent Hotel
Away from Colombo
Clarion is a decent hotel and value for money. The Reception staff is inexperienced and made me wait for few minutes as there was another guest checking out ! Otherwise it was good experience staying with Clarion.

Lasantha R.
United Kingdom
August 07, 2012
Great little hotel, good reception
Location, pool and very quiet
Ive stayed here 3 times now. Good location, quiet and you can switch off. The breakfast was pretty poor, needs to be fresh and the service at breakfast is a lot to be desired for. Saying that though this isnt representative of the hotel.

Syed H.
Pakistan
July 31, 2012
Small hotel with friendly service
Friendly service, staff was politely and helpful
We used the hotel for overnight stay only and it is suitable only for this purpose. The hotel arrange for complimentary airport pick up and we arrived very late at night to be informed that nothing was available after 10 pm. Internet was available in the lobby

Parag J.
India
July 30, 2012
Decent place. But not value for money
clean room,friendly staff, free wifi.
Hotel Clarion provides a clean basic room. The staff is friendly and accomodating. I reached at 9 pm and was given a room even though the check in was 12 noon. Even the next day, I was allowed a late checkout till 2 pm. The room given to me was a clean room with a clean toilet and shower. However I did not feel it was a value-for-money. My room TV was not working when I checked in since the electric pin of the TV was bent and damaged. The electrician was very prompt in attending to my complaint. However the best he could do was with a grainy picture and a remote which worked intermittently. Two lights in my room were not working, the sliding window overlookinbg the swimming pool was not staying locked, the bathroom did not have handtowels and the shower was functional. One of the electric sockets in the room had come undone. The food was decent but a bit overpriced. However the breakfast which was part of my plan was decent. It had 5 different kinds of bread, cornflakes, veg & non veg options and tea/coffee alongwith fresh fruits and cheese. The location of the hotel is not upmarket. Moreover the area that it is situated in also does not have anything in terms of sightseeing. If the pricing could be revised downwards it would be a great option especially with the free WiFi in the lobby and the dining room thrown in.

dinesh K.
India
June 16, 2012
ok hotel with helpful staff
cost
little away from the city but staff was good and cooperative. room was also comfortable

dinesh K.
India
June 16, 2012
Budget hotel,
courteous staff including GM
Comfortable stay. Budget hotel. away from the centre. Good staff