Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Discovery Inn

Thamel, Chibhal, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal 44600 (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Reception Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Reception Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Garden Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Garden Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Interior Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Exterior Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Exterior Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Exterior Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Guest Room Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Reception Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Guest Room
Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Guest Room
Area: Thamel Number of Rooms: 22
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Acceptable

4.9

based on
8 reviews

Value for Money
4.8
Location
6.8
Staff Performance
4.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
4.5
Room Comfort/Standard
5.2
Food/Dining
4.0
All reviews (8)
Sort by:
Binod S. Solo travelers Nepal, February 16, 2013
loacation is good but very dirty rooms

free wifi,best is working even no power
3.3
Very dirty bed and bad smells seems that never washed linen.
Sabina S. Couples Switzerland, October 24, 2012
Noisy and unclean place

They try to be nice, provide free internet (if there's power)
4
we were intending to spend 5 nights at this hotel, but then had to cancel our stay after the first two nights. although the staff is really trying to be friendly - the hotel is really run down! well, what can you expect for this price? the carpets were un-cleanably filthy, the bedsheets were dirty and full of holes (made by inattentive bed-smokers...), the thickness of the door is maybe about 0.5mm, the door handle loose....could have been broken at any moment. our next-door neighbors where smoking ganja all night and we almost got passively stoned just by nomrally breathing our room. the view from our window was basically a garbage dump and there was no sun whatsoever. it was cold like anything. the worst thing was the rosty orange water coming out of every pipe of the bathroom. after having taken a shower with that water, we smelled like a rosty pipe. the only plus is that they were allowing us to use the internet for free downstairs. whenever we went down to the reception, there was a new guy standing there. we didn't know who was in charge of the hotel.
Hotel Feature Tip: do not go there!
Parijat S. Families with young children India, June 3, 2012
Fraud hotel, cheap staff, poor services.

None
2.3
We were 2 couples with 4 children, booked hotel Discovery Inn online through Agoda. But when we reached the hotel we were not allotted our rooms which we booked with Agoda, they said that they did not receive our booking invoice from Agoda so they could not keep our booking and then allotted the same rooms to others. We stayed in the room provided to for first night, and then we were given our our rooms on the second night. On our booking the pics of hotel shows different from what they have. On the other hand the staff is not cooperative, they even do not pick your luggage from your room when you check out. Worst thing is water, which is having the smell of gutter. I would recommend do not look at the Agoda ratings of this hotel, rather just go google about it.
Kaye D. Solo travelers Australia, April 22, 2012
dirty rooms and, noisy

cheap
2.3
I was booked to stay 7 days I stayed 2. The place was dirty espeically my room and very old. leaking water in bathroom and water dirty everything rusty. I did not feel safe as a single traveller. Also very noisy.
David P. Couples United Kingdom, April 17, 2012
Avoid like the plague

location ok but thats it
3.3
We arrived after a very uncomfortable 48 hr trip and were told we had to pay more as I had booked a single. This was true but on it showed as being for two people so I assumed it must be a queen or king size bed. The guy made us pay $5 more. That was not so much an issue as his behavior was appaling. I said we might stay longer but he wanted more money than is shown on. Then he started hounding us to take tours and wanted us to come to a travel agents there and then. We told him we wanted to sleep and would think about things in the morning. Despite this after 1 hr he was up banging on the door trying to get us to come to his friends shop. We told him to piss off and slept through to the next day, when we immediatley checked out. His desperation was disgusting and he followed us half way to the next hotel still pestering about his friends shop. All in all a horrible fellow and a horrible hotel. p.s *the beds are little more than planks of wood*
Hotel Feature Tip: do not go here
Kimberly B. Solo travelers United States of America, March 27, 2012
Friendly, Clean and Convenient!

central, quiet location, great price.
8
I have stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions and plan to stay here on future visits to Kathmandu. The prices are right on par with other nearby budget choices, but I found the hotel to be cleaner and with more helpful staff than others. It is located in a quiet courtyard off one of the main roads of Thamel, so the location is great for shopping and eating, yet away from the hustle and bustle when you are ready to rest. There is a cute and tasty garden cafe directly opposite the hotel. There is also a generator so I was never without power A few cons to be aware of: Breakfast and airport pick-up are not included in the price. The wifi was also inconsistent in the rooms.
Restaurant Tip: Don't miss the tasty vegetarian restaurant at the back of the nearby Pilgrims Book Store. It has a wonderful atmosphere, great service, and tasty food.
S M. Couples Bangladesh, March 15, 2012
yes

good
10
The atmosfare of this hotel is very nice. All the servises like Food, Bevarage, Customer Care, Hospitality very good.I am pleased on the behaviour of all the stuff. The construction looking good. It have a all kind of ability to stay or visit.I desire to visit it again nexttime.
Gota I. Solo travelers Japan, March 30, 2013
場所が良いだけ。

場所が良いだけというのが正直なところ。路地裏にあるので静かではあった。
6
場所が良いだけというのが正直なところ。路地裏にあるので静かではあった。ホテルにまで勧誘してくる旅行代理店の人達がいて面倒だった。ネパールを最後の夜だったのでもう少しいい宿であるのを期待していたが、値段を考えると十分ということになってしまう。
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - GardenHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - ReceptionHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - ReceptionHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - GardenHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - GardenHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - InteriorHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - ExteriorHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - ExteriorHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - ExteriorHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - ReceptionHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Discovery Inn Kathmandu - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3B04