or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Elephant Bay

Pinnawala, Pinnawala, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - View Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Nearby Attraction Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Guest Room Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Nearby Attraction Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Balcony/Terrace Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Exterior Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Nearby Attraction Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Balcony/Terrace Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Nearby Attraction Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Exterior
Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Lobby Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - View from the Room Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Exterior Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Balcony/Terrace Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Restaurant Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Standard Room Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Standard Family Room Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Guest Room Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Guest Room Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Surroundings
Area: Pinnawala Number of Rooms: 20
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
167 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.7
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (167)
Sort by:
Leslie M. Couples United Kingdom, July 15, 2014
Elephants

location location location
6.3
We had a wonderful room with great views of the river and the elephants , service and food was not great it was low season but all they seem to want to cater for is the visitors to view the elephants from their restaurant and move on
Pauline G. Groups Ireland, July 10, 2014
Very basic hotel which needs a revamp.

Elephants, river
5
It did for 2 nights but wouldn't recommend it for a longer period of time.
Hua Z. Couples China, June 22, 2014
We stayed only one night to see the elephants.

Nice view and good location.
6.7
We stayed only one night to see the elephants. beakfast is very slow.
Lalith D. Families with young children Sri Lanka, June 1, 2014
quite stay ... very relaxing place ..

fantactic veiw on elephant a with quite surounding ..... over looking the rever you can really relax
7
it was good . iam with the familly and it was much a closer look on elephants and can kill time watching the elephants with out any issue ..hotel must improve its offering to the customers ... they should not allow out siders to just comew in to the hotel with out any reason .. i noticed this and told the front office too
Grant B. Groups Australia, May 30, 2014
Great staff reception beautiful

Staff elephants staff
9.7
Awesome staff good food most beautiful receptionist in all srilanka
James N. Couples United Kingdom, April 12, 2014
great if you want to see elephants !

staff, getting up close to the elephants, good stop off point on way to Nuwara Eliya
7
We stayed one night and had an ok experience. Not the easiest place to find. Slight confusion at check in, the hotel staff thought we had a booked a single room, we had in fact booked a double, this was resolved quickly however. The hotel could do with some refurbishment and rooms are basic, showers not great. That said to see elephants up close and personal this hotel is perfect. Other places in Pinnawala charge for the privilege of seeing elephants but at this hotel the experience is included in the cost of the stay. Elephant show starts at 10am but we left after an hour as an hour is all you need. Breakfast was good and staff were very friendly. Overall a nice start to our stay in Sri Lanka.
Bettina L. Families with young children Denmark, February 23, 2014
Stunning location! Heartwarming experience.

Location, close to Elephant orphanage, view and interaction with the elephants during daily bathing
7.3
Hotel could use a nice coat of paint and general cleaning! Staff great and friendly.
Ishan S. Families with young children Sri Lanka, February 4, 2014
Pleasant stay very close to nature

Close to nature, nice view, friendly staff
7.7
Pleasant stay. The aircon was not working so it was hot and humid. Friendly staff especially in the restaurant. The best spot to see the elephants bathing. Nice view from room. It a nice place.
Mikhail K. Families with older children Russia, January 26, 2014
pleasant start for a trip in Sri Lanka

pleasant and comfortable
10
We stayed in the hotel at the end of January for one night. It was our first night in Sri Lanka right after our flight. We arrived in the hotel later evening. It was so please to have a dinner on a stone terrace with lianas twined around high pillars. It looks like you are in a mansion-house deeply in jungle and nobody is around. In the morning we had a breakfast on the same sun filled terrace. Toasts, tea, butter, two kinds of tasty jam, eggs (of any kind you like), sausages, fresh juice, and a river beside you in which elephants took their morning bathe. Please add very comfortable mattresses on beds that is very helpful after a long flight. I could not imagine more pleasant start for a trip in Sri Lanka. I surely will come back again to start my next trip here, in a right way.
Chris B. Families with older children United Kingdom, January 3, 2014
good location to see elephants but that is all

location - next to river where the elephants came to wash
4.3
the hotel is very large and has the initial appearance of being a 4 star place. however it appears that the staff have never seen or run a 4-start place. the rooms were dirty (3 rings around the bath), the food changed each day (quality and type). it took a whole day just to get two pillows and two towels. with the right staff and a little investment this could be a good place - but try other places before going here.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Elephant Bay KandyHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - ViewHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Nearby AttractionHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Nearby AttractionHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Balcony/TerraceHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - ExteriorHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Nearby AttractionHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Balcony/TerraceHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Nearby AttractionHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - ExteriorHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - LobbyHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - View from the RoomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - ExteriorHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Balcony/TerraceHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - RestaurantHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Standard RoomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Standard Family RoomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Elephants at the River Hotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Exterior ViewHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - ViewHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - ViewHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - RestaurantHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Elephant RidesHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - BathroomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - ViewHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - BathroomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - RestaurantHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - BathroomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - ViewHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - RestaurantHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Garden and the RiverHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - EntranceHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - RestaurantHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Sitting AreaHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - View of the RiverHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - LobbyHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - BathroomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Kandy CityHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - ShopsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - BathroomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - BuffetHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Balcony/TerraceHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - InteriorHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - LobbyHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - ReceptionHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - InteriorHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - ExteriorHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - ViewHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - BathroomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Kandy - Shops


AS-AGWEB-3B05