Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Elephant Bay

Pinnawala, Pinnawala, Pinnawala, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - View Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Nearby Attraction Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Guest Room Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Nearby Attraction Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Balcony/Terrace Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Exterior Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Nearby Attraction Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Balcony/Terrace Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Nearby Attraction Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Exterior
Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Lobby Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - View from the Room Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Exterior Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Surroundings Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Balcony/Terrace Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Restaurant Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Standard Room Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Standard Family Room Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Guest Room Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Guest Room Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Surroundings
Area: Pinnawala Number of Rooms: 20
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

from 188 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (188)
Sort by:
Mohamed A. Families with young children United Arab Emirates, July 31, 2015
View is the ONLY wonderful thing about this hotel

The view, the elephants, location
5.7
Arrived at the hotel after checking our booking before getting into the alley!! arriving at the hotel the view was thrilling by the wonderful river!! we talked to The staff, who do not speak good English, we have booked for 3 rooms, we asked for extra beds and breakfast for 8 and they asked for payment immediately!!and were given a hand written bill!!! after payment 2 rooms had the river view, one had the parking view!!!asked for another room, they refused and were very rude to us including the reception manager, spoke in their language and ironically laughing with glances. the real boss was the luggage man, who was interfering with the issue. they finally gave us a near (NO VIEW AT ALL) room NOT EVEN A WINDOW FOR AIR!!! we took it! we could hear the other rooms noise from everywhere, there was NO privacy at all. bathrooms were awful, need renovating, no curtains for shower and towels were dirty. the bathroom door was broken, hose was leaking. the breakfast could be better than that. pillows and mattresses were uncomfortable. curtains were broken, no blankets only a thin sheet like thing to use like a blanket.took us half an hour to discover that the light switch is behind the small extra bed which is available in all the rooms at this hotel!! I do not recommend this particular hotel for those seeking comfort and luxurious stay. maybe other hotels in the area are better than that one.
Report this review
Andrew H. Families with young children United Arab Emirates, April 10, 2015
Ideal location only

Elephants
4.7
The restaurant was terrible at this hotel. We tried 3 times to eat there and each time the restaurant failed to deliver the food or it arrived with flies swarming. Breakfast was extremely basic and again swarmed by flies
Report this review
Naadira K. Couples South Africa, February 15, 2015
Great value for money

The view from the delux room and the location
7
The room was clean and the workers very helpful although they did not always understand English. It was great value for money and we were quite impressed coming from Centara Ceysands which was double the price and not much more great. The delux room is 50 percent glass and the view is breathtaking. Breakfast was not great, flies everywhere and not very hygienic. Perfect for a one night elephant experience
Report this review
Robert H. Families with young children United States of America, January 29, 2015
Planned to stay 3 days, left after just 6 hours

location, elephants, low cost
4.3
Arrived at night and we were concerned about security. There is one staff member on duty. He is the front desk, operator, bellman, security guard, room service, cook, and maintenance. Understaffing at night is a problem. The entire hotel just barely meets the minimum requirements to be considered a hotel. All furniture is very old and in poor condition. In the rooms, only a bedsheet is provided, blankets not available. In the bathrooms, a few regular towels, no toothpaste, shampoo etc, no hand towels. The locks on the doors are every old and not secure, we moved furniture and luggage in front of the door for added security. There is no elevator. Hot water was only available after we ran the tap open for about 25 minutes. We used a major tour company as our driver, so they know nearly every hotel in Kandy. They did not know this hotel and had never been to it. They did know every other hotel on our trip. Breakfast- given 3 options only, food is OK. Glasses were not washed after use, but just rinsed. We were concerned about cleanliness after seeing that. The hotel manager let us check out early and refunded our payment for 2 more nights, which we are very thankful for. Overall, this is a very budget hotel- the price is low but you get very little other than a bare basic room with no amenities.
Report this review
Wijitha A. Families with young children Sri Lanka, January 23, 2015
Room for improvements

Location, staff, view
6.7
Our stay was good. There is are room for improvement. The hotel rooms show a little bit wear ant tear. This needs to be attended. Entrance and the parking area too need attention.
Report this review
Wijitha A. Families with older children Sri Lanka, January 22, 2015
Good - need some improvements

location, staff view
6.7
Our stay was good. There is a room for improvement. The hotel rooms show a little bit wear and tear. This needs to be addressed urgently to maintain your star rating TV set need replacement with LCD This needs to be attended.
Report this review
Denny L. Couples Italy, January 5, 2015
Good hotel

Very good breakfast and elephants coming at 10am
8
Perfect position to see elephant (they come to you after breakfast), good food and good choice.
Report this review
Linda V. Families with young children Australia, December 25, 2014
Not 3 Star!!

Views
3.3
This alleged 3 star hotel does not rate at all! The staff are not able to communicate effectively, rooms were old and shabby and the restaurant's food, service and quality was awful!! For the cost, this place was not value for money!
Report this review
Meghan R. Couples Canada, October 3, 2014
Great hotel!

Location
8.3
Great stay; comfortable rooms, great location and awesome view of te river and elephants bathing!
Report this review
Zhijun C. Groups China, September 30, 2014
Wonderful location to see elephant bath

Price location
7.7
The location should be the best for elephant bath, you can close to see they have a bath and the experience is too difficult to forget! But the hotel should make a smart and clear guidance in the street so we can find it easilier, and I need to complained that why there is no hair dryer in the room but agoda show that they have
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Elephant Bay PinnawalaHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - ViewHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Nearby AttractionHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Nearby AttractionHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Balcony/TerraceHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - ExteriorHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Nearby AttractionHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Balcony/TerraceHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Nearby AttractionHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - ExteriorHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - LobbyHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - View from the RoomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - ExteriorHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Balcony/TerraceHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - RestaurantHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Standard RoomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Standard Family RoomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Elephants at the River Hotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Exterior ViewHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - ViewHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - ViewHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - RestaurantHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Elephant RidesHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - BathroomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - ViewHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - BathroomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - RestaurantHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - BathroomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - ViewHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - RestaurantHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Garden and the RiverHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - EntranceHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - RestaurantHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Sitting AreaHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - View of the RiverHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - LobbyHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - BathroomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Kandy CityHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - ShopsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - BathroomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - BuffetHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Balcony/TerraceHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - InteriorHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - SurroundingsHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - LobbyHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - ReceptionHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - InteriorHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - ExteriorHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - ViewHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - BathroomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Guest RoomHotel Elephant Bay Pinnawala - Shops


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C04