Back to hotel info

Very good 7.5
Based on 126 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 126 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Service 7.2
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 6.7

Gerilyn L.
United States
August 19, 2014
Excellent ffor the price
Location for elephant orphanage, nice room, staff great
Hotel overlooks river where elephants are bathed twice a day. Unfortunately heavy rains day before our stay made river too dangerous for this while we were there. But hotel is an easy walk from the orphanage, and we saw plenty of elephants there. Feed them by hand with a few exra rupees, stay as long as you like taking photos. Open restaurant overlooking river was breezy and pleasant, so we enjoyed dinner there. Food good and not too expensive. Free breakfast was good for the price, choice of menu items hot and cold. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would love to stay again someday.

PEI C.
Malaysia
June 19, 2014
Average stay
good view , nature , quiet
Good location with good view for elephants at riverside . Poor check in with unfriendly reception girls . Headache for electric power supply .

Konstantin I.
Russia
March 20, 2014
What a view!
Everything is made to enjoy elephants bathing
This was a great opportunity to choose a point of view for the family before crowds have come. Hotel services were also good. IMHO the best option to enjoy elephants.

Peter H.
United Kingdom
March 10, 2014
disappointed hotel great location
we saw the elephants playing in the river,and had photo's ei

Anton T.
Finland
February 16, 2014
Spectacular stay in Hotel Elephant Park
Staff, views and elephants
We stayed at the hotel for 7 days and the experience was unique. The hotel room was very clean and even modern. The air conditioning in our room worked flawlessly. The hotel is located just incredibly beautiful area and the views are spectacular. There are elephants in surroundings of the hotel bathing every day, which is the highlight. The staff are genuine and friendly, and it was pleasure to meet them. The food was also excellent. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will miss there.

Anton B.
Hungary
February 01, 2014
Best location to see the bathing elephants
Best location to see the bathing elephants, very good quality rooms, television, big sized room
We stayed at the hotel one night to see the local attraction - the bathing elephants from the orphanage. This proved to be a very good decision - to visit the orphanage you need to buy pretty expensive tickets (20 USD per person), and they ask for the tickets even if you want to go to the riverside when the elephants are going there for bathing. With the hotel you have the best spot available to see the bathing elephants and you don't have to pay for the tickets of the orphanage. At the same time the quality of the room is pretty good, very clean, new and the size was also good. They have a great restaurant on the terrace with spectacular view on the river and the elephants and the selection is quite OK. However the prices are twice higher than normally in Sri Lanka. At the same time we weren't really satisfied with the staff at the hotel. We had a feeling that for everything they do they wanted to get money in reward, otherwise they wouldn't help. And when we asked some basic things from them (how to get to a railway junction in the near city to catch the train to Anuradhapura) none of them knew the answer, which was strange. Anyway, the location is very good and room was also great, so among other hotels near the elephant orphanage, I would definitely recommend this one.

Will B.
United Kingdom
August 11, 2013
Amazing experience to see elephants so closely.
Great location. Nice view. Elephants.
It’s an amazing experience to watch the elephants having bath in the river while having breakfast on the balcony.

Sandra K.
Germany
August 09, 2013
Hotel directly on the river.
Directly beside the main attraction, friendly staff, Internet available
The hotel is facing the river where the elephants are bathing. Unfortunately the water level was too high and they were not bathing when we stayed there. It's 5 minutes walk to the elephant orphanage. The staff was very friendly but the rooms are average. It's a bit overcharged for the rooms it selfs but if you are lucky to see the bathing it's great and worth the money.

Johan V.
South Africa
August 04, 2013
A must visit when in Sri Lanka.
Elephants right by hotel. Great food. Best seat in the house to view elephants bathing in river.
We booked 2 rooms but only 1 room had hot water and a working Aircon. The food however was the ebst we had in Sri Lanka. The hotel management team made up for the lack of hot water and AC by providing free of charge an extra room on the day of our departure so we could store our luggae and have alast minute shower for a late afternoon departure. Of the 6 places we stayed in Sri Lanka, this hotel was certainly the best in terms of food, facilities, value for money, customer service and just being a fantastic place to view the elephants bathing in the river by the hotel. I would go back there again and recommend it to anyone.

Neal R.
United Kingdom
August 03, 2013
Very friendly & helpful staff, accomodating hotel
Close to the elephants river, helpful staff and management.
The room was satisfactory. The staff were helpful and the management were considerate of our needs.