Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Empire In Shinjuku

1-15-33 Hyakunin-cho, Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan 169-0073

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.2

based on 850 reviews

425 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.6
Room Comfort/Standard
6.8
Food/Dining
5.9
All reviews (850)
Sort by:
James M. Couples United Kingdom, April 27, 2016
Good Position
5.3
This hotel is very close to Shin-Okubo station on the JR Yamanote Line. The instructions of how to get to the hotel from the station are exact and it was very easy to find. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Yes, as others have said the rooms are small but so are a lot of other hotels. The housekeeping is not terrific and in the four days we were there our bed was just kind of pulled up. The towels were changed every day and they provide toiletries, yakata and slippers. We did miss not have tea and coffee facilities but you are provided with two coffee mugs and if you are happy to buy your own from the 7/11 down the street you can make your own as there is a hot/cold water dispenser in the foyer. The room is airconditioned and you can open the windows if you prefer. There are lots of cafes close by but the immediate surroundings of the hotel are quiet. The hotel does not have a restaurant but make sure you try the Vivo Daily Stand next door either for lunch, snacks or dinner. It is a kind of Tapas bar I suppose. They have an English menu which is easy to understand, the food is delicious (especially the black pepper cheesecake and the henriette of duck), and most things are ¥400. Unfortunately they don't open until 11 a.m. so no good for breakfast. With regard to our room, 406, there were a couple of things that were a bit rough, like the patches on the wall, wobbly headboard and extractor fan which was held in place by sticky tape but the room was clean, water hot and bed/pillows were comfortable. In short, I think it was reasonable value for the price paid and we would stay again.
Report this review
Charles Y. Solo travelers United States of America, April 19, 2016
good value
6.3
Location is good. Just a short walk to the train station. Plenty of restaurants, convenience stores and shopping nearby. Amazingly quiet considering how close it is to the train lines.
Report this review
Krystie Y. Solo travelers Hong Kong, April 19, 2016
Great location
6
Easy access to train station, minutes away from Shinjuku. Single room is spacious compared to other hotels in Tokyo. Will definitely go back again.
Report this review
Tsai-Yu W. Families with young children Taiwan, April 11, 2016
People there are kind
4.3
Space is too small and not suitable for baby
Report this review
Sharon A. Families with young children Philippines, April 11, 2016
#HoteIImpossible
3.7
Staffs are friendly. Location wise, easy access to the train station. Room is a bit small. They don't have room service to clean the room everyday. Room is not that clean, you can see dust everywhere. It's not recommended for Families with young children.
Report this review
Jiyoung C. Solo travelers South Korea, April 7, 2016
I was protected from wind, rain and robbery while
4.3
Near the JR station although it is deep inside a long alley.
Report this review
Tarryn E. Couples Australia, April 2, 2016
Bathroom smelt a little
5.3
Don't get me wrong the place was good. Not to far from the station and near a street that had food and stalls on it and the staff were really nice and helpful. Only thing we had a problem with was our bathroom was a bit smelly. Also if you have a tall partner probably not the best place to stay, my partner is 6ft4 tall and he couldn't fit in the shower properly.
Report this review
Mun Y. Couples Malaysia, March 31, 2016
Good location & comfortable bed =)
4.7
Easy access and consider short walking distance from Shin-okubo station. Although the room is small but the bed is good! good pillow! have nice sleep over for the pass 4 days
Report this review
Mee Y. Groups Malaysia, March 26, 2016
Good location but not clean

Easy access from both Shin-Okubo & walking distance from Okubo station, friendly reception
6
Good location but lousy house keeping.Haunted bathroom, basin water pipe was leaking.Can't expect much with the money we paid.
Report this review
Jerry L. Couples Malaysia, March 19, 2016
Near Shin-Okubo sta
5
Many restaurants nearby.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 425 reviews Next page
Hotel Empire In Shinjuku TokyoHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - ExteriorHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - ExteriorHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - ExteriorHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - ExteriorHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - EntranceHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - ExteriorHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - ExteriorHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - ExteriorHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - ExteriorHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - ExteriorHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - LobbyHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - LobbyHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - ReceptionHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - ReceptionHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - ReceptionHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - InteriorHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - InteriorHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Guest RoomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - BathroomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - BathroomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - BathroomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - BathroomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - BathroomHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - ViewHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - ViewHotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo - Nearby Transport


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07