My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Encounter Nepal

Ward No 29, Near Lekhnath Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal 20062 (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Budget Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Budget Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Budget Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Standard Twin Bedroom Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Standard King Bedroom Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Standard Twin Bedroom Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe King Bedroom Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Living Area Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe King Bedroom Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Courtyard Restaurant
Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Courtyard Restaurant Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Restaurant Decor Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu -  Restaurant with Garden View Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Restaurant Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Restaurant Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Restaurant Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Customer Service Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Bar Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Bar Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - 24 Hours Reception Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - 24 Hours Reception Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Arranging Tour for guests
Hotel Area: Thamel Number of Rooms: 36
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.8

based on
77 reviews

Value for Money
6.7
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
6.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.0
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (77)
Sort by:
Sandra H. Couples Ireland, April 5, 2014
Okay for a short stay

Location. Wifi
5
It was great that the hotel provided airport pickup. We found that the took ages to check us in. The welcome drink only seemed an excuse to keep us in reception so that they could tell us of the tours they can provide and the accommodation they have in other parts of Nepal. This was very uncomfortable. To put an end to this I asked if our room was ready as we were v tired. Room was ok, bedroom was clean but not so much the bathroom. Wifi was good quality and available in our rooms. Hotel lobby is dark and unwelcoming, so we didn't hang around there. Also the presence of many men (staff presumbly, but they had no uniform?)standing around put us off too. The good thing is that you can walk to Thamel from the hotel. On checkout, staff demanded to know where we were going and which bus company we were taking. They seemed offended that we did not book bus through them
John M. Solo travelers United States of America, March 2, 2014
very helpful staff

the staff
9
stay was most pleasant, with air con/heater in every room, very good water pressure w/HOT water all day...well worth to price!
Michael L. Groups United States of America, February 3, 2014
Great hotel for a budget traveler, worth the price

Very helpful staff, great communal space for meeting people, excellent food in the restaurant
9.7
Our stay here was wonderful, we came back twice! This was a budget hotel, so it's not the hilton, but we got simple pleasures and a basic but nice room. The water was always hot, there was always power for light and usually after 6pm, power for charging electronics. The Wifi was always on 24 hours though. Great rooftop for photos and wonderful communal common space, we met a lot of fellow travelers, and at night they burn a warm fire! The restaurant in the lobby was actually really good, and quite cheap. Great Nepali food for first timers. But the best part was the staff, they we're really friendly and helpful, both in arranging airport pickup/dropoff, making sure we had towels and toilet paper, etc. We even had drinks at night with the manager and he told us wonderful stories about his life in service, including working in the USA and working for the Maldavian King. Really great guy, and he made sure we were taken care of, even kept our belongings until we returned a week later. The rooms were basic but clean and decent water pressure. There were extra blankets in the closet, which was nice, as it was quite chilly at night. And because we were a block off Thamel, it was quieter at night. Location wise, we were close to where the bus dropped us off from Chitwan, walking distance actually. The hotel is located just a block from the very north tip of the Thamel shopping area, so perfect to start and just walk south. We walked to Durbar Square in about 45 mins, stopping to shop along the way, then walked to the Monkey Temple, which took us about 45-60 mins to walk back to the hotel. So location is pretty good if you want to fan out and explore on foot. Overall, great experience, will definitely stay here next time!
Chen H. Families with older children Malaysia, February 1, 2014
superb location

attentive staff, speaking english, good location
7.7
wounderful stay, despite of the small room. attentive staff with high speed of checking in and out. superb location at thamel street, able to shop as much as possible. near to tourism places in kathmandu with prior arrangement from the hotel
Chen H. Families with older children Malaysia, February 1, 2014
good location

attentive staff, can speak english, good location
7.7
wounderful stay, despite of the small room. attentive staff with high speed of checking in and out. superb location at thamel street, able to shop as much as possible. near to tourism places in kathmandu with prior arrangement from the hotel
Judy O. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 5, 2014
You get what you pay for

Excellent fire for tourists to sit around in the terrace bar/ restaurant so it was pleasant and very sociable and easy to meet people
7.3
This is a budget hotel so for 10$ a night you don't get heating in the bedrooms which are cold in December. The old block is quite tatty and dusty like much of the city. The net curtains were filthy and even the blanket was grubby until I asked for a new one and then I was given beautiful white sheets and doublet cover. The staff were very nice and mostly spoke good English. They even ran the generator so that I could dry my hair one evening when the power was off as usual. so although it was quite hard I would recommend this place especially as the terrace restaurant hD good food and a wonderful fire so that tourists could sit together for good and friendly conversation.
Ian C. Couples Australia, January 1, 2014
Convenient to Thamel action

Friendly staff, courtyard garden, airport pick up
6.7
The staff at The Hotel Encounter are friendly and helpful. We were met at the airport and taken to the hotel where we were given a welcome cup of tea. The accommodation was basic and the room was on the noisy side of the hotel. We were offered an upgrade to the quiet side but it was a twin room so was not suitable. The hotel is situated 5 minutes walk from Thamel,it is very convenient for shopping and eating. There is a lovely leafy courtyard where you can sit and read or eat. An ok overnight budget option.
Amy Y. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 18, 2013
Wow...Excellent... Worthy and Affordable...

Friendly staff , Clean, Comfortable and Quiet Room.
9
Affordable in price.. Friendly Staff, the hotel have a big gate that make you secure. Beautiful Garden which you can relax. Restaurant and Bar inside the hotel which operate 24 hours. Although the food in the hotel is kinda of expensive but is delicious.. and yummy as well. Just that you need watch out of the many different taxes that is not included in the price you see in the menu. The hotel managers are really friendly enough. Especially Mr. Dipen Lama, he will provide you more information on tour and sightseeing. A great experience guide he was. I enjoyed the room very much. Comfortable big bed, with big windows in the room which with City View. The room just make me enjoy it and don't feel like going out. The housekeepers are very polite and good in manner, they will come and clean the room every morning without calling them to clean. Service is very good. I would like to stay in Hotel Encounter Nepal if I'm visiting Kathmandu again. I will definitely bring my family along. Thank you for the wonderful service. This hotel provide free 1 way Airport Transfer as well. And most of the staff here speak good English and really make you feel you're home. The best hotel so far.
Yan L. Solo travelers United States of America, November 6, 2013
Comfortable and Convenient

Staff, Location, and Budget
8
I am very happy with my stay. The hotel staff was extremely helpful, and the hotel itself was a nice refuge from the intense Kathmandu streets. I will stay here again when I return to Kathmandu
Norlizah P. Couples Malaysia, October 22, 2013
Not so nice

friendly staff
6.3
The hotel stay was scarred with bad bathroom condition...the hot water was not well functioning. luckily it was only a night stay. the hotel is located near a busy road with shops not so good for tourists shoppers compared to the other side of the area.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - LobbyHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Budget RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Budget RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Budget RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Standard Twin BedroomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Standard King BedroomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Standard Twin BedroomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe King BedroomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Living AreaHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe King Bedroom Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Courtyard RestaurantHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Courtyard RestaurantHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Restaurant DecorHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu -  Restaurant with Garden ViewHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - RestaurantHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - RestaurantHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - RestaurantHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Customer ServiceHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - BarHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - BarHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - 24 Hours ReceptionHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - 24 Hours ReceptionHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Arranging Tour for guestsHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Hotel LobbyHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Hotel LobbyHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - GardenHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Sunny GardenHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - GardenHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Internet LoungeHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Internet and computer zoneHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Swing Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Terrace AreaHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Room BalconyHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - View from roomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - CorridorHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Kathmandu Grill & wine BarHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Kathmandu Grill & wine BarHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Kathmandu View From TerraceHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Kathmandu Grill & Wine BarHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Kathmandu Grill Restaurant & BarHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - CourtyardHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Feed & ReadHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - GardenHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - RecreationHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Outdoor Seating AreaHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Block AHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - ParkingHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - 24 Hours SecurityHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Main EntranceHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Block BHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Hotel Main BuildingHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Hotel Main BuildingHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - ThamelHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - KFC Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Royal Palace Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Pashupatinath Temple Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Swayambhunath StupaHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Boudhanath Stupa Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Kathmandu Durbar Square Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Patan Durbar SquareHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Bhaktapur Durbar Square


AS-AGWEB-3C03