My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Encounter Nepal

Ward No 29, Near Lekhnath Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal 20062 (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Lobby Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Budget Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Budget Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Budget Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Standard Twin Bedroom Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Standard King Bedroom Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Standard Twin Bedroom Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe King Bedroom Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Living Area Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe King Bedroom
Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Courtyard Restaurant Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Courtyard Restaurant Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Restaurant Decor Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu -  Restaurant with Garden View Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Restaurant Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Restaurant Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Restaurant Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Customer Service Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Bar Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Bar Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - 24 Hours Reception Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - 24 Hours Reception
Area: Thamel Number of Rooms: 36
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.7

based on
32 reviews

Value for Money
6.8
Location
7.0
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.3
Room Comfort/Standard
6.9
Food/Dining
6.4
Solo travelers (32)
Sort by:
Titus I. Solo travelers Romania, July 17, 2014
Nice Hotel

Location, Swiftness, Atmosphere
7
The hotel is very well placed just at the entrance to Thamel neighborhood. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately there were some power cuts, but ultimately it's a nation-wide problem, not just this hotel. The wifi was ok and it stays on even when the power is out. The rooms are also a bit more simple and older than in some of the pictures. Still, for the price, the hotel was more than OK.
Nam D. Solo travelers Singapore, May 4, 2014
Average afforable hotel off Thamel

Budget, off Thamel so quieter, nice staffs
6.3
A few things that they need to consider: 1) Internet - although there is wifi, it is not strong enough. It is only strong in the common area 2) The furniture is a bit too worn out. Need new bedsheet/pillow/towel. I can see a lot of stains on them. 3) Food quality is really poor. I ordered two really basic dishes i.e. friend rice and chicken briyani, both come pretty tasteless that i cannot even finish half of it. On the good side: - The hotel is perfectly off Thamel so its less noisy - Staffs are really friendly and nice.
Justyna L. Solo travelers Germany, April 29, 2014
Very good hotel for a good price

Friendly and very sympathetic staff
8
Bent S. Solo travelers Denmark, April 14, 2014
very nice staff

garden staff service
9.7
l have only one the staff is nice and good service
Frank G. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 11, 2014
convenient

garden
7.7
Being harrassed the moment I arrived by tour company was annoying. Avoid the front block of rooms as they front a very noisy road.
John M. Solo travelers United States of America, March 2, 2014
very helpful staff

the staff
9
stay was most pleasant, with air con/heater in every room, very good water pressure w/HOT water all day...well worth to price!
Judy O. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 5, 2014
You get what you pay for

Excellent fire for tourists to sit around in the terrace bar/ restaurant so it was pleasant and very sociable and easy to meet people
7.3
This is a budget hotel so for 10$ a night you don't get heating in the bedrooms which are cold in December. The old block is quite tatty and dusty like much of the city. The net curtains were filthy and even the blanket was grubby until I asked for a new one and then I was given beautiful white sheets and doublet cover. The staff were very nice and mostly spoke good English. They even ran the generator so that I could dry my hair one evening when the power was off as usual. so although it was quite hard I would recommend this place especially as the terrace restaurant hD good food and a wonderful fire so that tourists could sit together for good and friendly conversation.
Amy Y. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 18, 2013
Wow...Excellent... Worthy and Affordable...

Friendly staff , Clean, Comfortable and Quiet Room.
9
Affordable in price.. Friendly Staff, the hotel have a big gate that make you secure. Beautiful Garden which you can relax. Restaurant and Bar inside the hotel which operate 24 hours. Although the food in the hotel is kinda of expensive but is delicious.. and yummy as well. Just that you need watch out of the many different taxes that is not included in the price you see in the menu. The hotel managers are really friendly enough. Especially Mr. Dipen Lama, he will provide you more information on tour and sightseeing. A great experience guide he was. I enjoyed the room very much. Comfortable big bed, with big windows in the room which with City View. The room just make me enjoy it and don't feel like going out. The housekeepers are very polite and good in manner, they will come and clean the room every morning without calling them to clean. Service is very good. I would like to stay in Hotel Encounter Nepal if I'm visiting Kathmandu again. I will definitely bring my family along. Thank you for the wonderful service. This hotel provide free 1 way Airport Transfer as well. And most of the staff here speak good English and really make you feel you're home. The best hotel so far.
Yan L. Solo travelers United States of America, November 6, 2013
Comfortable and Convenient

Staff, Location, and Budget
8
I am very happy with my stay. The hotel staff was extremely helpful, and the hotel itself was a nice refuge from the intense Kathmandu streets. I will stay here again when I return to Kathmandu
Chris M. Solo travelers Australia, September 27, 2013
Great for the price

Cheap, close to shops and restaurants, very helpful
8
Fine except the Wi-Fi never worked in our rooms, and the budget room was extremely noisy. We upgraded at little cost and it was fine, but still no Wi-Fi in room.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Patan Durbar SquareHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - LobbyHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Budget RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Budget RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Budget RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Standard Twin BedroomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Standard King BedroomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Standard Twin BedroomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe King BedroomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Living AreaHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Deluxe King Bedroom Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Courtyard RestaurantHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Courtyard RestaurantHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Restaurant DecorHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu -  Restaurant with Garden ViewHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - RestaurantHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - RestaurantHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - RestaurantHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Customer ServiceHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - BarHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - BarHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - 24 Hours ReceptionHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - 24 Hours ReceptionHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Arranging Tour for guestsHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Hotel LobbyHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Hotel LobbyHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - GardenHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Sunny GardenHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - GardenHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Internet LoungeHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Internet and computer zoneHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Swing Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Terrace AreaHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Room BalconyHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - View from roomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - CorridorHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Kathmandu Grill & wine BarHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Kathmandu Grill & wine BarHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Kathmandu View From TerraceHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Kathmandu Grill & Wine BarHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Kathmandu Grill Restaurant & BarHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - CourtyardHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Feed & ReadHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - GardenHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - RecreationHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Outdoor Seating AreaHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Block AHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - ParkingHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - 24 Hours SecurityHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Main EntranceHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Block BHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Hotel Main BuildingHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Hotel Main BuildingHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - ThamelHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - KFC Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Royal Palace Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Pashupatinath Temple Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Swayambhunath StupaHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Boudhanath Stupa Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Kathmandu Durbar Square Hotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Bhaktapur Durbar SquareHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - RestaurantHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - ExteriorHotel Encounter Nepal Kathmandu - Business Center


AS-AGWEB-3C05