My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Equatorial Shanghai

65 Yanan Road West , JingAn - SHA Exhibition Center, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Equatorial Hotel

Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Exterior Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Exterior Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Exterior Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Lobby Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Interior Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Restaurant Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Restaurant Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Interior Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Restaurant Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Business Center Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Meeting Room Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Restaurant Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Guest Room Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Bathroom Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Guest Room Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Interior
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Guest Room Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Guest Room Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Guest Room Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Ballroom Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Equator Lounge Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Zhonghua Room Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Qing Room Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Emperor Suite - Small Bathroom Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Indoor swimming pool Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Emperor Suite Hotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Fitness Room
Area: JingAn - SHA Exhibition Center Number of Rooms: 507

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
44 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.2
Solo travelers (44)
Sort by:
Anthony S. Solo travelers Canada, June 2, 2014
Excellent value and good location

Comfortable room, friendly staff, central location
9.3
This was my first stay in the Equatorial, but not my last. It was very good value with early booking. The facilities in the hotel were good and it is in the heart of Shanghai. The gym, pool and wifi were complementary and the buffet breakfast was fine.
Elizabeth L. Solo travelers United Kingdom, May 5, 2013
Shopping and relaxation

The location is the best thing about this hotel.
4.7
I have stayed at this hotel many times in the two years i have lived in China. It has slowly declined. I was charged over two hundred pounds in error as my desposit. It should have been 50 sterling. Staff thought it funny and I had to insist on documentation of the cancellation of this fee. Rooms smell musty and carpets are old.Not much choice for breakfast compared to other hotels.
Jiyoung C. Solo travelers South Korea, February 12, 2013
Good value for money

Near the subway. Clean. Fast Check-out
7.7
I had a comfortable stay at the hotel. It would be better if they provided free inroom internet connection. As I used a subway to go the hotel from the airport, I had some difficulty finding the hotel when I got off the train.
David L. Solo travelers France, January 31, 2013
Good hotel but so noisy

Clean, Safe, good location
6.7
Hotel location is quite good, close to everything. Hotel staff is helpful and quite speak enough english. Main problem was the staff making some repairs, was awaken at 09H00 o clock with the sound of the drill in the room next to me. Finally changed, was really too noisy.
Brian N. Solo travelers United States of America, November 18, 2012
Sufficient sleeping hotel

location, comfort, staff
9.3
Used this hotel while visiting a friend for a weekend in Shanghai. Enjoyed the fitness center and spa, staff was friendly, location was good. Didn't use it for much more beyond the gym, to sleep, and to keep my stuff. No reason not to recommend this place.
Daniel D. Solo travelers United States of America, November 18, 2012
Decent hotel

good bed/bedding, good cafe, good breakfast, nothing great
5.7
The rooms are not very nice although the bed/bedding was very comfortable. The bathtub clogged on my first shower (up to my ankles in water). When I went to see about it at the front desk the woman told me "an engineer" would fix it. I should have told them I needed a different room, rather than asking, but it seemed to be taken care of at the time. It wasn't fixed and when checking out the hotel staff cared much less about the complaint then the last pretended to when I was staying another night. This may be an isolated event but it does show the staff are incompetent.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Jing'an Temple is 5 minute walk
Arthur G. Solo travelers United States of America, November 17, 2012
Great Place

Location, Facilities, and Staff
9.7
The staff were great. Everyone was professional and courteous. This place is my favorite for the price. The Shanghai International Club access is another great benefit.
Nightlife Tip: Velvet is a five minute walk from here. Additionally the Line 2 is only 1.5 blocks away and the hotel has easy taxi access.
Arthur G. Solo travelers United States of America, November 10, 2012
I love this place

Location, Location, Location and the access to the Shanghai International Club
9.3
This place is great, but the only downside I have with it is that internet access is $18.00 a day.
Restaurant Tip: Many places to eat in the neighborhood.
Jimmy T. Solo travelers Australia, October 5, 2012
Great hotel service

Close to JingAn temple railway station
7.3
Checking-in wasn't a great experience as the staff member was taking an extremely long time, and was on the phone helping someone else while trying to check me in. Took her 5 minutes to find my China visa in my passport when she could have just asked (as i had no idea what she was looking for). Other than that the hotel service was great, the view was amazing, and its a short walk to the subway. nothing else close by just the subway.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: figure out where JingAn station is and learn how to use the subway, it's very convenient and will save a lot of money
Tan J. Solo travelers Singapore, September 16, 2012
Great Location & Convenience

Clean room
8.7
I stay in this hotel on my trip to shanghai and enjoy the great convenience it offer. Although it is not a new hotel, but the room is still in good condition.
Restaurant Tip: There are a lot restaurant new the hotel around Jing Ann Shi.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Equatorial Shanghai ShanghaiHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - ExteriorHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - ExteriorHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - ExteriorHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - LobbyHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - InteriorHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - RestaurantHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - RestaurantHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - InteriorHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - RestaurantHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Business CenterHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Meeting RoomHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - RestaurantHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Guest RoomHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - BathroomHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Guest RoomHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - InteriorHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Guest RoomHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Guest RoomHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Guest RoomHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - BallroomHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Equator LoungeHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Zhonghua RoomHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Qing RoomHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Emperor Suite - Small BathroomHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Indoor swimming poolHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Emperor SuiteHotel Equatorial Shanghai Shanghai - Fitness Room


AS-AGWEB-3B04