My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Excelsior

Near Thamel Marg, Narshing Camp, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal 9432 (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Standard Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Standard Extension Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Standard Extension Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Deluxe Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Room Facilities Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Reception Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Lobby Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Rooftop Restaurant Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Khamsang Restaurant
Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Rooftop Garden Restaurant Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Khamsang Bar Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Bar Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Rooftop Restaurant Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Main Building Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - View Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Guest Room Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Reception Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Restaurant
Hotel Area: Thamel Number of Rooms: 48
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.5

based on
21 reviews

Value for Money
5.7
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
6.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.2
Room Comfort/Standard
6.5
Food/Dining
5.5
All reviews (21)
Sort by:
Karine J. Solo travelers Canada, November 5, 2013
very dissapointing, has gone downhill.

location locatio location
3.7
I stayed there four years ago and it was cleaner at that time. Four years ago they said the lift would be working in an hour. Four years later they said the lift would be working in an hour!? The location is all this hotel has to recommend it.
Anita P. Couples Australia, November 4, 2013
pretty standard for a Kathmandu Hotel

Nepalese breakfast, hotel pickup, location
7.3
David M. Solo travelers Australia, June 19, 2013
extension accomodation was disgusting

i was upgraded to main hotel which was very old, hot water special times only, tv very old, bathroom very tired
4.7
i returned to this hotel after a trip to pokhara. they offered me a room at double rate I would not return to this hotel again
Joanne C. Families with older children Singapore, November 27, 2012
Great location with bright,clena rooms but noisy

It is in Thamel, one of the side streets which is safe , bright centrally located
8.3
It met my expectations of a 3-star hotel. Though a little dated, it is ok because most developing countries are like that. Clean room, clean linen and sheets. Was given a bigger room but it faces the front. As such it was very noisy till about 11.30pm. My daughter stayed in a smaller but bright room towards the rear. It was so much quieter. Good many cable tv channels. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was acceptable though I ate only for a day, because i brought some much cereals and other foods myself. Once downstairs, I can get pre-paid phone cards, ATM, money changer, shops, etc. Supermarket is just round the corner and well-stocked. It is my first time in Kathmandu, so was a little wary about food. Literally packed my whole larder ! They have an electric kettle for us to boil water. Air-cond / heater was good. At least no power outage at night. Power outage is very common in Kathmandu. Oh hot water and water pressure. Very good. Noteworthy : I was given a bigger room towards the rear; but because the shower head was faulty, they changed my room immediately. Good service. WiFi is so cheap - literally free. Rs 60 per day ; that's less then a USD$1 per day . Working all the time and at good speed for usual emails, FB, What's app, viber, etc
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Oh I booked personalised tour with Himalayanrock. The tour office is just round the corner in Thamel. Very good service. They are reliable. I found out later that their office is in the same building as the nepal investment bank. So Himalayan rock must be very established. Friendly, knowlegeable tour guide and good driver. Will sue them again when I go to Pokhara for Christmas with my family
Young B. Solo travelers South Korea, October 9, 2012
Very convenient but high price for the facility

Good place
7
This hotel is located in the center of Thamel, Kathumandu. It is very convenient to come in and go out anytime. It is surounded gift shops and restaurants. Especially two big convenient stores are a few meters away which sell everything.
Georgina E. Solo travelers Australia, July 10, 2012
Nice, clean, great staff

Good location, great english spoken, clean, consistent electricty+hot water, good breakfast
7.7
In the heart of Thamel, so a bit hectic and noisy (my room must've been facing some bars because Nepalese music would blast through every night till midnight)- but if you want to be in Thamel, the location is perfect & convenient. The staff speak very good English, and are helpful. It is clean, although not luxurious by any stretch. I was staying in a 'Deluxe' room, but no signs of luxury anywhere. Maybe it was the TV. I wouldn't recommend a deluxe room though, it definitely was not worth it. Great muesli, fruit & curd for breakfast (among other things). Great wifi in rooms.
Shopping Tip: Very good supermarket on the corner of the adjacent main street, although watch out for the begging kids. They'll ask you for food, but then will sell it back to the supermarket and either give the money to their 'pimp', or use it to buy glue which they sniff. Really sad to see. Go to Green's Organic cafe (2mins away). Delicious, fresh, organic food! And they wash their fruit & veggies in mineral water, so you can have salads! Get a massage at 'Kathmandu ******' (I can't remember the name, but look it up as it was very professional and good!).
Liwen W. Couples China, June 16, 2012
The hotel is just around average level

The location is in Tahmel
4
The room is really small and the bedding is smelly, not as clean as expected. And this is only named as excelsior, actually is not the worldwide chained hotel. Below expectation.
John M. Solo travelers United States of America, April 14, 2012
reasonable trekker hotel, great staff, helpful

great staff and centrally located
6.7
the excelsior hotel is a great traveler hotel. not real fancy by any means, but clean, and the staff are very freindly with a good sense of humor. this is my second time staying there. they are located in the heart of the thamel district. this area has become very busy and noisy in recent years. if you want a quiet place this is probably not it. great for a short stay to experience the "travelers scene" in kathmandu. wishing them all the very best.
Herry R. Solo travelers Indonesia, April 5, 2012
great location with decent price

location.
6.7
This is an okay hotel. Room was never cleaned throughout my 6 nights there. Location is fantastic. Hot water sometimes didn't work.It's a great hotel for solo traveler and those who like to shop.
Georges A. Solo travelers Lebanon, November 8, 2011
great location

cleanliness
6.7
very good location in the middle of Thamel where all the action in Kathmandu (restaurants, transportation, nightlife, temples...)the room was very clean but a bit noisy. helpful staff..

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - StandardHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - DeluxeHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - DeluxeHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - DeluxeHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Standard ExtensionHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Standard ExtensionHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - DeluxeHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - DeluxeHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Room FacilitiesHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - ReceptionHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - LobbyHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Rooftop RestaurantHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Khamsang RestaurantHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Rooftop Garden RestaurantHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Khamsang BarHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - BarHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Rooftop RestaurantHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Main BuildingHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - ViewHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Guest RoomHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - ReceptionHotel Excelsior Kathmandu - Restaurant


AS-AGWEB-3C02