arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 986 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 986 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Staff Performance 8.6
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 7.6

9.7 Elizabeth B.
Singapore
December 10, 2014
Amazing view from the bathroom
Bathroom, room and service
Excellent service by the good folks at Fort Canning Hotel. Love the hotel room, so cosy and comfortable. We loved the pool too.

7.3 Keng C.
Singapore
December 10, 2014
Staycation Dec 2014
Food, Room and Staff service.
It's was overall a not bad place. They still have rooms for improvement, breakfast timing maybe able to extend till 11am, room rates etc.

8 Elaine L.
Malaysia
December 09, 2014
Privacy in the middle of the city
Privacy, central location, attentive service
Very peaceful and tranquil. Relaxing.

8.3 Elaine L.
Malaysia
December 09, 2014
Quiet and private yet centrally located
Private, central location, attentive service

7.7 Anantharaja S.
Singapore
November 30, 2014
My review
Food, room and staff
Comfortable and much needed

9 Heli V.
Finland
November 29, 2014
Great place to relax
Peacefull and very beautifull surroundings, friedly personnel and good possibilities to relax in the gym and pools
We really enjoyed with my sister! The only thing to improve was coffee at breakfast. The coffee we could make in the room was much better than the coffee served for breakfast.

5.3 Alan P.
United Kingdom
November 24, 2014
Not recommended
-
This hotel seems to cater mainly to the events market rather than functioning as a normal hotel. The rooms look good but the air conditioning is noisy and seems to lack dehumidifiers; the air was always damp. Internet wifi speed was unusable. They brought a router to the room which then fixed the problem. Breakfast was not included and for $25 a much better selection should be provided. The breakfast room was like a fridge, far too cold. Hotel's location means they need to call for a cab every time you require one. Then took about 15 mins for one to appear.

5 michael G.
United Kingdom
November 04, 2014
Fort Canning Hotel stay
Sympathetic customer service officer (Abigail). Location amidst attractive historical site (Fort Canning park). Some nice friendly staff at concierge and restaurant.
Disappointing. Attention to detail lacking - small but annoying things for this class of hotel in Singapore. Booked via internet search for 5 star hotels as we were in Singapore for medical reasons and needed a nice quiet high quality hotel for 6 days. Arrived 10pm, as informed when booking, to a very curt welcome for no obvious reason. Then discovered it was the start of a huge 2 day conference with noise, light, crowds. Studio room not nice, depressing anteroom, a little shabby and very strange layout. No bedside lamps. Step down into bath area in middle of room easy to trip on. Baggage guy just dropped the bags inside the door, took his tip and ran. Blinds ineffective plus a skylight which wasn't curtained so when it became light sleep was impossible. It was very late so we stayed and planned to find another hotel next day. Explained this amicably to Customer Service officer Abigail next morning, she was very sympathetic and kindly offered us a suite at no extra cost. As we had a full day of hospital appointments it was easier to stay and We ended up staying the full 6 nights. On reflection would have been better finding elsewhere. Taxis not always easy to find and a bit isolated from restaurants, etc. Restaurant ambience not great, food moderate, chairs shabby, although 2 lovely older waiting staff helped bring a smile. All in all a lovely old building which has been converted, not a bad hotel, but just doesn't have the 5 star quality we expected.

9 Cheryl L.
Singapore
November 03, 2014
Fantastic
Peaceful

7.7 Andy C.
Singapore
November 02, 2014
Over Hype
Location, Ambience and Park
Near Fort Canning Park but rooms are a little over price and hotel over-hyped.