or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Ganesh Himal

Gangalal Marga, P.O.Box: 12547, Chhetrapati, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Standard Room Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Bathroom Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Bathroom Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Super Deluxe Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Bathroom Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Suite Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Suite Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Bathroom Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Reception
Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Lobby Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Rooftop Restaurant Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Balcony Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Business Centre Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Business Centre Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Business Centre Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Hotel Interior Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Hotel Interior Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Rooftop Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Garden Restaurant Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Hotel Exterior Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Hotel Entrance
Area: Thamel Number of Rooms: 40
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
22 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.5
Solo travelers (22)
Sort by:
Paul R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 26, 2014
A peaceful retreat in a noisy city!

Garden, and roof terrace with views of monkey temple.
8
This is a great hotel if you can afford a bit more than the average backpacker options. There's a beautiful garden which makes for a peaceful haven in noisy, dusty Katmandhu - only spoiled by the sound of generators during Ktm's many power cuts. My deluxe room was nicely furnished with a comfortable bed and hot shower which never let me down. I felt it was good value at just over £20 although some standard rooms were similar if you stay in the main building - which you should try to do, coz it's like a totally different and much superior hotel! PS There's a great little local restaurant up on the main road a few metres from the junction, called Peacock something or other. Try the paneer pakoda! North field Cafe for good, slightly dearer food and local live music. It's walking distance to the best sights I found in this over-hyped city: Derber Square and Garden of Dreams.
Cornelius L. Solo travelers Germany, April 9, 2014
Centrally located clean and comfortable

Friendly and attentive staff, clean and comfortable rooms
8.7
Stayed here twice and can definetely recommend the hotel. Advantage is that is very central but not right in the middle of sometimes tiring Thamel.
Ronald M. Solo travelers United States of America, April 8, 2014
Fine Budget Option

1. Lots of hot water. 2. Big room 3. Friendly people.
6.3
We stayed recently at this hotel for 3 nights. It's a fine budget option for Kathmandu with a friendly and helpful staff, free airport pickup (they met us at the airport), nice garden settings and good food, especially for breakfast. Our room was also large, clean and airy. Free internet was also available and the hotel was the only one in Nepal that we stayed at that always seemed to have electricity. The only disadvantage is that the hotel location is somewhat ratty and there is a potholed, dirt road leading to the hotel which is located between Durbar Square and Thamel (about R 200 taxi ride from both) in an unappealing area. Most hotels in Nepal are noisy by Western standards and this one has lots of dog noise in particular at nighttime.
Daniel L. Solo travelers United States of America, February 2, 2014
Everything was very good!

The staff, the location, the food
10
My stay was excellent! I felt the staff was well informed on what to see and where to go while visiting Kathmandu and the hotel service was great!
Peck H. Solo travelers Singapore, February 1, 2014
Nice and quiet, spacious , helpful staffs

good selection of breakfast, nice garden, spacious shared balcony
8.3
the stay at Hotel Ganesh Himal was very pleasant.. Basic things like cleanliness of the room and hot water were available.. Nice breakfast and friendly staffs. Love the peacefulness of the hotel even though itbis situated near the crazy busy Thamel . The garden and the balcony on every food is a plus point. It is value for money and I definitely recommend this place .
Chalermsak S. Solo travelers Thailand, December 25, 2013
it's ok budget hotel

close to main attraction
6
P Y. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 13, 2013
Very Dsiappointed

Clean rooms, nice garden and conveniently located
5
Booked this hotel as it is the Top Choice budget hotel with free airport pickup. Don't understand how it can be. Was promised airport pickup and there was none. A bit distressing when you arrive at 11 pm in a dimly-lit and very basic airport, even for a seasoned traveler as you don't want to haggle with the taxi drivers at that late hours. The ATM room was closed and was forced to exchange money at very bad rates so that I can pay for the taxi. The hotel did pay for the taxi eventually but it is a broken promise. You will be woken up everyday around 5 am when the staff start banging loudly on something. After 2 nights, I was hoping that it was an abnormality and extended for another 2 nights. It was a mistake. The same rude awakening continued. The Wifi signal on the first floor where I stayed was iffy. Working power sockets were few. I have to say the room was clean and the hotel does have a nice garden. It was also reasonably conveniently located. I stayed in 2 other hotels which are much better at just a little higher rates. I will not stay here again.
Bent S. Solo travelers Denmark, November 5, 2013
good

Nice room, position in town and the garden
7.3
Heidrun S. Solo travelers Austria, November 1, 2013
we had a great time in kathmandu and the hotel

location, quiet, nice garden
9
We were very satisfied with the room, the hot shower, the nice garden and balconies, good breakfast, nice stuff, free wifi, free airport pick-up - all in all we picked the perfect hotel for our needs.It's close to the city centre, to restaurants, the Durbar square and so on, but it's placed in a quiet road.
Ashley O. Solo travelers Canada, July 7, 2013
very comfortable and worth the money

garden, internet, friendly staff
8.3
I had an awesome stay and am planning on returning after my visit to Pokhara.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - SuiteHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Standard RoomHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - BathroomHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Deluxe RoomHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - BathroomHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Super DeluxeHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Super DeluxeHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Super DeluxeHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - BathroomHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Suite Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - SuiteHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - BathroomHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - ReceptionHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - LobbyHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Rooftop RestaurantHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - BalconyHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Business CentreHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Business Centre Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Business CentreHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Hotel InteriorHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Hotel InteriorHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - RooftopHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Garden RestaurantHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Hotel EntranceHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - ParkingHotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Hotel Exterior Hotel Ganesh Himal Kathmandu - Hotel Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3C07