Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Grand United Chinatown

621,Mahabandoola Road (Corner of Bo Ywe Street), Latha Township, Downtown Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Hotel Grand United
Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - View Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Reception Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Front Entrance Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Balcony/Terrace Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Exterior Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - View Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Shwedagon Pagoda View From Penthouse Suite Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Panoramic City View Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Hallway Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Hallway Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Hallway Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Superior Double Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Superior with Queen Bed Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Deluxe Double Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Deluxe Double or Twin with City / Street View Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Deluxe Double or Twin with City/Street View
Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Deluxe Double Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Penthouse Suite (Shwedagon Pagoda View) Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Penthouse Suite (Shwedagon Pagoda View) Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Penthouse Suite (Queen or King Bed) Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - International Buffet Breakfast (Burmese Cuisine) Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - International Buffet Breakfast (Western Cuisine) Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - International Buffet Breakfast (Asian Cuisine) Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - International Buffet Breakfast at Penthouse Restaurant Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - International Buffet (Healthy Choices & Sweets) Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Penthouse Restaurant
Area: Downtown Yangon Number of Rooms: 26
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
302 reviews

Value for Money
7.1
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (302)
Sort by:
David M. Business travelers United Kingdom, May 9, 2015
Hotel Grand United in downtown Yangon

location, breakfast, WiFi
8
The initial impression standing in front of the hotel is uh-oh what I have I booked? The single lift to the first floor is uninspiring. Check in though is fast and painless. The corridor is dark and dingy to the room. The room itself is small and tending to shabby. The shower curtain in the compact bathroom is a little on the dirty side. The view from the window of the old grotty buildings of downtown is foreboding. However after the leessthan inspiring first impressions the place quickly grows on you. The market teems with food And people. Steady electricity and WiFi good tv and an excellent breakfast fully make up for the obvious downsides described. Nearby 19th street provides a sense assaulting fun and cheap evening dinner. It's a great location and very good value for money.
Terry N. Groups Malaysia, May 5, 2015
Good location

relatively generous breakfast portions, staff and location
7
This is not the strand or shangri-la. Having said that, the staff were efficient, allowed us early check in as we had arrived early, good breakfast portions and good location being in Chinatown and bustling with activity all day. The hotel also offered us a half day rate of 40USD so that we could rest and shower before our evening flight. One negative is the hotel is undergoing some renovation now and unfortunately the eardrum piercing sound of drilling could be heard sporadically during the day.
Paloma C. Groups Spain, May 4, 2015
It is a guest house. Dirty and so noisy.

the location is good
3
Will never recommend this hotel to anyone. This has not even hotel category.
Jennifer F. Couples Malaysia, May 1, 2015
Ok stay

Friendly staff, comfy bed, clean room, walking distance to night chinatown
7.3
Was ok, cn understand they r renovating their hotel fora better hotel environment ..delicious mohinga breakfast. Only thing i cannot stand is, its very very noisy from the honks and street vehicles from 6am-8pm. Means i wokeup early and no way to sleep back due to the noise.staff was very helpful and good. Since it was a one night only stay, i would recommend this hotel..and nightlife, very very near to the Chinatown attraction with BBQ and beers.Must go there.
Marley D. Solo travelers Thailand, April 13, 2015
Great location, but overpriced

Location
6
I stayed here for a few nights after seeing Mandalay and Bagan. I was hoping to enjoy this place, but alas, the pictures are a bit deceptive. I went for the more expensive room, but it seemed very small and the beds were very close together. The air-con blew right on our heads, giving my traveling companion a bit of a cold. The furniture and walls were a bit faded and did not totally look like the room in the pictures. We were at first given room 601 on the corner of the 6th floor but it reeked of cigarettes. It was obvious that other people were smoking on the floor, and perhaps in our room previously. Also, there were a bunch of little bugs in the bathroom and a dirty rag left behind the door. Just beware that if you request a non-smoking room, it may still be on a smoking floor! Luckily, we spoke to reception and they were able to move us down to 401. Our new room was ok, but definitely louder as we were closer to the street. We were a bit surprised to find the bed linen a bit worn and not as clean as one would expect. Breakfast was ok, but no one in the restaurant spoke English, which was a bit of a problem as I have a food allergy. The only people to speak English were the receptionists and guys at the door. The location was good, especially to see some of the old colonial buildings and Sule pagoda. We were very close to 19th street where you can get pretty much any type of food at a very cheap price. If you're traveling alone, this place would be ok, but I wouldn't recommend for families as the rooms are cramped and outside the hotel it is a bit hectic and the walls are not very thick, nor are the windows soundproof!
Ching L. Solo travelers Australia, April 8, 2015
good location

breakfast, location and supplies of drinking water
7.7
Convenient
Thamilini G. Couples Australia, April 6, 2015
Great hotel and value for money

Location, Room Cleanliness, Price/Value for Money
9
Really great hotel. I come to Yangon often and this was definitely value for money. Hard to find something at this price in downtown that is not run down The room is small but very simple and clean. Wasnt run down at all. The hot water was very good. No complaints. There was good selection at breakfast and the staff were very efficient and helpful. From when we entered the hotel to our room was only 5 minutes. Very good.
John C. Business travelers Thailand, April 3, 2015
Excellent breakfast and clean

Great staff. Fantastic breakfast. Convenient location.
9.3
Great for Yangoon. Expensive city for accommodation this is good value.
Edmund S. Solo travelers United States of America, April 3, 2015
NIce hotel for a layover in Yagoon

Staff, clean and in Chinatown
7.3
The staff was great and booking with Agoda was easy. Nice hotel for a short say in Yangon.
Christine V. Couples Philippines, March 30, 2015
Nice hotel staff,

Service
5.7
We stayed for a night here. We arrived very early morning and was grateful that they accommodated us. We were even offered two-day breakfast and it was great though not many choices available. The location is ok though i wont recommend if you're travelling with children as the surrounding tends to be dirty and chaotic. But overall the staff performance is quite really good!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Grand United Chinatown YangonHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - ViewHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - ReceptionHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Front EntranceHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Balcony/TerraceHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - ExteriorHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - ViewHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Shwedagon Pagoda View From Penthouse SuiteHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Panoramic City ViewHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - HallwayHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - HallwayHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - HallwayHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Superior DoubleHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Superior with Queen BedHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Deluxe DoubleHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Deluxe Double or Twin with City / Street ViewHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Deluxe Double or Twin with City/Street ViewHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Deluxe DoubleHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Penthouse Suite (Shwedagon Pagoda View)Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Penthouse Suite (Shwedagon Pagoda View)Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Penthouse Suite (Queen or King Bed)Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - International Buffet Breakfast (Burmese Cuisine)Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - International Buffet Breakfast (Western Cuisine)Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - International Buffet Breakfast (Asian Cuisine)Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - International Buffet Breakfast at Penthouse RestaurantHotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - International Buffet (Healthy Choices & Sweets)Hotel Grand United Chinatown Yangon - Penthouse Restaurant


AS-AGWEB-3A07