arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 4729 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4729 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.7

Daniel C.
United Kingdom
May 12, 2013
KL has MUCH better hotels! This is not a good choi
Breakfast, lobby, made us appreciate how good OTHER KL hotels are!
My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights upon our arrival to KL from the UK. We were not at all impressed and would recommend others to stay at the Berjaya Times Square instead (where we stayed before flying back home) - better value,nicer hotel in every aspect. What let's the Istana down? First off it IS DOES NOT offer five star accomodation-if you go expecting 3 star you won't be disappointed but at five star prices we expected more. Standard rooms are tired and worn- stains and scratches on the furniture and filthy threadbare carpets on the floors above reception. We had to request a safe for our room ( the maintenance guy was actually the most pleasant and obliging staff member we came across). No luxury touches, only one bathrobe and a very basic pool - fine if you just want to cool down or don't plan to use it, and the bathrobe point may seem minor,but again, distinctly a 3 star experience in our view. Reception staff did not generally appear concerned about customer satisfaction when we requested to change rooms due to noise coming from the AC vent(not the AC itself) and seemed more keen to get you to go away rather than do as you ask. Good points in our view: pleasant lobby with friendly greeting staff,great varied breakfast but stay somewhere else.

UPHAR G.
India
May 12, 2013
Cozy and Comfortable..enjoyed the stay
restaurants, friendly staff, shopping areas around

Iqmal D.
Malaysia
May 12, 2013
Not bad.
Strategic place, nice environment and relaxing at night.

warisa K.
Thailand
May 11, 2013
attentive staff, clean big room
big room, clean, near to monorail
My stay here only 1 night. Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful, clean and big room. I like that its close to monorail and if you like walking..This is a good area to stay and walk to Suria or bukit bintang area.

RAFIZI R.
Malaysia
May 10, 2013
Nice lobby,good attentive from staff,old deco & tv
food,lobby,staff
Stay was good but not sattisfied with rooms(deluxe) whereas still using old fashioned furniture.the ceiling was dirty(water marks) and still using bulky tv with no variety of channels.This was make me upset because nowadays where got 5 star with a bulky tv and dirty ceiling.Of course when u want to fall asleep your eyes will straight away to ceiling and it gave me feels like stay in 2 or 3 star hotels.please take note and action accordingly

Vivi L.
Malaysia
May 10, 2013
satisfied with the stay
location, large room, convenient
Well, it is described as 5 stars hotel. I am quite satisfied with the price i paid with the good location of the ho The hotel is very centrally located, 5 mins walk to Pavillion and other shopping spot. For those who want to enjoy shopping in bukit bintang area i would recommend this hotel. We also walk to twin tower at night with 10mins walk. the hotel room is large. It provide complimentary car park so it is a good choice for those travellers with own transport.Recommended!

Shahanas A.
Singapore
May 09, 2013
Enjoyable
Location - easy accessability to local transportation, good shopping and dining.

SUPPIAH R.
Singapore
May 08, 2013
pleasant stay
staff...room. and food

Anthony W.
Australia
May 08, 2013
Good value but not luxury.
Comfortable guest room, pool and garden area and the buildings design.

Lip K.
Malaysia
May 07, 2013
It's way below "FIVE STAR"
Location,Location,Location
I checked in Hotel Istana on 26/04 and stayed for 2 nights. It was an unhappy experience for me. Upon check in, I was told that I was given two single beds as I requested for 1 big bed while I booked. Therefore, after half hour of argument at the check-in counter, I was then given a room with big size bed (even though I was told there is only room with 2 single beds left initially). After check in to the delux room, I realsie the room didn't come with safety box plus the air-con was not even functioning. After complaint, I was told by the staff that security box will only be provide upon request ( I thought it was mention in Agoda.com, that it is included). Finally, they give me a room at club floor, which is smaller in size but with the similar facilities . However, I do not think that for the money that I paid worth the service I had with Hotel Istana. (Even is so called ‘ Five Star’ hotel) I think that there is a lot of improvement require for the hotel to reach the ‘ 5 star’ status. Besides, I had a bad experience while having my breakfast at the restaurant. I was given a seat at the pool side. After taken my food from the bar, I realised that my seat was taken by another in-house guest while I return to the seat allocated. I request the staff to assist, but nothing was done, therefore, I had to look for another seat inside the restaurant. It doesn’t end here, while I having my meals, the water dripped from the ceiling on top where I was sitting. It was quite a bad day for me to start with.