arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 4721 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4721 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.7

6.7 Kiat L.
Singapore
January 21, 2013
Nice well kept big rooms, but spartan
Well maintained & great location
First time staying at Istana KL & liked it due to good location, just across from Pavilion shopping centre. All was great & according to the hotel's own words - "awesome", till check out time. At 8am, how is it possible that 5 persons were manning the check-in area & only 2 were for check-out cashier? Took longer than usual for me to check out as there were other guests checking out then, but it makes you think why the personnel deployment is so bad understanding that usually hotels check people in at 12noon onwards & that people check-out usually in the mornings before 12noon? So much for 5 stars...

6.7 poay O.
Malaysia
January 21, 2013
great location but staff not too friendly
room rates very reasonable
I am a regular at this hotel which is in a great location for doing business in KL due to its proximity to a monorail station and walking distance to KLCC and the Bukit Bintang shopping area. Service has always been acceptable although some of the reception staff are not up to the standard of efficiency and friendliness of many other business hotels. In my most recent visit, I was really frustrated when my car parking ticket was chopped but could not be accepted by the machine when I tried to drive out. I went back to the reception only to be told to try again using the intercom at the exit machine which I did but got rejected again. I soon found out that I had to insert my ticket at the vending machine for validation before the machine can accept it. Now, why didn't anyone at the reception tell me that instead of sending me around in circles? This just reflects that the staff that day were not trained to understand even the car parking system which I thought is so fundamental and hopefully, the management can fix this shortcoming immediately. Other than this annoying experience, I am satisfied with the hotel in general and will consider to stay again in the future.

9 Ranga D.
Australia
January 20, 2013
Great location and excellent service
Location, Service, Comfort
Nice hotel with big comfortable rooms. The hotel itself is old so everything is slightly dated, but the location is excellent and the customer service is first class. Great price too for what you get.

8.3 Nor S.
Malaysia
January 20, 2013
Great hotel, near to shopping complex
Walking distance to Pavillion
Good hotel, easy to find restaurants nearby. Walking distance to the Pavillion the biggest and modern shopping complex. Near to lrt transport and other public transport. Reccommended for traveller who likes to shop.

2.3 Uraiporn K.
Thailand
January 18, 2013
Stay somewhere else
location
TRunning water in the toilet and it did not flush properly. We called the guest service but they ignored us. The bath tub was not clear as there was someone's hair in it. The front desk officers were hopeless. As we initially booked two nights and needed to stay to catch our late flight at 10pm, they would charge more expensive than whole day price for the half day stay rate at the hotel. The pool looked ok but poor organised. If you want to swim and go to sauna later, you have to walk all the way around to get the lift to the second level and then down to underground floor. I will not return to this hotel. There are many nice hotels with better service than this one for the amount that we paid.

8.7 Wan M.
Malaysia
January 18, 2013
A very nice hotel
Great location to access to shopping centre
I really admire the hotel location and design... Most of the hotel staff are very friendly. Easy to get assistance... They greet us with their sweetest smile... I will come back to stay in Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur

9.3 Teresa H.
Malaysia
January 17, 2013
Ideal Location, spacious rooms, excellent servic
Location, spacious rooms, friendly staff
It was a great experience for my family , the staff were well trained, efficient & well mannered.The room was spacious, clean & well maintained & the best thing was the ideal location for us as it was within walking distance to our favourite shopping malls.We hope that in future there would be free wifi connections in all the rooms.We have stayed here for 2 consecutive weekends & we're definitely returning to this hotel as often as we can.

7.7 phillip L.
Malaysia
January 16, 2013
Historical hotel in the heart of town
Good facilities
Wrong choice of words used by staff, instead of asking for a deposit via credit card or via cash for incidentals, they insist on cash.

7.7 Veronica P.
Malaysia
January 16, 2013
Just renovated and looks classic
walking distance to Pavillon Mall !
Hop into the Free shuttle bus bus stop beside hotel entrance and drop by Chinatown.

10 rin S.
Malaysia
January 16, 2013
great hotel
promotion
its a great hotel. come with a delicious food. very friendly staff. and its 5 minute walking distance to pavilion shopping centre, so that i can repeatly went for shopping.