Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 4798 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4798 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.7
Sort by

Eileen L.
Singapore
February 23, 2013
Lovely yet unforgettable experience
the ambience of the hotel is soothing and relaxing
i got to know about hotel istana through friends and agoda website as recommended by family members. when i went in to hotel istana, i could feel the royalty of the hotel. it gives me the feeling of wanting to be there again for my next kl trip. the service was excellent, staff greeted with a smile always.

Rosli A.
Malaysia
February 23, 2013
Great location and great hotel
Location will be the best selling point
Hotel is great. Rooms are sizeable but furnitures are too simple. Walking distance to almost everywhere especially to shopping areas. walking distance to monorail. Front desk are handled by "too young" staffs. Best to have at least few well experience and trained staffs next to them. Not good for Big hotel like Istana.

Neil U.
Canada
February 23, 2013
3 stars, not 5
Good location
Older hotel, quite a bit run down with dirty hall carpets and musty smells. There was a buzzing sound in the room from some central a/c system that was placed in the room. The lobby is nice, but this is not a five star hotel by any means. Pool needed cleaning. Stay somewhere else in KL where you can get a real 5 star hotel for quite cheap.

Loh L.
Malaysia
February 20, 2013
lovely hotel but old
good location near Starhill area.
Pleasant stay but hotel food is too native orientated

Allan M.
Denmark
February 20, 2013
Great location but rooms need serious update
Location
Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Center was build in 1992 and renovated in 2006. However, this is more a 4 than a 5-star hotel and both rooms and facilities does not comply with expectations. For instance the hotel does not provide Wi-Fi access.

ISHIYAMA H.
Japan
February 19, 2013
Good hotel with friendly staff
good location
Istana Hotel has a very good location.3 minutes walk to monorail. 5-10 minutes walk to big shopping centre that u can shop and eat. it is convenient but not noisy. As the name Istana means palace,the hotel has real atmosphere. though it is not a new hotel but inside is neat and tidy. the staff are helpful and friendly too. we have a very pleasant stay at Hotel Istana .

Arlene M.
Philippines
February 19, 2013
Great location, accommodating staff
great location near shopping centers
Rooms are big, accommodating staff, great location; walking distance to shopping malls, to Menara KL tower, Petronas towers. Our room is big, has clean and big toilet and bath, also have big cabinets and has enough hangers. We also have a great view of the Petronas towers. But they don't have wifi in their rooms and no in room safe.

Hartwig Z.
Austria
February 19, 2013
modern hotel
big rooms
Really great location. Very modern rooms with a lot of extras. At the lobby I had to wait some time to get served - but friendly staff. The swimming pool is a good chance for relaxation. The hotel offers the towels. Also drinking water for free you can have. All in all I had a very good time inside this hotel

abdullatif A.
Malaysia
February 18, 2013
Great hotel with great services
The location between kl cc and bukit bintang, and the room size
Had a wonderfull time in kuala the hotel is so incredible as its so close from all shopping mall, menara kl, klcc, ...

Fathihah M.
Malaysia
February 18, 2013
great location within hot spots
excellent services
hotel is good where your money value. staff provide excellent services, where you can get all you request.