arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 4729 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4729 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.7

Janet S.
Philippines
January 08, 2013
Clean and spacious room
big spacious room; wooden floors (which i prefer over carpeted floors); big twin beds; free wifi
our second time to stay in this hotel and the hotel seems to have undergone refurbishings. the rooms would still have tell tale signs of wear and tear but for the price paid, there is no reason to complain. besides, the room was clean. free wi-fi in the room was a big bonus.

Peter W.
Malaysia
January 08, 2013
A bit old
Close to shopping and entertainment
Showers didn't work and decor and furnishings and fittings are a bit old.

Cecilia S.
Canada
January 08, 2013
Great Service!
The hotel is classic and services is superb
The hotel is very classy and staff are always smiley. Location was not that good as there was nothing but offices around, can't get any food nearby. I asked for a twin room and the beds are so unexpectedly small, it only fits a small person at 5 feet eight at most. It is okay if you would like to take the monorail which is just nextby. Taxi fares are high unless you choose the budget taxi but they are mostly in bad condition.

Nicole T.
Malaysia
January 08, 2013
great location and good service
Have been staying with Hotel Istana on and off ever since I was a little kid. My overall experience with this hotel was very pleasant. Big and clean room with friendly staff.

kok Y.
Malaysia
January 08, 2013
amazing
old school but a touch of today
Good service very fast and efficient friendly warm and welcoming people there speak good English very convenient to the local shopping centers only just a few mins walk away

John D.
Ireland
January 07, 2013
Great location, but service very poor
Location
This is a good hotel locationwise, right next to the pavillion and a 15 min walk to the twin towers - but the servise and standard of room was realy poor - the walls are paper thin you can hear everything going on in the rooms next door and in the corridor, we rang reception 4 times one night complaining about some students who were sitting in the corridor eating MacDonalds at 2am and on the 4th call the security guard came up - to no avail whatsoever, Wi fi was not working atall in our room, we needed to change rooms halfway during our stay due to the noise - very very poor service for the money we spent

Teck T.
Malaysia
January 07, 2013
Good location hotel with great service
Location and service
The hotel looks heritage and the location is great - walking distance to Pavillion shopping mall. The service is fantastic with very helpful staff. Only thing is the carpark seems to be a bit small and for big vehicles should be very careful when in the carpark.

Benjamin K.
Malaysia
January 07, 2013
Spacious rooms with huge bath
Walking distance to Changkat
The hotel was very accomodating. I check in with a group of friends but they arrived earlier and the hotel allowed them to check in without me.

Wu Q.
Singapore
January 06, 2013
Great Biz or Lesisure Hotel
Near to KLCC, near to major shopping malls, great food in Hotel's restaurant
This was my 2nd visit to the Hotel & I will make this Hotel a place to stay whenever I go to KL. The breakfast at Taman Sari (their Hotel restaurant) was great value, quality. I'm also impressed with the professionalism of their staff. A really great Hotel that lives up to their name.

wei-bin Z.
Sweden
January 06, 2013
an excellent classical hotel
convenient to shopping and restaurants
hotel istana kuala lumpur city center is located near many shopping places. it is not far from the twin towers. the hotel provides excellent services. the room is very clean.customers can also swim and do gym in the hotel. the hotel looks excellent. it is very conveneit to take the train to most parts of the city.