Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 4797 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4797 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.7
Sort by

Ivo L. from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Huge hotel, clean rooms, friendly staff
Nice location to discover KL
nice and modern hotel, good flair, huge reception area. clean rooms, i have got the feeling the rooms were just refurnished, looks good. the staff was very friendly and helpful. close to the golden triangle, you can walk to different shopping malls and tons of restaurants. also just short walk to the petronas towers. all in all a good deal, clean, spacey and big rooms. good value for money…
Reviewed January 23, 2013

kin M. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Great Location with huge rooms
huge rooms, nice power shower
The hotel is very nice, the rooms are very big with a big bathroom. separate shower and bath. But same as other customers commented, is that the bathroom is getting old.. the bathroom grouting was pretty nasty.. old, slightly yellow with mould. after you shower the floor would become wet/flood because the seal on shower door let in out the water. I think the there better rooms on the upper floor, pass the 10+ floor.. but getting there you have to pay the premium or some other special package.. lower floors are the cheaper priced.. But saying that it is good value for money large rooms, quiet and good food around the area..
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Chunmei L. from China
Business travelers
Stayed one night in January 2013
High quality facility
Nice lobby, elegant room style.
It's the first time to book hotel thru Agoda, we were expecting to see our room. When we got there,We saw an Arabic style hotel in front of us. Very exciting to see this nice hotel . Very luxury lobby and room is also elegant. I am very satisfied for it . And it would be better if they could improve their service in future.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Manap Z. from Brunei Darussalam
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
exclusive hotel with goof service
Exclusive looking room
As you enter the hotel, you can smell the scent of wood. it really resemble its name. very good service, large bathroom, very close to pavilion. would recommend this hotel for honeymoon. in addition, agoda gives good rate!
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Sharon L. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Great Location
Simple and nice
the staff are friendly and the room is simple and nice.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Andrew K. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
One of my favourites
Great location for shopping and nightlife
as always i had a lovely stay at the istana hotel. it is close to the great shopping district of bukit bintang and the night life strip of jalan berangan. the staff are always the most friendly and helpful of any hotel i have stayed at in kuala lumpur. i will definitely stay there again and again.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Kiat L. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed one night in January 2013
Nice well kept big rooms, but spartan
Well maintained & great location
First time staying at Istana KL & liked it due to good location, just across from Pavilion shopping centre. All was great & according to the hotel's own words - "awesome", till check out time. At 8am, how is it possible that 5 persons were manning the check-in area & only 2 were for check-out cashier? Took longer than usual for me to check out as there were other guests checking out then, but it makes you think why the personnel deployment is so bad understanding that usually hotels check people in at 12noon onwards & that people check-out usually in the mornings before 12noon? So much for 5 stars...
Reviewed January 21, 2013

poay O. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in January 2013
great location but staff not too friendly
room rates very reasonable
I am a regular at this hotel which is in a great location for doing business in KL due to its proximity to a monorail station and walking distance to KLCC and the Bukit Bintang shopping area. Service has always been acceptable although some of the reception staff are not up to the standard of efficiency and friendliness of many other business hotels. In my most recent visit, I was really frustrated when my car parking ticket was chopped but could not be accepted by the machine when I tried to drive out. I went back to the reception only to be told to try again using the intercom at the exit machine which I did but got rejected again. I soon found out that I had to insert my ticket at the vending machine for validation before the machine can accept it. Now, why didn't anyone at the reception tell me that instead of sending me around in circles? This just reflects that the staff that day were not trained to understand even the car parking system which I thought is so fundamental and hopefully, the management can fix this shortcoming immediately. Other than this annoying experience, I am satisfied with the hotel in general and will consider to stay again in the future.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Ranga D. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2012
Great location and excellent service
Location, Service, Comfort
Nice hotel with big comfortable rooms. The hotel itself is old so everything is slightly dated, but the location is excellent and the customer service is first class. Great price too for what you get.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Nor S. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Great hotel, near to shopping complex
Walking distance to Pavillion
Good hotel, easy to find restaurants nearby. Walking distance to the Pavillion the biggest and modern shopping complex. Near to lrt transport and other public transport. Reccommended for traveller who likes to shop.
Reviewed January 20, 2013