Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 4797 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4797 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.7
Sort by

Julan W. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
Good location, needs a refresh
Location, nice pool
A revisit with Istana Hotel after many years, had good memory of it. Great location, close to the buzz of Bukit Bintang but just far enough to be nice and quiet when needed. Friendly staff, great lobby but quest rooms needs a refresh especially the bathroom. Floor corridor was cigarette-smokey, not often encountered even in Asia.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Rozita S. from Singapore
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Great Location and Friendly Staff
Best Location for Shopping Spree
Nice hotel and good location. I love the big bathroom and separate shower/bathtub. Will come back to stay.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Mohamed M. from Singapore
Families with young children
Stayed one night in December 2012
great hotel with great service and smile
great facilty, good location and nice room
Great hotel for relax. Big toilet, big room and spaces. Best for family and newly married couple
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Jarmo M. from Finland
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in January 2013
Good location
Excellent pool
We choice the the hotel because of other travellers recommended the pool and we were not disappointed the pool area was the best I have had in Kuala Lumput hotels. Rooms were spacious and clean although we have to change the room because they couldn't fix the internet plugin in our room. Also the internet is bit slow only 50kbs max and disconnected too often. Rooms are also little outdated like tube television. Good location near bar area (just behind the corner) and Pavilion.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Muhammad R. from Singapore
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Great hotel, great service
Good location, friendly hotel staff at every corner
Been to KL many times but first time staying at Hotel Istana. Best thing about the hotel is the good location it has, walking distance to Pavilion and Lot 10 and other malls. Also located near a stretch of restaurants. Hotel has a very friendly and approchable lobby staff. Really liked how they always have at least one staff at the main entrance to welcome visitors. Made a difference to my tired mood when I stepped into the hotel. Free wifi can be found at the lobby/pool/reception, basically the first floor of the hotel. But no wifi in rooms. Bring your laptops though as they provide free high speed broadband in all rooms through lan cable. Overall a good three night stay in Hotel Istana.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Freddie W. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
Room that need to be upgraded
None
I did not enjoy the stay because the water heater was not working well. The tap water tasted funny when I used to gargle after brushing my teeth. There is no alarm clock in the room.
Reviewed January 09, 2013

Florian T. from Germany
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2012
nice Hotel with good location
perfect location in walking distance to nightlife
I got an upgrade to a suite, so it was fantastic for the money. Hotel is nice, and clean, staff friendly. Would go there again
Reviewed January 09, 2013

Frank H. from Australia
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Fantastic Location
Great food, nice staff
When arriving at The Istana with a group of 14 we found we had 2 rooms short. The staff were fantastic and we ended up with some extra cost 2 Club Rooms. They were huge rooms and the Club Room was a treat to use for all day tea and cakes and alcoholic drinks at night between 5pm and 7pm. Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff. Personally it is worth paying extra for this additional benefits included in the Club Room.The Hotel is walking distance to all the sites with some great bars,restuarants and clubs close by.
Reviewed January 09, 2013

Farrukh S. from Canada
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Good location
Nice pool and room size was reasonable good
Not impressed with check in (very slow and not organized), this is an outdated 5star hotel which is not facilitated with Wifi need and this can only be available in lobby and even there is not really working. we were not happy with the services provided.
Reviewed January 09, 2013

Phillip F. from Ireland
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2013
In need of renovation
Check in took a long time during which I spent my time listening to a number of other guests complaining about various things. Room was very dated and in need of renovation.
Reviewed January 09, 2013