arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 4729 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4729 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.7

8.3 Yoke Y.
Malaysia
December 17, 2012
Great location in CBD.
Great location within many amenities.
this is my 2nd time returning to this hotel. it's a great location within cbd with many amenities be it hawker centers, shopping malls and low yat, which is the it hub where i can get many value for money it gadgets.

10 Kenelynn N.
Philippines
December 17, 2012
Great Hotel in a Great Location
Everything
Istana Hotel is located at a very central area. Its a few mins walk from Petronas and KLIA Tower. Transportation is also accessible be it bus or MTR.

10 Haidar B.
Indonesia
December 17, 2012
Nice and comfort hotel
big lobby hotel and clean
Very big room and nice shower, clean and feel happy stay there

8 Peter M.
New Zealand
December 17, 2012
Nice hotel with a great welcome
Central to many landmarks
The Istana is a very welcoming hotel. A staff member is always at the entrance to welcome you and all the reception staff wear beautiful national dress in a different colour every day. The rooms are comfortable but some of the views are average. Good location and walking distance to many of the top KL landmarks.

8 Habeba S.
Singapore
December 16, 2012
Had a lovely stay with friends
The Lobby is very welcoming!!!
I've always like staying at Istana Hotel. Had a lovely 2-days stay with friends. The room was lovely but only that when we came into the room, the smell of cigarette smoke welcomed us!! That was teribble. Lucky the houskeeping staff was around and he sprayed air freshner. Though I don't have any complaints regarding this hotel, but the staff manning the Front Desk need to be more friendly when attend to guest and with a smile. Though the staff who attended to me was friendly, but I can see some who have no smile at all. I know that could be quite challenging. Staff must have eye-contact when talking to the guest and not looking down at the computer while answering to guest. I particularly like the change in the colour of the staff uniform and it portray the very essence of the Malay Culture.

8.7 Ady Z.
Malaysia
December 16, 2012
Strategic location with great service
Located in area with lot of attractions. Excellent service from the staff and great room.
I was attending an event and decided to stay in the hotel for a night. Eventhough it was a short stay, I was satisfied with the service provided by the staff and of course, the room. The traffic would be quite challenging though. Parking is ample but you may be having some trouble in finding one if there's an event.

6 Yian L.
Brunei Darussalam
December 16, 2012
Great location but lacks hospitality
Location.
Long queue at hotel reception during check-in. Room key card didn't work several times. Good-sized room but furniture was a bit old. Only few channels on TV. Could have stayed at a better place for the amount paid.

5.3 Anne D.
Australia
December 15, 2012
What you see isn't necessarily what you get
location, proximity to transport
I have to say this was the most unsatisfactory hotel experience I have had. I booked a deluxe room because the room photos clearly indicated that deluxe room has views of the Petronas Towers, whereas "guest rooms" photos do not. I arrived at the hotel at 3:15pm and was advised that I had been allocated a room on the 5th floor. When I asked about the view, I was told that the room did not have one and that this was "subject to availability". I queried this given that the photos indicate otherwise. After a period of silence, I was informed, quite tersely, that if I waited for 45 minutes, I could have a room on the tenth floor once the room had been cleaned. I was shown to the room at 4:50pm. The room had a view of the tip of the towers. The lobby and other areas of the ground floor are beautiful but the room was quite faded and dated. The room was icy even though I turned the air conditioning off for the entire time I was there. I did not eat at the hotel. Free Wifi is theoretically available in the lobby area however I and other guests had serious difficulties accessing the Wifi, sometimes having to try for 1 to 2 hours before access was available. The night before departure, the reception desk booked me a taxi to KL Sentral for 6 am the next morning. This was done with Budget Taxis, while I stood there. The next morning I informed the valet a the entrance to the hotel of the booking. The valet told me that the hotel does not make bookings for taxis to KL Sentral. I told him that reception had made the booking the previous night and he repeated his assertion that the hotel does not make these bookings. After a couple of minutes, a battered looking taxi drove up (not Budget Taxis). The valet had a conversation with the driver and then informed me that the trip would cost 20 ringgit. I asked the valet as the taxi was a meter taxi and had a sign "no bartering". The taxi drove off. Another Budget Taxi drove up, took me to KL Sentral- fare 6.8 ringgit.

6 Agop A.
Australia
December 15, 2012
good hotel
reasonable price
within walking distance to many shopping centres in bukit bintang well maintained clean just there is no wifi in rooms overall its good value for money good sized rooms too

8.3 theng H.
Singapore
December 15, 2012
A hotel that is pleasant to stay in.
Cleanliness of room and friendly staff .
Istana Hotel is located in a convenient place for shopping.Staff provide helpful and efficient service.Friendliness and courtesy are expressed sincerely.Breakfast spread is of good quality and more than sufficient.Housekeeping and cleanliness of room are well done We had a memorable stay and would surely return next time in KL.