arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 4765 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4765 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.7

Eric L.
Malaysia
September 15, 2014
Great Location, but service below 5 star
Location, Value and Aircond
I was given an upgrade when checking in, to a suite room. But upon entry to the room, the living room side of the suite was locked and it was only until night time when the staff came to unlock the living room of the suite room. Aircond is very cool and i like that. Breakfast was good.

Syamsul K.
Malaysia
September 15, 2014
Old and Mouldy
Location, friendly staff
The rooms are overpriced for an interior which has seen an era long gone. Doubt any of the rooms within the hotel are refurbished with a new interior. The only thing which will be considered as new are the moulds growing within the carpet as well as the bathroom. On a good note, the hotel staff are ever friendly to all the guests needs.

Andrew K.
Australia
September 15, 2014
Always my hotel of choice
Location, Local food, friendly staff
As always I loved my stay at Istana. The staff are always very friendly and smiling. The food is very good, my favourite being the chicken spaghetti. The hotel is located only a short walk away from Pavillion shopping centre and many great bars and restaurants. For a great beer after a hard day shopping I recommend popping across the road to Taps beer bar and sampling their many beers from around the world. I'll definitely stay with Istana again the next time I visit KL.

bee F.
Malaysia
September 14, 2014
Value for money
Location
Location and staff services are really excellent.

martin F.
United Kingdom
September 14, 2014
Best hotel ever
Everything's perfect
Will definitely stay here again . Best hotel ever .

Siew T.
Singapore
September 13, 2014
Good but not great.
Location and that is all I can think of.
It was my first time trying this hotel. As I frequent KL, I do have preferred hotel. If you check my reviews, it is not too difficult to tell which is the hotel I frequently stay. I chosed Isatana Hotel due to its location and it does look grand from the outside. Checking in: Counter staff are friendly and looks efficient. Was directed to sit and wait at the sofa area. I requested smoking room and 2 key cards. Results, I was given non-smoking room. Key cards were alright. I only realised that its a non-smoking room when I asked for an ashtray. Went down again to check but was told that there wasn't any smoking room available. In room: Toiletries were incomplete. For instant, there was no toothbrush, shaver..... Bathroom was equipped with hair dryer. Very dated layout but this also means lots of space. TV was still those bulky box type. Breakfast: A good spread. Very friendly for friends from the middle east too. Finally, the staffs in the lobby were very attentive. I was in the cafe after checked in, but the waiter and waitress weren't very attentive. Lifts need no key card access. Wifi was fast and nice. I checked out n the next day. Comparing with other hotel in KL or other destinations, you may wonder why 4 staffs at the counter serving 3 customers and they are still quite slow..... Well, it could be the system, not the staffs. On the 2nd day, when I was asking for a taxi to KLCC, the staff again were not very attentive. Don't get me wrong, when I approached them and asked them for taxi, they got that settled for me. But it will be better if they can SMILE. Will I return? I guess I will check out other hotels around the same area.

Teo L.
Singapore
September 12, 2014
Great stay
Huge rooms. Great food. Friendly staff
Location is great. Staff very helpful , buffet breakfast has lots of varieties n its tasty too. I did not believe that greenish water in bath tub was cause by light reflection until housekeeping staff use a glass to scoop up the water n its really white!!

YungLun L.
Taiwan
September 12, 2014
Not bad
View is nice

Vaughan W.
United Kingdom
September 12, 2014
Istana - Poor Stay
Location. ?. ?.
Found it poor, Telephones did not work, A/C was not operational for a time. I arranged a so called Limousine to take me to the airport, it was an old taxi. Did not enjoy my stay, happy it was only for one night. Will not use this hotel again.

Cheung C.
Malaysia
September 12, 2014
Easy and convenience
Convenience, Staff and Shopping
Right in the city center and easy for the transportation to any where you like