arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 4761 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4761 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.7

Ibrahim A.
Singapore
August 25, 2014
Above average hotel
location, room comfort and food
Overall, stay was good. Staff performance was bad though. Checking in took quite a while even though there was plenty of staff around, they seemed to be standing around chatting. After checking in, another visitor came into our room as he was checked into the same room. This was appalling. After complaining, the manager did not bother getting back to us which was disappointing.

ChooLeng G.
Malaysia
August 25, 2014
Shopping Stay
Close to shopping center, Many Parking Space, Walking distance to many offices

Fiona D.
United Kingdom
August 24, 2014
Our stay
Location, breakfast and grandness of hotel.
Our first 2 nights at the is tans were fantastic. Beautiful hotel, great location and fantastic breakfast. On the third night we had a knock on our door to warn us there might be a little bit of noise in the night as they were going to do some repairs to the pipe work on our floor. Well the workmen arrived late and firstly put down plywood all over the corridors, then the noise started, the load footsteps on the plywood the workmen shouting to each other, banging the pipes, the service lift up and down every 2 minutes. At 1 am I could stand it no longer and phoned down to reception. I was assured they would have a word withe the workmen and I was offered a room change. As we were up at 6 and had been reassured that the noise level would improve we decided to stay. Unfortunately things didn't get any better and after several phone calls I eventually got to speak to the manager at 4. 30am. He was very apologetic, but said you were told about the noise. I replied we weren't ever told that the noise would be so bad that we wouldn't be able to sleep. He then said well I have been up all night too. I reminded him that as night manager he was paid to be up all night, where as we had paid to sleep there all night and we were not able too. We did fall asleep a short time after, but had to get up at 6. I had to ask for some compensation, it was never offered to me and I had to be very assertive to get it and it ammounted to about £15 and a transfer to the airport, which was ok, but not good enough really considering how much we had paid to stay there, so great hotel, managed by a muppet. We should have been offered a new room early evening.

Grace M.
Singapore
August 21, 2014
A 3 stars hotel
Good location, shopping centers around hotel.

Elaina K.
United States
August 21, 2014
Hotel Review
The price, buffet breakfast, and helpful service.
We had a wonderful stay at the hotel.

Majid H.
Brunei Darussalam
August 21, 2014
Istana review
great food, good internet access, confortable bed
Checking in was a bit slow. the hotel was a bit run down however the choice of food is fantastic. hotel location is quite a walking distance to shopping malls. Food stalls are within walking distance to the hotel.

Kenneth Y.
Malaysia
August 18, 2014
Istana means Palace. Living up to its name.
Location
Nice and wonderful stay. Location was splendid as it is near to shopping areas and food centres.

Andrea D.
United States
August 18, 2014
Great hotel in the heart of it all
Convenience, breakfast, cleanliness
Super close to the monorail (Raja Chulan), Pavillion Mall, Lot 10, Fahrenheit 88, Starhill Gallery, etc. The staff are super friendly and always helpful. The room is clean and spacious, with amenities (soap, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, etc.). The breakfast buffet is the best in town. There is so much to choose from! I feel like the price of the room is a bit high for what you get but, I think that is because of the location it is in. Overall, I recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again.

Nur S.
Singapore
August 18, 2014
Good breakfast, awesome location, accesibility
Good breakfast, awesome location, accesibility
It was my parents' first stay at Hotel Istana and it is safe to say that they liked the hotel. The variety for the breakfast was good, western and local fare. Location is great, accessible via monorail (Raja Chulan), walking distance to shopping centres.

Andrew C.
Singapore
August 14, 2014
Good business hotel and great location
Location, staff and room
Actually, I have reviewed this hotel before, as it is my regular business hotel that I stay at whenever I need to go to Kuala Lumpur. Although it is a old hotel, I love the large rooms and they are clean and upgraded, so it's fine. The staff are friendly and helpful. Great location to KLCC and other commercial buildings in the city.