Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 4808 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4808 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.7

Majid H.
Brunei Darussalam
August 21, 2014
Istana review
great food, good internet access, confortable bed
Checking in was a bit slow. the hotel was a bit run down however the choice of food is fantastic. hotel location is quite a walking distance to shopping malls. Food stalls are within walking distance to the hotel.

Kenneth Y.
Malaysia
August 18, 2014
Istana means Palace. Living up to its name.
Location
Nice and wonderful stay. Location was splendid as it is near to shopping areas and food centres.

Andrea D.
United States
August 18, 2014
Great hotel in the heart of it all
Convenience, breakfast, cleanliness
Super close to the monorail (Raja Chulan), Pavillion Mall, Lot 10, Fahrenheit 88, Starhill Gallery, etc. The staff are super friendly and always helpful. The room is clean and spacious, with amenities (soap, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, etc.). The breakfast buffet is the best in town. There is so much to choose from! I feel like the price of the room is a bit high for what you get but, I think that is because of the location it is in. Overall, I recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again.

Nur S.
Singapore
August 18, 2014
Good breakfast, awesome location, accesibility
Good breakfast, awesome location, accesibility
It was my parents' first stay at Hotel Istana and it is safe to say that they liked the hotel. The variety for the breakfast was good, western and local fare. Location is great, accessible via monorail (Raja Chulan), walking distance to shopping centres.

Andrew C.
Singapore
August 14, 2014
Good business hotel and great location
Location, staff and room
Actually, I have reviewed this hotel before, as it is my regular business hotel that I stay at whenever I need to go to Kuala Lumpur. Although it is a old hotel, I love the large rooms and they are clean and upgraded, so it's fine. The staff are friendly and helpful. Great location to KLCC and other commercial buildings in the city.

Pieter G.
South Africa
August 08, 2014
Comfy, old, good location
Location, Price, staff
Had an enjoyable stay and it is within walking distance from restaurants, nightlife and the Food road that stays open till the early hours of the morning. Friendly staff. Drinks a bit expensive downstairs in the lounge watching life music.

Vivian V.
Philippines
August 05, 2014
KL Hotel in the Center
Great location, Very Nice Hotel and big Rooms. Just walking distance in monorail.
Comfortable stay, spacious room and toilet but no mini bar inside the room that's only the negative in that hotel. Good customer service they are accommodating if you have queries. We will stay here again when we come back in KL.

Firdaus R.
Singapore
August 04, 2014
Nice
Good location
sense, empathy, and genuineness. There's the phrase "hospitality personality," which goes further than cheerfulness. That's important, but so are natural kindness, graciousness, humor, and joie de vivre. A person who quietly makes guests feel comfortable and important. A great, five-star hotel employee also thinks things through. He or she has a sense of priority, attention to detail, practicality, follow-through and efficiency." You could boil all this down to the question: does the guest feel that a hotel staffer really cares about them? Sadly, I'd say that this happens 10% of the time.

chen G.
Malaysia
August 01, 2014
great location, nearby shopping, good food
great location, nearby shopping, good food

chen G.
Malaysia
August 01, 2014
superb location, great food.
great food, nearby shopping areas, great location.