Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1301 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 7.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.2

Christopher B. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 5 nights in March 2013
Nice Hotel, Good Value, Not So Great Location
Good Value, Good Food, Friendly Staff
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Jennifer M. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Thoughtful, well-designed; easy; plus tasty!
great rooms; close to HKU; great restaurants
well-resolved, beautifully-designed room/amenities
Reviewed March 19, 2013

TIM O. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Lovely hotel
harbour view room, traders club lounge, inside window ledge shelf/seat
Really loved the hotel + staff they were very friendly
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Andrea S. from Germany
Families with young children
Stayed 4 nights in March 2013
small room, small bed, very clean
clean, friendly staff, good breakfast
I liked the stay at the Traders by Shangri La. When we arrived the check in was fast, staff friendly. When we got to our room I was a little suprised about the small size, but it was ok, since we just wanted a place to sleep and have breakfast. The size of the bed was smaller then I expected (suposed to be queen size and it was a normal double bed). I called the front desk and after explaining that our son (4 years) was supposed to sleep in that bed with us, they agreed to put an extra bed in the room without any extra cost. The breakfast was nice, not so many choices of cheese or ham, but good. The hotel is very near to the Tram station so you can go to central in 10-15 minutes. We could use the Traders lounge which was very convenient, food good, drinks nice. At all times the stuff was very friendly and helpful.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Virginia R. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Convenient, pleasant and extremely comfortable
Close to local restaurants, comfortable room, easy access to everything else
I loved staying here. It is in a street of many cheap and cheerful Chinese restaurants all delicious. Easy cab ride to Central, Wanchai and Causeway Bay. Friendly staff, very comfortable room with easy access in and out. Efficient arrival and departure. Free Internet and very fast too. I slept very well and woke to the view of harbour activity. The room was extremely clean and comfortable , every little detail thought of. I would definitely stay here again and reccommend it highly.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

william B. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Clean spacious welldesigned great staff
Good price
Prepare to taxi and look elsewhere for food but overall very worth it. We had a good time.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

FONG T. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2013
very nice room
clean n tidy
The room is nice n clean. Also the hotel seems to be new so that the feeling n the outlook is pleasant. I havent tried the catering there as i was in a hurry but i m sure that you can have plenty choices of food nearby w good quality. Anyway, i m quite sure i ll visit this hotel again.
Reviewed March 05, 2013

David K. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Hotel with good price
lounge with free beverage
location not that good. hard to get a cab at time. Buffet Breakfast comes with very limited choices.
Reviewed March 04, 2013

Hoi L. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
Good value for money
Price, modern design, comfy bed
I am not not sure when the hotel was built / last renovated but it is in very good condition. The room is relatively spacious compared with other hotels in Hong Kong within the same price range, and it is clean with a simple and modern style. Staff were friendly and helpful during our stay. We asked the front desk to get us some wine glasses and a wine opener and someone brought all these to our room minutes later. He even helped us on the the bottle! We did not expect much for this price but were surprised by the quality of the room and the staff.
Reviewed March 04, 2013

Alexandra C. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Old Favourite
HK Island but not in a very touristy area
Have been staying at this hotel for many years under many different operators. Prefer the harbour view club rooms with breakfast on the club level. 24 hour gym is a plus and the roof top swimming pool is great for cooling off. The rooms are small but well thought out, some may not like walking through the bathroom to get to the room. The price has increased dramatically over the years
Reviewed March 03, 2013