Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1301 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 7.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.2

Boon T. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
clean and bright hotel
free shuttle bus, direct local buses to many places
Hotel staff are very friendly, articulate and very polite. What we like is that it is at west side of Hong Kong, away from the touristy area and we can really enjoy the true local atmosphere with local shops and local restaurants. There is a huge modern shopping centre (Belcher's Road) if you like modern ambience.
Reviewed January 07, 2013

ed J. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2012
Converted budget hotel provides good value
Location is very busy with plenty of eateries
This used to be a budget hotel that Shangri La bought... for good reason. Hotel is designed well with decent sized rooms. Good views from higher floors. Location requires taxi to MTR, but bustling location with plenty to eat. Overall a good value, and can get ShangriLa points
Reviewed January 03, 2013

HUI T. from Singapore
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Hotel has amenities nearby
Food, clinic, supermarket, Chinese medicine hall all within 1-2 mins walk from hotel
the traders lounge on 28/f has a good harbour view of the victoria harbour. we enjoyed the afternoon tea served during 5:30-7:30pm and complimentary beverages till 11pm. it is worth paying for the upgrade which also includes free breakfast for 2 adults. hotel is located at sai wan along queens road west. there is a tram nearby hotel which brings you on a scenic tour of the hong kong island and also to the nearest mtr sheung wan station, a few tram stations away from the hotel. recommended to go on a hong kong tram ride if you haven't. day and night views aboard the hong kong tram give you different insights of the busy, face paced life in hong kong. there is a pacific mall, clinic, "one congee" restaurant which serves good congee and noodles, 2 supermarkets within 1-2 mins walk from the hotel. ask the concierge for directions to the tram station and nearby amenities mentioned. room is a good size by hong kong's standard. it could accommodate a queen bed and an additional rollaway bed. overall, we enjoyed our 2 nights' stay at the traders club harbour view room, especially the club lounge benefits.
Reviewed January 01, 2013

Lawrence O. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in December 2012
Lovely harbour views but tiny executive lounge
The staff were polite and attentive.
The only grouse that I have is that I didn't get the exclusivity that I thought I would get by paying extra for a Club floor room. Seriously, the Traders Hong Kong should ban children below 16 from entering the Traders Club Lounge because premium business travellers want peace, exclusivity and quiet relaxation, not bawling children.
Reviewed January 01, 2013

Mara I. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Nice hotel with very fast wifi!!!
Very spacious room, wifi in the room is personalised,
Most of the review and even from their website states that its just 5 mins walk to the MTR station, it is a lie. It is really far from the MTR station. Trams are the best mode of transportation going to the MTR station. This is near the best shopping places in Central, Tsim Sha Tsui and Kowloon.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Raine M. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Great location but small rooms
Location
Overall our stay at Traders hotel was ok. The traders club was nice however the rooms are very small! Rooms were clean and up to date. Concierge were very helpful. The view from the harbour view room was a little disappointing. Christmas lunch was also a disappointment. Location was good.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Kwong P. from Hong Kong
Groups
Stayed one night in December 2012
Good service hotel
Quiet Location
The hotel is not located in CBD but it offers you a unique experience to explore western district. Nice comfy bed and fresh welcome fruits during my stay.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Muhammad A. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Small but comfortable room.
Good facilities and service.
The room was small but comfortable with good facilities and a great view. The service was excellent especially the concierge. Reception staff was very helpful and polite. Th e hotel location, however was some distance from the city centre although taxis are easily available as common in Hong Kong. The tram service is also within short walking distance.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Michael O. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
clean&comfort
efficient team, convenience location
Located in the west of HK island, quieter part of HK. Assessable by tram (cheap and no traffic jam) to major shopping belts and CBD in the HK Island. Hotel also provide scheduled free shuttle bus to various key locations in the HK island including various MTR points. Did not have any difficulty to get taxi too. Rate is reasonable (club floor is value for money by any standard). Room is comfortable and clean. Various eating outlets nearby (fast foods, restaurants and bakery shop)otherwise the hotel cafe provides western, Singapore and Malaysia dishes. Team is efficient and helpful.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Jinlong H. from France
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
quality hotel
well situated and quiet rooms
Nice experience, near central with few steps away. Impeccable service
Reviewed December 26, 2012