or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Jen

Magazine Road, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Traders Hotel
Hotel Jen Penang - Deluxe Hotel Jen Penang - Club room Hotel Jen Penang - Executive Suite Hotel Jen Penang - Lobby Lounge Hotel Jen Penang - Reception Hotel Jen Penang - Reception Hotel Jen Penang - Lobby Lounge Hotel Jen Penang - Business Center Hotel Jen Penang - Business Center Hotel Jen Penang - The Islander Hotel Jen Penang - Food and Beverages Hotel Jen Penang - The Islander Hotel Jen Penang - The Islander Hotel Jen Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe Hotel Jen Penang - Club Lounge Hotel Jen Penang - Swimming Pool
Hotel Jen Penang - Fitness Room Hotel Jen Penang - Gym Hotel Jen Penang - Fitness Room Hotel Jen Penang - Fitness Room Hotel Jen Penang - Spa Hotel Jen Penang - Facilities Hotel Jen Penang - Ballroom - western set up Hotel Jen Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set up Hotel Jen Penang - Banquet Room Hotel Jen Penang - Function Room Hotel Jen Penang - Function Room Hotel Jen Penang - Function room
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 443
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
2616 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (2616)
Sort by:
Ching K. Business travelers Malaysia, September 9, 2012
Great location

hotel
7.7
I love d location, easy to find! Shopping mall just the max 5 minute walking distance... Everything is perfect! Service was great! Wifi free but a bit slow...
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: I love d location, easy to find! Shopping mall just the max 5 minute walking distance... Everything is perfect! Service was great! Wifi free but a bit slow...
Hwee T. Families with older children Singapore, September 8, 2012
Great hotel with clean room

location, shopping center near by, claen room.
8.7
I think the staff tehy are friendly and services is good.
Pow H. Groups Malaysia, September 7, 2012
Lovely hotel,great service and location

Service, location
8
We asked for a non smoking room with a king bed and early check-in. We got it. But we were given a room on the 6th foor with an adjoining room door overlooking an overgrown putting green on the roof of the 4th storey podium. Not being comfortable with this room with a construction site staring at you from across the road, we asked for another room. The attending staff said they were full and instead offered complimentary breakfast on the house. We didnt want food but a room on a higher floor without an adjoining door with plaster board partition. Our pleadings were acceded to and we got high floor room with a better view overlooking the Penang skyline. Oh, they gave us a stalk of rose that the vendors had just delivered. We ordered breakfast form the 24 hr room service. Had nasi lemak and porridge. Service was great, but food taste was not to our expectation. Presentation etc was good, but could do better in the taste catagory. Overall a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Good value for you money.
Hotel Feature Tip: Offers free shuttle bus service to sister hotel (golden sands?) at Batu Ferringgi. Checkout the bus schedule as it may not meet yours. You may have to ride a taxi back to your hotel after visiting the night market and the ride cost Ringgit $ 40 or so.
Hsieh T. Business travelers Austria, September 7, 2012
convenient location but the hotel is a bit old

traders club with great service
8.7
The hotel has great location but far from beach, Traders Club lounge offers great service, but the hotel is a bit old and needs renovation
Luo J. Couples Singapore, September 3, 2012
Helpful staff

Good locations with amenties around the hotel
9.7
we are very pleased with the stay. the hotel staff is helpful and friendly, making the stay a very enjoyable one. we are given an early check in, about 9am by ms ika and she was very attentive and helpful when we asked for direction. the room was good and have very comfotable bed. the cleanliness was excellent. however, they are still using the box tv. perhaps, it's time to upgrade the tv sets in all the rooms.
Shopping Tip: Two big malls and kotmar beside the hotel, making traveling easier.
Michael D. Couples United Kingdom, September 2, 2012
Splendid stay, great staff and great amenities

Staff, free internet, comfy bed and pillows
9
Really enjoed our five days in Penang and staying at Traders made it extra good. We stay in a lot of hotels and this is up there. It's kind of like a 5 star would have been 10 years ago but that gives it it's charm. It was my partners birthday the day we checked in and the receptionist had a rose and birthday cake sent to our room. Nice and central for all the magnificent restaurants in the area. We didn't have the breakfast as we went out for breakfast each day - dim sum, noodles, indian, all extremely tasty.
Restaurant Tip: Nazlinas cooking class if you have a spare morning. She takes you around the markets, you learn much from being with a local.
Colin B. Couples United Kingdom, August 31, 2012
Lovely 'older-style' hotel with excellent service

Friendly, efficient service. Good location for Heritage area of Georgetown
8.7
efficient and friendly check in, with the gift of a rose setting the scene for our stay. good sized rooms making up our executive suite with cloakroom and bathroom with good over-bath shower and excellent toiletries. this booking gave access to the executive lounge with very cheerful and friendly service. evening cocktails here were excellent although morning breakfast could be better - however, included invitation to the island restaurant gave a high-quality breakfast experience. rooms were generally well-serviced although a 'technical issue' locked us out of our rooms one night - this was promptly sorted out with sincere apologies. only (minor) downsides were a less than customer-friendly fire drill and new building opposite the hotel which, in future, may dwarf this location - minor
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Be sure to use the free 'hop-on hop-off' city bus from near the hotel to access Georgetown's Heritage experiences.
Flemming S. Business travelers Denmark, August 31, 2012
central located but a bit old

good location, good spa and frendly staff
7.7
Kees V. Couples Netherlands, August 30, 2012
Traders quality as usual

location near malls in city center, food is great
8.3
we enjoyed our stay in traders as we received the quality we are used to in this chain, nice food, clean and spacious room and friendly staff.
Shopping Tip: Many malls just around the corner
See K. Business travelers Singapore, August 30, 2012
Friendly and Comfortable Hotel

Comfy beds, strategic location and nice room
10
I have always stayed at Traders Hotel for evey visit to Penang. Traders Hotel is a business hotel and located near shopping centres.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Jen PenangHotel Jen Penang - DeluxeHotel Jen Penang - Club roomHotel Jen Penang - Executive SuiteHotel Jen Penang - Lobby Lounge Hotel Jen Penang - ReceptionHotel Jen Penang - ReceptionHotel Jen Penang - Lobby LoungeHotel Jen Penang - Business CenterHotel Jen Penang - Business CenterHotel Jen Penang - The IslanderHotel Jen Penang - Food and BeveragesHotel Jen Penang - The IslanderHotel Jen Penang - The IslanderHotel Jen Penang - Coffee Shop/CafeHotel Jen Penang - Club LoungeHotel Jen Penang - Swimming PoolHotel Jen Penang - Fitness RoomHotel Jen Penang - GymHotel Jen Penang - Fitness RoomHotel Jen Penang - Fitness RoomHotel Jen Penang - SpaHotel Jen Penang - FacilitiesHotel Jen Penang - Ballroom - western set upHotel Jen Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set upHotel Jen Penang - Banquet RoomHotel Jen Penang - Function RoomHotel Jen Penang - Function RoomHotel Jen Penang - Function roomHotel Jen Penang - Entrance

Customer Reviews - Hotel Jen, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3B02