or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Jen

Magazine Road, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Traders Hotel Penang
Hotel Jen Penang - Deluxe Hotel Jen Penang - Club room Hotel Jen Penang - Reception Hotel Jen Penang - Food and Beverages Hotel Jen Penang - The Islander Hotel Jen Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe Hotel Jen Penang - Swimming Pool Hotel Jen Penang - Fitness Room Hotel Jen Penang - Gym Hotel Jen Penang - Fitness Room Hotel Jen Penang - Fitness Room Hotel Jen Penang - Spa Hotel Jen Penang - Facilities Hotel Jen Penang - Banquet Room Hotel Jen Penang - Guest Room Hotel Jen Penang - Restaurant
Hotel Jen Penang - Swimming Pool Hotel Jen Penang - Suite Hotel Jen Penang - Guest Room Hotel Jen Penang - The Suite Indulgence Hotel Jen Penang - Suite Hotel Jen Penang - Suite Hotel Jen Penang - Interior Hotel Jen Penang - Lobby Hotel Jen Penang - Fitness Room Hotel Jen Penang - Suite Hotel Jen Penang - Swimming Pool Hotel Jen Penang - Deluxe
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 443
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
2717 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (2717)
Sort by:
Mae Y. Business travelers Malaysia, January 11, 2015
Good value

quality, clean, comfortable
7
Jens Hotel is old, but as it is part of the Shangri La Group, it's facilities are well maintained. The rooms are large enough and beds are very comfortable for a nights rest. Toilet is well stocked. Kitchen comes with the usual tea and coffee and extra facilities like a in room safe, bathrobe and extra pillows are a plus. Good value for money
Zhao G. Families with young children United States of America, January 6, 2015
No

Swimming pool
6.7
Acceptable
Xing Y. Couples Malaysia, January 5, 2015
Good location, clean

Close to heritage site, clean
9.7
Very good. It is next to all major shopping malls in Penang, and within walking distance to the heritage site, which is very convenient for tourists like us.
Yee J. Business travelers Malaysia, January 4, 2015
Overall, it's not bad.

Location, Wifi, Staff
6
Overall, it's not bad. The hotel is located at nice location.
Lian T. Groups Singapore, January 3, 2015
Jen hotel review Jan15

Location, food around the area and condition of the hotel
9.7
It's a pleasant stay during my stay at Jen hotel. Hotel is surrounded with shopping centre like 1st Avenue and pragi mall. Nice local penang food like famous chendol and Assam laksa in pragi mall. Great location with considerable distant to place of interest n gurney dr travelling with taxi. Hotel room is comfortable with nice bed and pillow :). Great stay n nice food.
Melvin S. Groups Malaysia, January 3, 2015
Terrible condition

Location
4.7
The only thing that is satisfactory about this hotel is that it's centrally located and is beside Komtar which is quite easy for you to communicate to taxi drivers. Upon arriving you'll notice that the hotel is quite OK and the lobby looks generally fine nothing to complain and nothing to rave about. The real downside is after you've checked in and go into the rooms. It's like you've traveled back in time with spots on the carpets and curtains and dinky looking switches and no plugs on the bedside you'll wonder at the stark contrast between the lobby and the room. Appalled by such standards we phoned the receptionist and ask to view the club floor rooms wanting to upgrade but upon seeing the club floor room they're exactly in the same sorry state except for a LCD TV because mind you in our rooms we were getting those humongous old TV set but since TV weren't an important factor we decided not to upgrade our rooms. This hotel is seriously in need of a major refurbishment and it needs it soon.
Amit J. Families with young children Singapore, January 2, 2015
nice decent 3 star but old hotel

location , staff
7.7
Overall a decent stay. Very nice staff. Gave us a slightly early check in. Quick check in. But the room is quite old and very small. Even though we had booked a club room. I was very disaccpointed with hoom size. And the furniturea nd upholstery is dated. So room in comfortable but has the old smell. After paying sgd 150 for a night which is a very high rate for a 3 star hotel in penang it was very small size. The lounge was closed and moved to. A temp location. So that disappointed . however the staff were attaentive in the lounge. Also something kept coming for snacks although very limited. For vegetarians its disappointing. Really nothing. Thats overall the impression for food in penang. We had a very avg experience whereas penang is a foodoe paradise. So if u r indian veg. Its not a very impresive food place. But location of hotel is damn good. Right next to 3 malls. U hv pkenty of options. Do try the gama mall. It had much more shopping value. The komtar bus depot is 100 steps away. All bus services come here. We took bus 401 from airport and it just cost 6 rm for 4 people. For visiitng gerogetown we took the free cat shuttle 3 times a day and it was marvellous. We hardly spent money on taxi. Not required. The local bus service and shuttle are excellent. Kudos to penang municipal corporation. Splendid effort for oubkic transport. If only local people will use these service and walk a bit thry will realize its fantastic. We asked for a 4 pm checkout. They only gave till 2. Again a bit disappointed. Mkat hotels will give the club guests a 4 pm check out.the hotel does have a very nice gym sauna and steam room. I thouroughly enjoyed that. Kids have a small kiddie pool which is nicem they should add a kids playroom. Also no cartoon channel for kids so they do take up ur time in the room also. Overall i enjoyed my stay but i mgiht look for a hotel with better amenities as we did pay a good amount here.
Zhiwen R. Families with older children Singapore, December 30, 2014
A value and central hotel

good location, good size room, friendly staff
8.7
Bedroom slippers can be included in the room. Overall a great stay and the room and chauffer package is ideal for us.
Zhiwen R. Families with older children Singapore, December 30, 2014
Good service and location

service, location, cleanliness
8
good
Chee W. Families with older children Singapore, December 29, 2014
Enjoyable stay

location, service quality & comfortable
8.3
Great service.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Jen PenangHotel Jen Penang - DeluxeHotel Jen Penang - Club roomHotel Jen Penang - ReceptionHotel Jen Penang - Food and BeveragesHotel Jen Penang - The IslanderHotel Jen Penang - Coffee Shop/CafeHotel Jen Penang - Swimming PoolHotel Jen Penang - Fitness RoomHotel Jen Penang - GymHotel Jen Penang - Fitness RoomHotel Jen Penang - Fitness RoomHotel Jen Penang - SpaHotel Jen Penang - FacilitiesHotel Jen Penang - Banquet RoomHotel Jen Penang - Guest RoomHotel Jen Penang - RestaurantHotel Jen Penang - Swimming PoolHotel Jen Penang - Suite Hotel Jen Penang - Guest RoomHotel Jen Penang - The Suite Indulgence Hotel Jen Penang - Suite Hotel Jen Penang - Suite Hotel Jen Penang - InteriorHotel Jen Penang - LobbyHotel Jen Penang - Fitness RoomHotel Jen Penang - SuiteHotel Jen Penang - Swimming PoolHotel Jen Penang - Deluxe Hotel Jen Penang - InteriorHotel Jen Penang - SuiteHotel Jen Penang - Club RoomHotel Jen Penang - Restaurant

Customer Reviews - Hotel Jen, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3B08