Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Jen

Magazine Road, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Traders Hotel Penang
Hotel Jen Penang - Deluxe Hotel Jen Penang - Club room Hotel Jen Penang - Reception Hotel Jen Penang - Food and Beverages Hotel Jen Penang - The Islander Hotel Jen Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe Hotel Jen Penang - Swimming Pool Hotel Jen Penang - Fitness Room Hotel Jen Penang - Gym Hotel Jen Penang - Fitness Room Hotel Jen Penang - Fitness Room Hotel Jen Penang - Spa Hotel Jen Penang - Facilities Hotel Jen Penang - Banquet Room Hotel Jen Penang - Restaurant Hotel Jen Penang - Swimming Pool
Hotel Jen Penang - The Suite Indulgence Hotel Jen Penang - Interior Hotel Jen Penang - Lobby Hotel Jen Penang - Fitness Room Hotel Jen Penang - Swimming Pool Hotel Jen Penang - Deluxe Hotel Jen Penang - Interior Hotel Jen Penang - Club Room Hotel Jen Penang - Restaurant
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 443
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

from 2964 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (2964)
Sort by:
Josco T. Business travelers Singapore, August 9, 2013
Disappointing for a Shangri La's Property

The location of the property is very ideal and public transport is very convenient
5.7
actually stayed from 07-09 Aug 2013. 07-08: checked in based on walk-in BAR rate, and was informed 08-09's full house so i needed to book myself elsewhere. 08-09: booked through agoda.com the moment i checked on 07 aug, for 08-09/08. (quite absurd right?) Planned to celebrate a surprise birthday on the 08/08, and front office staff extended a complimentary cake delivery upon day 02 check in request. BUT this did not happened at all, false promise; I even called Duty Manager the very night to double check on the status and he assured me it was done, but i was simply tired of arguing for a free cake and hint of the delivery that was not done was not heard. My point is that, if such simple case of goodwill action actually warrant such service lapse. The management needs to look into it's SOP! Little things like this can win your guest's heart, but this little things can also cause your legendary image to be washed down the drain by your complanced workers. I just don't wish to add on with the quality of food served at your Japanese restaurant during the final night. I seek the relevant party to contact me directly for more clarification and queries, else this is defintiely a NO- go again should i ever return.
Report this review
Ke Z. Couples China, August 9, 2013
Hotel is well located, may be the best location

Shopping, Eating, Busineess
8.3
The hotel is well located behind the central of Georgetown-Komtar Tower. You can go to famous shopping mall and eating areas in several minutes. The hotel is clean and well managed, but the room and facilities (especially the TV) should be upgraded since they are relative old compared to the other traders hotel no matter in Hong Kong or Singapore or even KL of Malasiya.
Report this review
Jackie L. Couples Australia, August 8, 2013
I would definitely recommend.

Close to markets. And jetty
10
Really clean, fast service. I enjoyed my stay a lot. Great value for money. Once you walk into the hotel from outside Penang, you feel like you walked into another world.
Report this review
Eric L. Couples Singapore, August 8, 2013
Comfortable stay but could be better.

Central location, many eateries nearby n large room.
6.7
I would consider it a satisfactory stay. Some feedback: 1) Thefront desk staff wanted RM 400 deposit even though I had paid for the stay via Agoda. When I refused, they went about to empty the mini bar though I am not likely to use it anyway. But, I found this action a let down for a so-call 4 star hotel. 2) Also, time to upgrade the rooms - looked old and is one hotel that is still using a Huge CRT TV when everybody else has upgraded to flat screen LCD or LED TVs. 3) Room wasn't cleaned as at 2.30 pm on my 2nd day - they called up asking whether I wanted the room clean? Isn't a clean room a basic expectation.
Report this review
Jeanette L. Solo travelers Singapore, August 4, 2013
Convenient hotel

Convenient, clean and good price
7.3
Good, no fuss n straight forward place. Value for money. A good central base to begin your day thought if shopping is your thing, worth checking out Gurney plaza area but note that that place is often congested.
Report this review
Neill B. Groups Australia, August 3, 2013
Amazing Staff

Staff proximity to shops dining
9.3
This is a hotel that I shall definitely return to mainly for the wonderful friendliness of the staff. Also the proximity to shops makes it very nice for the guests who like to shop and drop back to the hotel to offload parcels before returning to shop some more. The dining room had a fabulous buffet and Vic introduced us to some amazing Malaysian dishes
Report this review
Fazrul H. Families with young children Malaysia, July 31, 2013
comfort and relaxing hotel

have fitness centre, good view of swimming pool and centrally located.
9.7
nice and comfort room, nice view of hotel, good and fast services, and great breakfast.
Report this review
Mohana V. Families with young children Singapore, July 29, 2013
Excellent

Location Location Location
9.7
Super Fantastic Excellent. Near many shopping centres and food outlets.
Report this review
Harijanto H. Families with older children Indonesia, July 29, 2013
The hotel was very pleasant and I will come again.

The location, the service, and the cleanliness.
8
Report this review
Roy C. Couples Singapore, July 28, 2013
Comfortable, trouble free

Friendly service, good breakfast spread, comfortable rooms
6.7
Stayed for only 1 night, hotel was slightly further from Gurney area than I expected. Staff were friendly and rooms reasonably clean and comfortable, although still using old boxy TV sets. Overall the hotel is on the edge of getting tired and needing a refresh.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Jen PenangHotel Jen Penang - DeluxeHotel Jen Penang - Club roomHotel Jen Penang - ReceptionHotel Jen Penang - Food and BeveragesHotel Jen Penang - The IslanderHotel Jen Penang - Coffee Shop/CafeHotel Jen Penang - Swimming PoolHotel Jen Penang - Fitness RoomHotel Jen Penang - GymHotel Jen Penang - Fitness RoomHotel Jen Penang - Fitness RoomHotel Jen Penang - SpaHotel Jen Penang - FacilitiesHotel Jen Penang - Banquet RoomHotel Jen Penang - RestaurantHotel Jen Penang - Swimming PoolHotel Jen Penang - The Suite Indulgence Hotel Jen Penang - InteriorHotel Jen Penang - LobbyHotel Jen Penang - Fitness RoomHotel Jen Penang - Swimming PoolHotel Jen Penang - Deluxe Hotel Jen Penang - InteriorHotel Jen Penang - Club RoomHotel Jen Penang - Restaurant

Customer Reviews - Hotel Jen, Penang

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B06