Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1546 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 7.4
Sort by

Soraya Z. from Brazil
Families with young children
Stayed 5 nights in July 2012
Great location
The location is just fine. The fashion suite is also fine, big enough for the needs of a family with a small child.
the hotel is a bit old-fashioned and requires urgent maintenance. the cleaness also can be improved. despite the smiling staff it is evident that they need more training. our bathroom wasn't very clean, as well as the furniture and floor. the breakfast was also good but simple. staff were not very helpful. maybe due to difficulty to comunicate in english.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Lechmann R. from Switzerland
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Great location and good rooms for price
Friendly staff, clean rooms, good location, near forbidden city
We can recommand this hotel. Good value for the price. Nearby sights. Good restaurants are about 20 minutes away by foot.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Dolly C. from Philippines
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Great Location, prompt front desk service
Location
Hotel kapok has great location among Beijing's hotels. It is 7 minutes walk from the hotel to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City. It is 5 minutes walk to the famous Wangfujing Street Food and other high end malls and "over priced" souvenir items. English is still in scarcity and it's weird that you can get by with your day to day communication with them by using "sign language" rather than actually talking. Our room is being cleaned everyday and bath amenities was replenished as well. There's complimentary bottled water and juice also. If you're doing a DIY, you can always ask help at the front desk and have them write the chinese name of the place you want to visit and show it to your taxi driver. They provide a little map of Beijing with its top ten tourist destination and it sure is a big help.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Joyce K. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
Great Hotel
Friendly Staff
Checked us into our rooms earlier than stated time. Staff were helpful and friendly and can speak English. Rooms are nice and the buffet breakfast is great. Egg station is always manned. Carry a card with the hotel name and road written in Chinese if you use taxi's. The front desk can do this for you. We had a great stay and would stay here again. They also have staff who can organise tours etc.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Ana C. from Brazil
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in June 2012
The room was beautiful and spacious.
The room was beautiful and spacious. The staff were very attentive, friendly and professional. The breakfasts were superb and very reasonably priced. The business office was very helpful in booking tours. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Beijing and I recommend that you do so, also
boutique hotel is well-located - walking distance to forbidden city and wangfujin shopping street. hotel staff can speak good english, hence most of the guests are foreigners and rarely locals. the hotel room is clean and could accommodate triple sharing. like most boutique hotels, most taxi drivers have not heard of the hotel but could easily locate hotel when the map is shown. they are very responsible and really friendly, not only they upgade to more expensive hotel, they also pay for breakfast and rooms with view without extra charge. kapok hotel itself very close to forbidden city, it is 200 meters away from the east gate, take shuttle to main gate and only pay 1 yuan, very close to metro subway. hotel looks very modern and clean, i think this is the best hotel near forbidden city, i saw some of other hotel close by is very creepy and rundown.
Reviewed July 06, 2012

Sue G. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed 6 nights in June 2012
Good Choice!
Clean & New. Not noisy.
Enjoyed the stay at the hotel. It is not noisy. It's nice, clean & spacious. Stay at the courtyard room with king size bed.
Reviewed July 06, 2012

Hideyuki T. from Japan
Business travelers
Stayed one night in June 2012
Contemporary Design Hotel
Stylish Design
Room was spacious, stylish and cozy. Not really functional, but with a full of urban taste. If you would like to feel comtemporary design, this hotel may be a great one. However, internet access is wi-fi only (no LAN cable connection) and it was very slow (less than 1 Mbps). Compared with famous name hotels, breakfast was relatively less impressive. Therefore, the hotel is really great just for its design. Probably, great for a couple, but not really for business....
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Malcolm M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
good location with good restaurants opposite.
convenient location with a great choice of local restaurants opposite.
this hotel is good value for money. Quiet at night and helpful staff in the business centre who arranged train tickets and a tour to the great wall. One negative point is that the beds are very hard.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Ana I. from Brazil
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
Good location and service
Location, walking distance to Forbbiden City
the best feature of the hotel is its location: walking distance to forbbiden city, and wangfujing road. the services are good, and the reception service is efficient with good english. the cleaning is not so good when we put our head on the pillow we can see a lot of dust accumulated at ceiling.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Robert M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
great location, Hard beds, rooms somewhat small,
clean, welcoming within walking distance to tourist spots & shopping
Nice breakfast, dinner menu somewhat limited, ideal tourist hotel, staff pleasant, English spoken a bonus. Bank next door for money exchange. Would recommend
Reviewed June 17, 2012