Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Kapok Wangfujing

16 Donghuamen Street Dongcheng , Wangfujing Street & Forbidden City, Beijing, China

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.3

based on 1528 reviews

972 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.3
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (1528)
Sort by:
Thomas H. Business travelers United Kingdom, December 8, 2011
A bit peculiar

I slept well
6.7
the kapok, looks the part but the rooms are a bit narrow, the walls are thin and the bathroom design odd, with very slippery tile floors. i liked that they left some juices as complementary, and appreciated the effort, but this is another attempt at boutique that doesn't really add up. i was only there one night but for a similar price, the prime hotel offers a bit of character and similar location.
Report this review
Ming W. Couples Singapore, December 7, 2011
Clean and modern hotel

clean, nice deco, near forbidden city
9
decent breakfast, room facing the road is noisy (request for room not facing the road is possible). clean room, modern decoration, 10 mins walk to forbidden city and 15 mins walk to subway station. overall experience with this hotel is excellent.
Report this review
Victoria W. Couples United Kingdom, December 7, 2011
Modern hotel with helpful staff

Clean, modern and location
9.3
we had a very enjoyable stay at hotel kapok, the staff were very polite and helpful and we found the location very good for the price that we paid. our only negative point is that the beds are too hard and gave us both back aches - we did stay at another hotel in beijing after hotel kapok and did not have this problem so cannot put it down to "traditional chinese" beds.
Report this review
Peng W. Solo travelers Taiwan, December 4, 2011
位置優越

乾淨,服務態度好
9.7
great service, closed to everywhere except subway.
Report this review
Kuan C. Couples Malaysia, December 2, 2011
Great Location

Near Wangfujing shopping, near Forbidden City
7
Great location except it may be a bit run down especially the bathroom (stains, molds etc.). It can be hard to find taxis too, this problem is not only in this hotel, but many parts of Beijing. Good for stay by night, off for sight seeing / business morning. There is actually an old neighbourhood (hutong) just behind the hotel. Down the main road, there are also food stalls selling all kinds of local delicacies at night. The famed Wangfujing street is also only 5 minutes away.
Report this review
Katherine W. Couples Singapore, December 1, 2011
Great location and lovely hotel

Location and service
7.7
We choose this hotel as it is strategically located. It is close to Forbidden city and Wangfujing street. The hotel was far above our expectation. The hotel is attentive to make sure the guests feel at home. For example, the pillows that were provided to us were carefully selected in mind to provide us with good sleep. We are impress as international brand hotels do not go to that extent for their guests. The room is big and spacious.
Travel tip: The breakfast is simple and can be improved. I had to wait for some time before they refill the food. We have requested for high floor, non smoking room and not near lift. But we got third floor, smoking room and the room beside the lift. This I am not sure if they took notice of guest's special request. None of our requests are given. Most taxis that we take do not know the exact location of this hotel. When first travelling to the hotel, it would be good to have the hotel's phone with you as some taxi drivers will help call the hotel for direction.
Report this review
Low B. Families with older children Singapore, December 1, 2011
great location

location, clean.
7.7
the location is great with mrt that not too far away(no near too). walking distance to wangfujing, but funny thing is most the taxi driver don't know how to go to this hotel even we give the exact address in mandrian or hotel card !!! there are quite a number of eating place near by and tian an meng, gu gong is walking distance too.
Report this review
Choe H. Couples Malaysia, December 1, 2011
Great hotel

Location
8
Good stay and value for money. Good location for sightseeing, shopping and dining
Report this review
Krishna A. Business travelers India, November 30, 2011
100m from Forbidden city and comfortable hotel

Near tourist attraction like Forbidden city, Tienanmen square, local food restaurant, 24X7 super store and subway sandwich shop within 20m.
8.7
This was my first visit to Beijing. I booked this hotel after reading good reviews about it. My consideration to book this hotel is finding optimal location to tourist attraction, more than 8 rating by at least 100 reviewers, cost effectiveness and availability of fast food like McDonald/Subway(I don't eat Beef and Pork and do not understand Chinese too), and subway station within walking distance of 10 min. From Beijing Int'l airport(Terminal3) to this hotel will cost 110 RMB by Taxi. The nearest subway station(Tienanmen East) is 12-15 min walking distance so not comfortable to travel by Beijing subway from airport with heavy luggage. The hotel staff can speak English fluently while I didn't found even a single person in my 5 days visit in Beijing other than hotel staff and Starbucks cash counter who can speak in English and can tell the direction. I booked courtyard room but I was allotted room at 6th floor while courtyard is accessible from 5th floor and ground floor. It could had been let down but it was -7 C outside so really didn't matter to me. If visiting in summer(Apr-Oct) then its preferable to book courtyard room(if budget is not a concern) and enjoy the morning tea/coffee or smoking in the small 6ftX10ft courtyard. Room quality is very good and varieties of toiletries. Small kitchen closet is present with fridge and water boiler. Microwave is not available. Television have English channel unlike many other hotels. Wireless internet is available free but speed is very low. Food: I didn't had the option to book the room with breakfast via agoda.com so not able to comment on food quality. The breakfast coupon can be separately purchased from the reception by paying 70 RMB each person. Better book room with breakfast online as other than subway sandwich shop outside the hotel no restaurant is open during 7-8am. There are 5-6 local chinese food restaurants is available opposite the hotel and a subway sandwich shop and 24X7 seven-eleven type of super s
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Forbidden city and Imperial palace inside it is 100m from this hotel. Tienanmen East subway is 12-15 min walking distance from Kapok hotel. The Tienanmen square, Mao's Mausoleum, Chinese museum, Hutongs, Wangfujing shopping centre, Wangfujing paleolithic museum are located at walking distance of this hotel. Other place of interest like Great wall of china, summer palace, Ming's Tomb, Temple of Heaven, etc. are accessible by subway, for help explore the wikitravel page about Beijing. I visited all these places by local transport without any tour guide or tour agency.
Report this review
Susana C. Couples Portugal, November 29, 2011
good location, great hotel but employees cheat

great location, very nice and clean, good breakfast
7.7
employees trying to sell excursions much more expensive than they really are and to return to the airport they clearly tried to mislead us. said the price of the bus ticket is more expensive than it really is just to go by taxi hired by them. all employees were made ​​with each other. not all the rooms have balconies, initially they put us in a room without a balcony but we ask for change and they were very helpful.the hotel is very beautiful and has excelent breakfast
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: very close to the Forbidden City, becarfull with the cycle guys they have price scams. say the price is 3 and when we get off ask for three...hundred!
Report this review
Previous page 461 - 470 of 972 reviews Next page
Hotel Kapok Wangfujing BeijingHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Fitness RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Fitness RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - ExteriorHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - EntranceHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - LobbyHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - LobbyHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - ReceptionHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - RestaurantHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - RestaurantHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - InteriorHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - InteriorHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - InteriorHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - ExteriorHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - LibraryHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - LibraryHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - LobbyHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - BallroomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - BallroomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Meeting RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Meeting RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Meeting RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - RestaurantHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Meeting RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - InteriorHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - RestaurantHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - InteriorHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - InteriorHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - InteriorHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - InteriorHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - RestaurantHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - BallroomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - RestaurantHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - RestaurantHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Guest RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Guest RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Guest RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Guest RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Guest RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Guest RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - BathroomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Guest RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - InteriorHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - InteriorHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - InteriorHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Guest RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Guest RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - BathroomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Guest RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Guest RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Guest RoomHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - InteriorHotel Kapok Wangfujing Beijing - Suite Room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A08