Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1546 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 7.4

Stephen I. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in November 2011
great location to see forbidden city
size and location to forbidden city
overall my experience with this hotel was positive. the location is great, only a few blocks from the forbidden city and the pedestrian shopping street. the room was a nice size and was quiet. i would only say that i believe the hotel was renovated only a few years ago but already it is beginning to show some signs of what i have seen throughout china, is the failure to maintain things, especially to a western standard of cleanliness. as a solo traveler i tolerated the little areas where the hotel had not been properly maintained. i would say that if you plan a trip in the next year to beijing, stay but beyond that i fear the rooms may have deteriorated further.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Michael S. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in November 2011
Amazingly Refreshing !
Awesome Location ! Great Staff ! Clean and Smoke Free Rooms !
all around super value for your buck ! will stay again next spring ! thumbs up ! also free internet in your room !!! you can not go wrong making hotel kapok wangfujing your choice !!!
Reviewed November 17, 2011

david S. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2011
great design, staff, location, price
design, staff, location, price
enjoyed it - only neg is they could not provide 2 key cards, big breakfast with ample options
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Kristi L. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
hip, affordable boutique hotel
super friendly staff, clean sheets, clean room, hip decor
i booked a fashion room but was upgraded to a courtyard room upon arrival. previous reviews have said that they are only good for smokers, but i found the courtyard feature to be very nice. i loved the backlit headboard. the bed was firm and comfortable. the heavy curtains blocked out the morning sun when i wanted to sleep in. i only have a few small complaints: wi-fi is only available in the lobby (wish it were in the room too!) and the location of the hotel, though pretty convenient for walking around, makes it fairly difficult to catch a cab.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

elspeth R. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
Stylish and very good situation
Location and service
This was a super hotel. Very chic and minimalist with great service. The recommendations for guides etc were great. It was easy to walk to the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and other attractions.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Valerie C. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in September 2011
Lovely hotel - spacious room and lovely bathroom.
Great location; excellent service
Had a great stay at this hotel. Staff are really obliging. Room quite spacious with terrific bathroom. Extensive buffet breakfast. Walking distance to Forbidden City, good eateries etc. Staff extremely helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
Reviewed November 09, 2011

Jeffrey B. from United States
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in October 2011
good location, well appointed room
location
Located just outside the east gate of the Forbidden City in Wangfujing. We did a lot of our sightseeing on foot so the location was good for us. The room was nice and clean, staff friendly and helpful. The staff seemed a bit disappointed that we had made all our own tour arrangements--I assume they get a commission. Snack street nearby but every time we went past either it was closing up or we had just eaten--it's not for everyone, but fun to look over. Wifi only in lobby, but that was the case with our other hotels in China.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Peter E. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Excellent hotel, great location and facilities.
Location, facilities, room size and standard, staff and restaurant.
Stayed here for 3 nights and the hotel was marvellous. We booked a "garden" room, which had a small garden inside that you opened a door to go into. The hotel itself is very central, 5 minutes walk to the imperial palace and 10 minutes walk from Tianamen Square. It has all facilities you could want a a great business centre which organised a tour to the Great Wall for us at 1 hours notice !
Reviewed October 22, 2011

keith D. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2011
Great location - great value for money!!
Walking distance to Forbidden City, Wangfujing upmarket shopping, Seafood & bug night bizaar, Tienamen Sq
Loved this place! appealing open plan glass comtemporary design. Quiet in a busy city. Fantastic buffet breakfast, real coffee,individual internet areas,open air smokers areas within lobby (not stuck out back). Helpful staff. Great breakfast buffet to start your day. Cleanest toilets!!!!
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Marie K. from Sweden
Couples
Stayed 11 nights in April 2011
Great location, great hotel
perfect location, price was very affordable, liked the breakfast
Close to tiananmen square, forbidden city, night market is just around the corner, close to the subway. It's the perfect location for a holiday in Beijing, you could get to anywhere in the city easily from here. Rooms are clean and ok in size. Bathroom was good in size but maybe a bit weird with the glass wall, we just kept the curtain closed at all times. breakfast was good and not that expensive (around 69 RMB), in the basement there is a small agency that helped us arrange train tickets, a trip to the great wall and a kung-fu show.
Reviewed October 15, 2011