Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1048 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for Money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 8.2

Richard G. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2014
Lovely..... Again
The welcome and reception staff were excellent. The rooms were once again large and comfortable with beautiful 'old world' charm. We have never been disappointed with the quality & diversity of' food.
This was our 6th stay at this delightful hotel. It makes for a wonderful romantic getaway. The quality of the rooms and service is excellent. The rooms are large with a separate lounge area & a wonderful full sized bathroom. The tap-ware adds an extra touch of class. The beds and pillows are superb too. The only criticisms from our stay was the smell in the toilet, a rather unpleasant smell of old personal hygiene products. As this was the first time we have come across this problem in 6 stays, we presume it is limited to room 110. I hope the management will attend to this odor ASAP. This problem hasn't happened on previous stays and was more an annoyance rather than spoiling an otherwise lovely stay. The pool area would benefit from some more shading as Surabaya has such a hot climate. Will we return again? The answer is definitely yes.
Reviewed October 06, 2014

Helen K. from New Zealand
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Beautiful ambience, spacious rooms.
Ambience, history, comfortable bed
A wonderful experience which everyone must try at least once in their lives. Something unique , gaining the old time colonial days in refreshed rooms .
Reviewed October 04, 2014

Huili L. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
v gd customer service
customer service, customer service, customer service
Reviewed October 02, 2014

Filippo A. from Italy
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in September 2014
Amazing hotel
Amazing rooms, service and staff
Amazing, comparable to its 'sister' hotel the Raffles in Singapore, but at a fraction of the cost!
Reviewed October 01, 2014

haslinda S. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Nice interior,felt so welcomed
like the place,the food and the rate is affordable too
i recommend for a longer stay. maybe a vacation next time .
Reviewed October 01, 2014

Harry R. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed one night in September 2014
Wonderful atmospheric hotel
Decor, Garden, Spa
This was a great discover, by far the nicest place to stay in Surabaya, lovely surrounding, great service and lots of atmosphere
Reviewed September 30, 2014

Darwati M. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
a magnificent holiday
the colonial looks, the friendly staff and the ambience
I stayed for only 2 nights at hotel majapahit and had a fantastic stay there. The hotel is very near to the traditional market which I enjoyed going. Will make another trip to surabaya
Reviewed September 27, 2014

KWANIN K. from South Korea
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
full of heritegic atmophere
history, location, friendly staff
it was great experience to stay in this hotel. this historical hotel is famous for staying the president of indonesia often use this hotel when he visit surabaya. if u are going to stay in this hotel, don't miss out the hotel tour. around rp.100,000(per person) u can take the hotel tour with hotel manager.
Reviewed September 27, 2014

Zuraidah B. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed one night in September 2014
An 'old" Charm
This hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens. Every inch of the soil is planted with trees. No space is wasted.
Reviewed September 25, 2014

Lina T. from Indonesia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Good Hotel
Heritage, Yummy Breakfast, Comfortable bed
A Litte disappointed because a lot of mosquitoes in the bedroom.
Reviewed September 23, 2014