Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1048 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 8.2

Eric C. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2014
Best hotel that i ever stay!!
Historical, classic, comfortable
This hotel is very well preserved even thought it already 100++ years old Nice garden, and nice ambiance, i love their garden Great breakfast, had lot of choices Near Tanjungan mall, only need 5-8 minutes walk One of the best hotel in Surabaya
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Johan T. from Indonesia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Excellent hotel. Friendly and very helpful staff.
1. Hotel room 2. Great service 3. Nice surrounding
Enjoyed my stay at the hotel majapahit. The hotel has a great historical value. Furnitures are quite vintage.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Mohamad F. from Singapore
Families with young children
Stayed one night in June 2014
Pleasant retreat
history, charming gardens and architecture, excellent service
A pleasant retreat from the hustle and bustle of Surabaya. Even though it is claimed to be a five-star hotel, standards in many areas really can't match up to one. Swimming pool shower and changing facilities are limited; the furniture in the rooms appear well-used and have a worn-out look; and the bathrooms can be better maintained. Mosquitoes are ubiquitous, even if all doors and windows are closed, but the staff really put in effort to eliminate them, and frankly, there is not much they can do about this persistent issue other than minimizing this health hazard. Regarding the staff, I must say that they are outstanding in their quest for service excellence. Welcome drinks are served immediately to weary hotel guests, assistance rendered whenever needed and they are all courteous and approachable. One setback though is communications - not all are able to converse confidently in fluent English. Location is quite good (it is very near to Plaza Tunjungan - a mere 5-minutes walk away), and it is easy to hail a cab down to reach anywhere in town. Breakfast is very decent, with a range of local culinary delights to complement the standard international buffet spread. Overall, I must say that Hotel Majapahit is very much value for money, and offers a tranquil and comfortable stay in hectic Surabaya. Thumbs up to all their staff!
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Siti J. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
Lovely stay
architecture, courtyard, friendly staff
I'm writing on behalf of my parents who stayed at the Majapahit for their wedding anniversary. I communicated my requests via email with the staff in advance so that some special arrangements can be made - they are a senior couple so getting in and around Surabaya would be a little more challenging for them. Their replies were prompt and helpful, they arranged for a pickup from the airport and even proffered a little cake for my parents to celebrate. All in all they said they had an absolutely lovely stay with friendly staff among stunning architecture. If there was one thing that my parents were unhappy about: the staff had emailed me to say that they would upgrade my parents to the suite free of charge, however upon their arrival my parents were told they would have to pay to get upgraded. It was a little unfortunate but otherwise all in all they've told me they have had a wonderful stay.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

lim H. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed one night in June 2014
Nice ambience, friendly staff
Location, cleanliness, ambience
Excellent hotel, will stay again there when back in Surabaya.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Noviana N. from Indonesia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Nice stay
Very well maintained
It was nice. The hotel is very old but very well maintained.
Reviewed June 04, 2014

Yap D. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
They Made Me Felt At Home
The most amazing hotel staff I ever encounted.
Reviewed June 04, 2014

Eugene Y. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2014
Great luxury hotel
service, food, price, luxury
fantastic
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Fendy S. from Indonesia
Groups
Stayed one night in May 2014
Nice retreat
Location, History and Art
Staffs are attentive and very helpful. Hotel design is superb and rooms are big and clean. Gym is equipped with whirlpool and breakfast offers various options. Location is centrally located and next to Tunjungan shopping center
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Kamarudin A. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2014
Beautiful colonial hotel in Surabaya.
Beautiful colonial hotel with antiques fittings and furnitures. Garden is well designed and kept.
Excellent.
Reviewed May 26, 2014