Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Majapahit

Jalan Tunjungan No.65 - East Java, Surabaya Center, Surabaya, Indonesia 60275 (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Mandarin Oriental Majapahit Hotel
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Entrance Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Exterior Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Lobby Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Garden Terrace Room Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Bathroom Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Executive Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Majapahit Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Majapahit Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Indigo - International Restaurant Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Sarkies - Chinese & Seafood Restaurant Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Toko Deli - Delicatessen
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Executive Lounge Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - The Maj - Pub & Dine Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Cafe 1910 Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Ballroom Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Interior Ballroom Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Meeting Room Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Wedding Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Wedding Reception Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Spa Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Spa Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Health Club Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Swimming Pool
Area: Surabaya Center Number of Rooms: 143

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type




based on
997 reviews

738 reviews in English

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (997)
Sort by:
Samantha C. Families with older children Australia, November 17, 2013
Awesome Hotel, fantastic staff and facilities

Ambience, friendly staff and food
This Hotel is more than meet our expectations. I can see my husband and I returning without the children for a romantic long weekend. Gorgeous gardens and buildings, attentive and friendly staff, well priced and the food was amazing.
Report this review
Kathy R. Families with older children Indonesia, November 17, 2013
Best hotel and spa in Surabaya

Value for money; five-stars hotel and service; Martha Tilaar Spa
This hotel is totally value for money. It is cheaper / comparable with the likes of Sheraton, Westin, etc, but with so much more character. Dont be mistaken by its front-side appearance, it has hidden gems inside its complex. Beautiful and well-maintained garden, comfortable room with old-style furniture, friendly staffs, bits and pieces of historical artifacts, and I personally love the Martha Tilaar Spa. Prices are acceptable for the quality of services you're getting. Would totally come back to this hotel.
Report this review
Kenneth A. Couples Singapore, November 16, 2013

Report this review
Maarten V. Couples Netherlands, November 15, 2013
Hotel Majapahit is an excellent place to stay.

Excellent rooms colonial style, quietness in the middle of the city, history of the hotel as former hotel Oranje and "merdeka" (freedom) for Indonesia
Booked this hotel not knowing the history although I wanted to see the place where the blue of the Dutch flag was torn off the red and white bit of the flag, thus creating the Indonesian merah-putih flag. To my surprise upon check-in I realised hotel Majapahit was the former hotel Oranje where the British army had there head quarters and the end of WWII, trying to help the Dutch. Anyway, the hotel is just great: the rooms have a homely atmosphere, you do not have the feeling that you are in a hotel really. Comfort of the rooms is superb. The gardens of the hotel are beautiful. The swimming pool is nice and for sure you have to try the Surabaya Sling (yes, not only Singapore has a "sling"). Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Truly a nice stay in this hotel and the value for money is just excellent.
Report this review
Soham S. Couples Indonesia, November 10, 2013
Gorgeous looks with deceptive hidden costs

The look, location,food
The hotel, as evident by the pictures is gorgeous. The rooms are big enough and have enough room to feel like you are getting your money's worth. That said, the TV left much to be desired. Hidden away in a cupboard, we did feel that it was rather small. But then this is a small dent in other excellently realized room. There is a mosquito issue if you keep your balcony door open for long. No wonder every room is provided with a bug spray. The thing that stung me though was the deceptive hidden costs. I only inquired about a airport dropoff but the staff dropped down to the airport to pick us up. A pleasant surprise till they charged us 35 USD for a 20 min ride. On checkout we were asked if we used anything from the minibar and we hadn't. But they told us that since we drank the water they provided us, we will be charged for the same. Something that is complimentary with every hotel i have stayed in (and i have stayed in a plethora of ones, from 5 star to the budget ones). Its not the money that matters but the principle. If Majapahit really wants to maintain its reputation as an A grade hotel they should stop being so deceptive on the costs and have clear indications on what is charged and what isnt. Other than that i do agree with the others when they say its beautifully made and does have a charming feel to it.
Report this review
Tih P. Couples Malaysia, November 6, 2013
5 star hotel with 5 star service

design, comfort and food
nothing much to complain about.. almost everything went perfect except for the shower.. the staffs need to look into more details which I personally think they over looked. the design is old dutch therefore the furniture and utilities are old dutch as well.. but they didn't notice the rust and moss around the shower.. ended up i use the bath tub to bath instead.. the rest about this hotel is nothing much to complain about.. food is nice, near to the largest mall, plaza tunjungan, taxi is ready outside at most of the time, design is great, quiet and nice garden.. etc
Report this review
Jojor L. Solo travelers Indonesia, November 4, 2013
What an amazing Historical Hotel

Luxury Hotel, Clean, & Close to shopping center
I stayed at this hotel for 1 night because I have college reunion on Jl. Tunjungan... unfortunedly, I came on this hotel on Sunday and went back to Jakarta on Monday morning so early (03.00 WIB). So I have planning to come to this hotel again with my family. I hope so....
Report this review
Katy P. Families with young children Australia, October 28, 2013
Lovely except for the wedding on the Sunday night

Architecture, friendly staff
We had a lovely stay the first night of our holiday. Unfortunately on the second night a wedding was held at the hotel directly outside our room. A sign had been placed on our terrace to say we were not allowed to sit on our terrace. We were not able to sleep because of the noise (fireworks, band, microphone etc). When I complained it was noisy the reception staff replied "well, of course, it is an Indonesian wedding", it is a pity that they could not plan ahead and put the non-wedding guests in a separate wing. As we had paid extra for an upgrade on arrival we were dismayed that the upgrade was to a room next to a wedding and with a terrace that we were not allowed to use. I would recommend that you ensure there are no weddings being held outside your room when booking. The staff tried to be helpful but there were no rooms away from the wedding left. There was another wedding being held on the day we left so we were basically not able to enjoy the beautiful gardens for our entire 2 night stay.
Report this review
Mohamad F. Couples Singapore, October 28, 2013
Grand hotel

The architecture designs
Grand hotel in the city, nearby shopping centre.
Report this review
Zhong Y. Couples Singapore, October 26, 2013
Luxury hotel set in colonial style buildings

Luxury, picturesque gardens, comfort
The stay was wonderful. There were large gardens suitable for nice evening (or early morning) strolls. It is a full luxury hotel with two good standard restaurants (one for international cuisine, the other asian cuisine). The city is good for sightseeing and the concierge was very attentive and helpful in guiding us to the popular places, even helping to make arrangements for further away excursions, such as to the world famous Mt Bromo.
Report this review
Previous page 211 - 220 of 738 reviews Next page

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Majapahit SurabayaHotel Majapahit Surabaya - EntranceHotel Majapahit Surabaya - ExteriorHotel Majapahit Surabaya - LobbyHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Garden Terrace RoomHotel Majapahit Surabaya - BathroomHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Executive SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Majapahit SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Majapahit SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Indigo - International RestaurantHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Sarkies - Chinese & Seafood RestaurantHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Toko Deli - DelicatessenHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Executive LoungeHotel Majapahit Surabaya - The Maj - Pub & DineHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Cafe 1910Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - BallroomHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Interior BallroomHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Meeting RoomHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Wedding Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Wedding ReceptionHotel Majapahit Surabaya - SpaHotel Majapahit Surabaya - SpaHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Health ClubHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Swimming PoolHotel Majapahit Surabaya - BathroomHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Majapahit SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Majapahit SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Majapahit Suite

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.