Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Majapahit

Jalan Tunjungan No.65 - East Java, Surabaya Center, Surabaya, Indonesia 60275 (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Mandarin Oriental Majapahit Hotel
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Reception Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Entrance Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Exterior Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Lobby Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Garden Terrace Room Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Bathroom Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Executive Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Majapahit Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Majapahit Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential Suite Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Indigo - International Restaurant Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Sarkies - Chinese & Seafood Restaurant
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Toko Deli - Delicatessen Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Executive Lounge Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - The Maj - Pub & Dine Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Cafe 1910 Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Ballroom Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Interior Ballroom Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Meeting Room Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Wedding Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Wedding Reception Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Spa Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Spa Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Health Club
Area: Surabaya Center Number of Rooms: 143
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.7

based on
859 reviews

Value for Money
8.7
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
8.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.9
Room Comfort/Standard
9.0
Food/Dining
8.1
All reviews (859)
Sort by:
Kristopher B. Solo travelers United States of America, September 1, 2012
Loud noises, bad internet, no hot water

Looks great!
7
The atmosphere of the hotel common areas and the rooms is just lovely. The green courtyards are beautiful. The staff are also very helpful. However, during my 4 day stay there were several issues that will prevent me from coming back. The building itself is 5* but the management is 2*. (1) On several mornings I was woken at 8am by loud construction noises. Power tools, floor buffers, hammers, etc... 8am is too early for this type of noise! (2) On two occasions the hot water was not working. (3) On one occasion when the hot water was not working I called to the reception THREE times and no one answered the phone. It seems they were goofing off or sleeping. I finally had to walk to reception in my towel and ring the bell to get some help. (4) The internet access is very slow and poor quality. Forget doing anything with video or audio. Sometimes it wasn't even possible for me to open a website to check on flights, etc... I checked with the IT staff in different rooms with different laptops and had the same problems in all places. (5) I ate 4 times at the various hotel restaurants. The food descriptions look fantastic in the menu but the look/taste of the food when it arrives is very disappointing. It's very bland and stale. You'll get better eats up the street at McDonalds.
Theresia S. Solo travelers Australia, August 27, 2012
Great historical place to stay in

very delicate interior
7.7
We were welcomed with fresh drinks upon our check in, in which very satisfying on a very hot day. The room was great. I added my day with the massage provided by the Hotel's Spa, I found it very pleasing and the price was quite agreeable.
Karina K. Families with older children Indonesia, August 23, 2012
Historically Fabulous

well maintained furniture, location, history, large pool
10
This hotel has a long history about Surabaya's people fighting for anti-colonialism. Famous for its Hotel Yamato's incident. You will see lot of historical pictures in the hotel. The receptionist welcomes us warmly. We arrived quite late night and still serves us well. I got room number 50, garden terrace, have a good view to their wide and beautiful garden, near the pool and spa, and just beside their famous president suite. I'm still amazed on how they maintain this hotel, inside the room, the furniture all still with gold plated and wood furniture. Wonderful! They also welcome us with lychee drink at the receptionist and a basket of fruit inside our room with special message in a card for us. The beds are big. They also have teas, Twinnings teas at our room bar! The location also at its best where it is located on Jalan Tunjungan, just take a walk to Surabaya's largest Mall Tunjungan 1,2,3 and 4. If you are going bit far, it is easy to take cab or other transportation in front of the hotel. Breakfast at Indigo, i said 4 thumbs for the bakeries, those all are tasty!! Never found such tasteful bakeries like that. I like the garlic bread and its crepes, so crispy! If you are a fine tea drinker, try the peppermint mint tea, they also serves us with cookies that its all so tasty! But no good for the japanese dishes at the breakfast, no salmon sushi, and the miso soup is not using wet seaweed. If you have time, take the spa at Martha Tilaar, Martha Tilaar is the one of the top finest spa in Indonesia, will serves you with many herbal and local ingredients of massage cream or lotion. all and all, the experience you got here will have no regret.
Restaurant Tip: Go to Zangrandi, it is famous for its historical place for ice cream. While you are in Surabaya don't forget to buy hundreds of "kerupuk" from Pasar Genteng and famous Surabaya's dishes like "Soto kikil", "satay klopo", and others.
Jos F. Families with young children Netherlands, August 22, 2012
The best hotel in Surabaya even with kids

Nice atmosphere swimming pool and cake restaurant
7.3
Nice atmosphere and splendid room even for the 2 small kids everyone enjoyed the cake restaurant and the swimming pool also room service good food and beautifull presented on a professionel trolley . reception as ussual friendly and cooperative. the location near the shopping mall is a pre but we were not there for shopping will come back again when we have to stay in Surabaya
Hotel Feature Tip: swimming pool
Peter G. Couples United Kingdom, August 20, 2012
Magnificent architecture and interior design.

Like living in the 1940's.
9.3
Friendly and helpful staff - very accommodating. Wonderful architecture - Art deco building with a twist - super art deco stained glass everywhere. Lovely peaceful courtyards onto which your room will look. Excellent food at the restaurant. Pool looks as if it could be the next area for renovation, but water nice and clean. Watch out for mosquitoes in the room at night though.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Go and see the old wooden cargo ships being unloaded dockside at the old harbour - fascinating!
Junaidi L. Solo travelers Singapore, August 19, 2012
Heritage hotel within great location

Historical lovely buidling, beautiful garden, great location
9.7
-It was look very average old building from outside, but it was so beautiful inside -I love the building, historical, heritage, pretty white building and the garden -I feel so hommy and prefer to stay in the hotel, instead of going out -Walking distance to Tunjangan Plaza
Shopping Tip: -two block from the hotel is the place to buy all the traditional and local snack and pastry, must visit there -Bluebird the best taxi to go arround -Must try local dishes at Warung Soerabaya , Level 5 Tunjungan Plaza. Very nice !
Erwin V. Families with young children Netherlands, August 15, 2012
Heritage hotel in the heart of Surabaya

Ambiance, historic building, location
7
Reservations Dept was very helpful to change my initial booking when Agoda's systems were temporarily not functional. Staff in general great. Issues (if any) were dealt with.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Surabaya is a city with quite some history. Check with Tourist Information Board ('TIB' at Balai Pemuda, short walk from hotel - very nice staff) for all sightseeing tips. Some possibilities: Impressive origin story at House of Sampoerna. Tugu Pahlawan/musium 10 November.
Dian W. Solo travelers Indonesia, August 12, 2012
An elegant hotel with friendly service

The exterior, interior and friendly staff
10
I chose this hotel since I like staying at historical buildings. Still, Hotel Majapahit blows me away with its quality for exterior and interior design that is rich with a touch of European and Javanese style. All rooms like its lounge, restaurant, our room, a hall way, etc are simply elegant. The staffs are very friendly and attentive. I was staying there only for 1 night after an intense touring at Ijen Crater and Mount Bromo. Majapahit truly came as a reward. The buffet breakfast was good. We had an opportunity to sample many local foods and keep my healthy lifestyle (e.g. by having pro-biotic yoghurt). The local foods also taste original with a slight adjustment. I know as I am also Indonesian. :-) I definitely list Hotel Majapahit in my favorite hotel to stay and I will definitely come back. :-)
Eileen L. Groups Singapore, August 12, 2012
Lovely landscaping and old world look

Beautifully preserved tiles, glass etchings, stained glass, woodcraft, lovely gardens
5.7
lovely ambience, helpful staff who gave decent advice on eating outlets. lousy food in hotel, chefs should be thrown out- buffet breakfast was worst I've had in a hotel , food just didnt taste right, no effort put into cooking or presenting the meal, little variety ( couldnt even order a la carte), tea tasted terrible - was it the quality of water? Dinner at buka pausa was a complete waste of time were it now for taking pictures of the well-decorated grounds. Mosquitoes aplenty so shut your room doors as quickly as you can.
Restaurant Tip: Go to Desa Darpur for local food, within walking distance from the hotel .
Rivandra R. Couples Indonesia, August 12, 2012
arguably the best hotel in surabaya

beautifully preserved colonial architecture, great massage, amazing breakfast
9
the architecture of hotel majapahit never seizes to amaze me. it's always a wonderful experience staying at a hotel with such a long history. the place is beautiful and well maintained. i can spend hours just sitting in the gardens reading a book with a glass of ice tea. and the breakfast is awesome. small servings but very diverse and exquisitely prepared.
Hotel Feature Tip: take some time to enjoy the architecture. and check out the site where indonesians ripped away the blue stripe on the dutch flag and fly the country's red and white banner during the war of independence.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Majapahit SurabayaHotel Majapahit Surabaya - ReceptionHotel Majapahit Surabaya - EntranceHotel Majapahit Surabaya - ExteriorHotel Majapahit Surabaya - LobbyHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Garden Terrace RoomHotel Majapahit Surabaya - BathroomHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Executive SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Majapahit SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Majapahit SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Presidential SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Indigo - International RestaurantHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Sarkies - Chinese & Seafood RestaurantHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Toko Deli - DelicatessenHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Executive LoungeHotel Majapahit Surabaya - The Maj - Pub & DineHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Cafe 1910Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - BallroomHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Interior BallroomHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Meeting RoomHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Wedding Hotel Majapahit Surabaya - Wedding ReceptionHotel Majapahit Surabaya - SpaHotel Majapahit Surabaya - SpaHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Health ClubHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Swimming PoolHotel Majapahit Surabaya - BathroomHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Majapahit SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Majapahit SuiteHotel Majapahit Surabaya - Majapahit Suite

Customer Reviews - Hotel Majapahit, Surabaya

AS-AGWEB-3C07