Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.5
Based on 3119 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3119 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 8.1

Tom Z. from Germany
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2014
Classy place but loud construction noise
Good location and breakfast
We had booked a suite (around $200) to get a good night's rest before we flew home again. The rooms were large and very clean. Staff were extremely friendly, professional and had good knowledge of English. Sleep was limited, however, because we got woken up by loud and persistent construction noise (presumably jackhammer and drill hammer) that started between 5am and 6am and continued until we checked out around noon. The good breakfast with enjoyable views of the river provided some comfort. Overall, we had a good stay but did not sleep as well as we had hoped.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

raymond N. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
suitable for our needs
room size, location
Good location, easy access to main sights in city, comfortable room
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Sandra S. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Very comfortable, excellent service
Elegance, atmosphere, space
We had a very comfortable stay and our room was spacious. The desk staff and business center helped us with taxi, tour and flight bookings very competently. The choice of food for breakfast was pretty standard in terms of choice, but the egg chef was very competent and we had delicious omelets and perfectly cooked poached eggs during our stay. The fruit was fresh and plentiful and the pastries were light and more-ish. We would happily return.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

goran B. from Sweden
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Great, classical hotel in the heart of Ho Chi Min
Style, breakfast,view from room towards Saigon river
Perfekt stopp under ett par dagar i en 100 m2 suite i klassisk art deco stil
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Christer T. from Sweden
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
.
.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Valentina F. from Italy
Families with older children
Stayed one night in January 2014
Good hotel but not amazing
Location, view, old design
I think this hotel in very overrated, still the location is good and the old colonial look is very pleasant.
Reviewed January 08, 2014

Yukifumi N. from Japan
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2014
So famous and no need to explain the value
Well preserved classic style, nice river view, handy for sightseeing
Worth for its value. Good location. Well-trained staffs.
Reviewed January 07, 2014

Eunice T. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Old world charm now dusty and stale
Historical interest, front desk staff could speak some English, centrally located
Our room was small, dark and dusty and included a weird smelling aromatherapy lamp (the smell of which was impossible to get out). Menu prices were outrageous (equivalent to Australian pricing). Both rooftop bars were booked out for a private function and unavailable for hotel guests.
Reviewed January 07, 2014

Robert L. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2013
relaxing and pleasant
comfort, location, aesthetics
lovely stay in a well - refurbished colonial hotel.
Reviewed January 06, 2014

Melissa Y. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2013
Hotel was great but disappointed in staff
Location, large room, good breakfast
Strictly speaking in terms of the hotel conditions, it was great. Centrally located, walks away from the shopping areas and dining areas. A very wide breakfast spread. The room was very very good. Definitely rated 5 stars for the room and bathroom. However, we were a little disappointed in the staff perfomance of this 5 star hotel. We requested to change our bedsheets because the flower petals caused my boyfriend to have an allergy. The receptionist doesnt seem to understand our simple english. Thus, language skills could be improved. Although it was a grand and nice hotel, we werent felt warmly welcome. (Because we were backpacking throughout Vietnam from Hanoi, all the way down to HCM). We just had a feeling that we do not suit into the hotel. Which was not a good feeling. Although we were carrying backpacks and does not look wealthy does not mean that we are not. This might be my own opinion, however, this is the truth that how we felt at the end of our stay. There is no initiative at all. Even for the bellboy at entrance. He didnt smile to us or say goodbye to us. While he was loading our bags to the taxi, he just spoke a few words in vietnamese to the driver and the driver looked at us and smirked. Definitely not a very good impression on the stay with Majestic Hotel even though they are a 5 star hotel. Our hotel at Hanoi - Calypso Hotel which is only a 3 stars hotel definitely exhibits the quality of a 5 star hotel. The service was way better than Majestic. This all serves as an opinion. Nothing wrong about the Hotel. It was a great building, grand and with huge bed, comfortable. But theservice definitely could be improve on.
Reviewed January 06, 2014