or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hotel Marutani Annex

6-8-18 Ueno Taitoku, Ueno, Tokyo, Japan 110-0005 (Show on map)

Book now!

Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Hotel Exterior Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Single - Non Smoking Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Reception Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Exterior Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Exterior Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Exterior Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Communal Bath (Main Building) Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Communal Bath (Main Building) Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Ueno Park (Spring season) Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Ameyoko Shopping Street Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Ueno Park Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Ueno Zoo Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Ueno Terminal Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Exterior Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Surroundings Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Spa
Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Exterior
Area: Ueno Number of Rooms: 16

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
82 reviews

Value for Money
8.4
Location
9.2
Staff Performance
8.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (82)
Sort by:
Rujira V. Solo travelers Thailand, February 12, 2015
Great location

location, staff, value for money
9
Very convenient to public transportation. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Hsuan Y. Solo travelers Taiwan, December 29, 2014
Hotel Marutani Annex

Great location and very clean.
9.7
Li C. Solo travelers Singapore, December 15, 2014
Best hotel around Ueno for that price

Convenient, comfortable and cozy
9.3
Tatchaya C. Business travelers Thailand, November 20, 2014
You get what you pay for.

Location, location, location.
5.3
The conditions of the room was OK but the toilet and bathroom were seriously worn out. One morning there was no hot water and it's freezing outside (3rd week of November). There is a Japanese bar located right next to the hotel, if you happen to stay in a room which is facing towards the front of the hotel, you will hear drunk Japanese laughing and having a good time while you're trying to get some sleep. Location is superb. All rooms are non-smoking.
Fanny C. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 16, 2014
Good Location with very helpful staff.

Very clean, friendly & helpful staff, great location.
9
Great eventhough the hotel is a bit small. Overall, good value for money. Would definitely stay here again if i ever come back to Tokyo.
Praphan L. Business travelers Thailand, November 2, 2014
Clean and best location

Room a bit tiny but best value when compare with you spent. just a few walk from Ueno station.
8.7
Room a bit tiny but best value when compare with you spent. just a few walk from Ueno station.
Chia Y. Solo travelers United Kingdom, October 11, 2014
Hard to find but Great Location

feels new (price), location, size
9
It was really hard to find since you would be tempted to walk towards the more store-oriented section (right as you walked out the station) of Ueno. Towards the end, I found it easier just to walk down Ame Yokocho, since the hotel "Marutani Annex" is located within the alleys. There is also a Marutani hotel and they are related. You can just enter the Marutani and walk out the back door to find the Marutani Annex. The hotel is more like a reformed apartment with about 3~4 rooms per floor. I found the room to be more spacious than commonly found in Japan. So it was all good. Plus, when I mentioned alley, I should say that's where all the excitement is, food. It is literally surrounded by restaurants. Furthermore, if you have kids or if you're a single lady, it would be a good location, far away from the red light district (store-oriented section mentioned earlier). It's within reasonable distance from Ueno station. I'd say a 10 minute walk, as long as you don't get lost. The staffs were nice although they didn't seem to speak English very well. But even if you don't know much Japanese, you'll get by. The only down I had during my stay there was finding dusts on the quilt, hmmm.
Suonlaong L. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 25, 2014
a good budget stay

quiet/ clean room, very short walk to train stns, plenty eateries nearby
7.3
Happy with the stay overall. The only negative is WiFi is not available.
Burachet S. Solo travelers Thailand, August 4, 2014
great

everything
10
i shoud be stay here evertimes i go to japan!
Yvonne C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 15, 2014
great location but a little run down

location, shopping, food
10
It was a good sized room for a single traveller in a wonderful location. However, given the age of the hotel, I wasn't expecting it to be so badly maintained. The bathroom had cracks and stains. Otherwise, faultless.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hotel Marutani Annex TokyoHotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Hotel ExteriorHotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Single - Non SmokingHotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - ReceptionHotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - ExteriorHotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - ExteriorHotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - ExteriorHotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Communal Bath (Main Building)Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Communal Bath (Main Building)Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Ueno Park (Spring season)Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Ameyoko Shopping StreetHotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Ueno Park Hotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Ueno ZooHotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Ueno TerminalHotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - ExteriorHotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - SurroundingsHotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - SpaHotel Marutani Annex Tokyo - Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3B03